We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of TripAdvisor Deals at this Hotel”
Review of Hotel Melia Ponce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Melia Ponce
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beware of TripAdvisor Deals at this Hotel”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Prior to checking in, we purchased $20 offer for breakfast and a city tour for two. It doesn't look like the offer is still running and I'm glad...I don't have to tell you not to get it, but you should probably be careful about any offers that they are running. Once we arrived I immediately realized that the breakfast/tour "deal" was going to be a ripoff. The tour is a trolly tour that costs $2 per person and breakfast is a continental breakfast of eggs and toast at Mocha (the hotel cafe by the pool). Mocha's regular menu is fairly reasonably priced so ordering the most expensive items on the menu would only make you just break even... Once we looked at the menu we immediately went to get a refund. The manager was not on duty so we had to go back and I've been assured that my card will not be charged for the package -- fingers crossed!

We walked all around the area in search of a breakfast options and came to the conclusion that Mocha was the best choice. We returned to Hotel Melia and ordered breakfast and coffee. Our server very graciously offered us a 10% discount for the inconvenience.

Our standard patio king room was fine. The ac worked well and everything was fairly clean (some damage in the bathroom that need repairs). It was a quite noisy at night as they moved around the wrought iron patio furniture at 2:00am.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    137
    91
    51
    47
See reviews for
95
169
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington. DC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This charming hotel in the heart of the city of Ponce is very nice. We need to consider that it is the longest"continuing operating" hotel in all of Puerto Rico (more than a century(. It was recently renovated with brand new suites. They also have a great rooftop restaurant/Bar (Panorama) with beautiful view of the city. They also have a coffee shop (Mocha) which has different tapas style dishes and great cigars.
They are doing events frequently and it is great to make a weekend out of staying at The Meliá and then walk the town square and enjoy the street vendors.

Room Tip: Ask for the new suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyageking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I was very disappointed with our stay at the Melia. I stayed there 15 years ago and I keep wondering if the management has changed. The room we had did not match the rest of the elegance of the hotel. It was a little dumpy and I was embarrassed to have raved about it to my family. There is no longer a continental breakfast, which seems to be a standard in less expensive hotels. They advertise free Wifi everywhere but found out from hotel staff that it apparently doesn't work with iPads, iPods or iPhones. Considering that is all our family owns, we were VERY disappointed. I'll definitely be staying elsewhere next time in Ponce.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerstin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Last week I stayed at Hotel Melia with a group of twelve students. The front desk is excellent at providing restaurant suggestions, quick tips, and directions. The coffee shop on the main floor is located near the pool and the hotel around the corner from the famous King's Cream and just off the main plaza.

Room Tip: The balconies right off the central plaza are large enough for people watching and offer a delightfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank King_Marissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

It was pretty much what we expected. Beautiful historic details, small but clean room with double bed, good location, nice staff. The plaza across the street was really pretty. No problems with noise while we were there... After arriving on a lively Saturday we were disappointed to find out that this area of Ponce is pretty much shut down on Sunday and Monday. Parking is right behind hotel for $6 per day and you can go in and out which was essential when we needed to go to the supermarket and out to dinner when everything in walking distance was closed. Earlier reviews mention breakfast included but this is no longer the case. The cafe by the pool is not too expensive. For dining in the area, we loved Chef's Creations.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HeathK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We traveled to Ponce for the Carnival parade on March 2. Hotel Melia could not have been a more convenient location in the city (even though the hotel was located inside the parade route and it took us a long time to get there -- the extremely friendly and helpful Ponce policia gave us a bicycle escort to get us there!). Right on the main square of town, near the Parque de Bombas.

The hotel is older and shows its age, but it's clean, comfortable and the staff is friendly and helpful. We slept comfortably, had plenty of hot water, and enjoyed a pleasant breakfast in the hotel's restaurant the next morning. The parking was very convenient and useful. And even though there was a GIGANTIC loud party happening right outside the door, the sound cut off promptly at 10 and it was very quiet. I would definitely stay there again if in Ponce.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llissee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
122 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

My sister and I spent two nights here to experience Carnival and this hotel is on the main drag of the big parade. It's an old hotel but they try to keep it up. It certainly needs some major renovations so maybe with the new management things will improve. They desperately need a new restaurant on the main floor plus a bar. Otherwise everyone will be booking into the Ramada across the street. For the price it's a very good value and still has its old world charm.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traviata5013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
0.1 mi away
Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino
2.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belgica
Hotel Belgica
#4 of 7 in Ponce
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
12.2 mi away
Costa Bahia Hotel, Convention Center & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Melia Ponce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melia Ponce

Property: Hotel Melia Ponce
Address: 75 Calle Cristina, Ponce 00730-3753, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Melia Ponce 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Melia, a historic landmark surrounded by colorful and picturesque monuments, museums and the social night vibes. Located in the heart of downtown Ponce, walking distance to several touristic and cultural attractions such as: Ponce Art Museum, Serralles Castle Museum, Ponce History Museum, the Fire House Museum and many others. Enclosed in the City are numerous culinary and entertaining destinations that are most popular in the Southern Region. Hotel Melia has a total of 70 rooms, 5' depth swimming pool, 2' depth kiddie pool, 4 conference rooms with capacity for 12-75 persons, 2 venues for special activities with capacity for up to 150 persons, Bistro and Lounge for breakfast, lunch, brunch and tapas & cocktails. We also offer catering, room service, business center & services, parking, free Wi-Fi. Airport Information: From Hotel Melia to: (PSE) Mercedita International Airport, Ponce- 3 miles (8 min.) (SJU) Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, San Juan- 72 miles (1 hr. 18 Min.) (BQN) Rafael Hernandez International Airport, Aguadilla- 70 miles (1 hr. 27 Min.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Melia Ponce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hotel Ponce
Melia Ponce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing