We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Belgica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Belgica
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I cannot fault this place. Excellent, friendly service, beautiful rooms, located right in the heart of Ponce. The building is neoclassical so is fantastic to be in, high ceilings and with lots of interesting and original features. Hot water, strong wifi, decent breakfast and all at a decent price. There is not much not to like.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keirmather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    150
    48
    20
    17
See reviews for
68
200
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Xenia, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were right next to the square for the Christmas festival which made it so easy to get out and walk and see the sights. Our room was very clean and beautiful. The hotel building is very cool We parked on the street

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back for more quiet. We loved having a balcony on the street side with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel is very clean and beautiful. The location is right off the main square so there are plenty of restaurants, shops and cafes within walking distance. Some staff couldn't speak English, some could. Very quiet, great sleeping. Parking was far away in a general parking garage not associated with hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimpossible0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We selected Hotel Belgica because we wanted to be centrally located when exploring the city of Ponce. Unfortunately, being centrally located had a terrible downside. Christmas festivities start early in Ponce and are LOUD. Our first night, we heard firecrackers going off around 10pm. Soon after, a band started up in the square just outside the hotel. We went out and enjoyed the end of a little party in which Santa passed out candy to kids from the back of a truck. . . we thought that would be the end of it - but Santa's firecrackers came back at 5am, interrupting our sleep. Even without the holiday noise, the noise from trucks and traffic on the street was loud enough that it felt like we were sleeping in the square. When we asked for a quieter room, they said they didn't have one, and offered us pairs of earplugs.

We're city girls - and not at all unaccustomed to some street noise - but I can't imagine anyone getting a good night of sleep at this hotel.

The room itself was lovely, charming, and spotless. The management didn't put up a fuss when we checked out early. However, I can't imagine staying here again under any circumstances.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midsummernd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We spent one night at Belgica on our November trip to PR. We enjoyed the hotel a lot. We were impressed by the hotel decor and the colonial charm. Rooms were spacious, clean and a lot of character. Same can be said about other public areas of the hotel - lobby, lounge, deck, etc.

We received very good service and help arranging our activities in town.

If you are in Ponce for its downtown attractions, Belgica is a perfect choice. It sits right next to the main square. Still, the thick walls prevent any street noise (unless you are staying in one of the 'balcony' rooms) making the place very quiet.

Without any hesitation would I recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaciejZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed in Ponce at the Hotel Belgica for one night and this is my review from our experience.

Good: Location to main square, shopping, restaurants, and hotel parking was several blocks away at the municipal garage where you park with the local police…very safe and secure.

Bad: Overall hotel maintenance, day and night street noise particularly in the front rooms, quality of continental breakfast, wireless internet does not work in the rooms, and no hot water due to new solar power water heating system…seriously no hot water!!!

We arrived at check-in and there is no place to park in front of the hotel and no staff to help you unload or carry your luggage upstairs…and the same at check-out…we had a front street balcony room which was loud during the day due to the incredibly loud music from the bar across the street…and at night there was continuous motorcycles without mufflers, cars with bass blasters, and finally a garbage truck for trash pick-up…so even on a Sunday night sleep is not an option with the balcony doors closed and the air conditioning on…but my minimum expectation for a hotel is a clean bed and hot shower…and the new solar power water heating system does not work so I had the coldest shower since high school…and lastly I don’t recommend Ponce on a Sunday night because it is completely dead except for fast food and local churches.

Therefore, I recommend the Hotel Belgica if you want to not sleep at night and take a really cold shower in the morning…basically a college “Spring Break” hotel but not for adults.

Room Tip: Choice another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The noise mentioned by other reviewers is an issue. There is something special about an old hotel. It is right in the center and an easy walk to the art museum. The staff were helpful, starting with finding a parking place. I didn't mind using the computer in the central room. Breakfast was ok. The room was comfortable and the bathroom recently updated. I don't know if it was just us but we never got hot water. Despite the caveats, I would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: The noise from the nightclubs is something to be considered seriously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phototactician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
0.1 mi away
Hotel Melia Ponce
Hotel Melia Ponce
#6 of 7 in Ponce
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR
20.8 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
12.1 mi away
Costa Bahia Hotel, Convention Center & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belgica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belgica

Property: Hotel Belgica
Address: 122 Villa St, Ponce 00716, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Belgica 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the heart of the historic district of Ponce. Rooms with cathedral ceilings and traditional balconies. Next to Plaza las Delicias and the Trolley Tour. Family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Belgica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belgica Hotel Ponce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing