We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Atmosphere fantastic/noice awfuul” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belgica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Belgica
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Atmosphere fantastic/noice awfuul”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We wanted to stay in downtown Ponce. The hotel itself was lovely and authentic. Comfortable rooms. Made the mistake of asking for balcony rooms. Absolutely no insulation and noise from bar across street made sleeping almost impossible. Would stay there only if on back of hotel--not in front.
Breakfast very sparse.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelers194448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    139
    45
    17
    16
See reviews for
60
179
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Beautiful hotel. The street side has doors that open to the street and if you don't mind city noise is great. Rooms are on second floor above 2 clubs and a taxi stand. So you really only get about 4 hours of quiet a night. Also beware there are grates in every room that lead to another room, and there is no glass in them, meaning no privacy. We heard or neighbors tv, talking, everything. Breakfast in the morning is a joke. Bread for toast and if you get there early enough coffee.

But it was beautiful and staff is very friendly. They do have parking but it is 4 blocks away.

Room Tip: The back rooms don't get as much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed 2 nights here. The location is great, within walking distance of a bunch of little museums and historical landmarks. The beds in the rooms are super comfy, which is basically all I require while on vacation. Cheap room, comfy bed, we're good to go. They offer a little free breakfast every morning. It's light: toast, mini donuts, yogurt, orange juice, coffee.. you get the picture. For free that is good enough for me! Our second night we switched over to a room with a balcony for the same price. The only complaint I had was the wifi only worked when I stood by the door. Also the shower took forever to heat up but that was because it was solar powered which didn't bother me too much especially since they warned us about it with a sign in the bathroom. I would definitely stay here again, it is such an adorable european-style hotel with great ambiance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rmadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Then again... neither , likely is Ponce. If you're looking for modern and glitzy.. stick to San Juan. If you want a slight step into the past and some muy autentico, Ponce delivers in spades....as does the Hotel Belgica. Spotlessly clean old high ceilinged rooms, a superbly comfortable bed, a charming second floor sun terrace, and a lobby straight from 1900 made for a delightful two night stay. Staff simply could NOT have been more friendly or helpful...suggesting we simply opt for available on street parking in front of the hotel since meters were "no pay" for our weekend, but reminding us to drop our quarters beginning at 8 am monday for the short time before checking out, versus using the parking garage two streets down. There's no elevator so if stairs to the second floor are an issue, keep that in mind. You're but a few steps from the main plaza, the beautiful Catedral, some great chicken pinchos if you need a street food snack, King's Ice Cream (a cup of half coconut and half pineapple were to die for..or take it back to the sun terrace, add your own splash of Ponce's home brand Don Q golden rum...and NO finer pina colada has EVER been made:-) ) The side streets are a living museum of colonial architecture...and Ponce's superb Museums --and DON'T miss the Ponce Museum of History-- only rounded out our weekend. And a Sunday lunch at Las Tias----all made this break from San Juan well worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms with "no view" are not an issue. In this charming city....your best views are out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonquiere, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

When entering the hotel, I already knew it would be the most beautiful rooms of our trip. We try to keep it as cheap as possible but without going for the cheapest room.

When entering the room (219) We knew we had hit the jackpot! The ceilings are so high! I can't even estimate the height. Probably more than fifteen feet. The room is big and the wall are perfect squares! There are two double doors that lead to a balcony! You can open only the flaps of the doors and it acts as a window.

The staff is nice, the breakfast is okay (continental). The only downside is the internet didn't work for most of the stay. The concierge told us upon our arrival. We found the computer room and it worked there (wifi as well).

I found a parking spot right in fromt both days (free from 4:30 pm to 8:00 am) otherwise it's a quarter per halfhour. Weeknights, there isn't much to do around. Boutiques and most restaurants close at six pm!

Otherwise, everything is perfect!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in august 2013 and were very happy with the quality of the hotel. Our room was very beautiful, clean, and quite roomy. I was a bit disappointed at first that the room had no windows (and the lack of strong lighting made it impossible to really light up the room), but actually, we had absolutely no noise from the busy street this way, so this was probably a blessing in disguise! As other reviews mentioned, the hotel does not have its own parking, but we got to park right in front of the hotel doors on a "reserved for Hotel Belgica" spot, which we appreciated a lot.

What did bother me a little:
* the breakfast: it's very basic, just toast with peanut butter or nutella, some sugary sweets, coffee, juice and yoghurt.
* no elevator: no fun when you're travelling with a heavy suitcase that has to get up all those stairs...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atlantiske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

we stayed here July 23,2013 for one night and absolutely loved it.
Great room, great architecture.
Granted, the balcony room was a bit noisy at night because there's quite some traffic and that badonkadonk from the cars hitting the gutter, but we were prepared and brought earplugs and everything was fine.
There's a taxi stand across the street and added fun was watching the cab drivers whistle after the occasional girl and a gay guy... at the corner to the square is a little "papas" stand, outrageously huge and delicious wraps, that made up for the skimpy "breakfast" of coffee and some mini donuts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
0.1 mi away
Hotel Melia Ponce
Hotel Melia Ponce
#6 of 7 in Ponce
3.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR
12.0 mi away
Costa Bahia Hotel & Convention Center
36.9 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#1 of 4 in Mayaguez
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belgica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belgica

Property: Hotel Belgica
Address: 122 Villa St, Ponce 00716, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Belgica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the heart of the historic district of Ponce. Rooms with cathedral ceilings and traditional balconies. Next to Plaza las Delicias and the Trolley Tour. Family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Belgica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belgica Hotel Ponce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing