We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Right on the Park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Melia Ponce

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Melia Ponce
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Right on the Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This beautiful, historic hotel is very conveniently located to view all the old buildings of Ponce, and right across the street from the park, church and trolley tour, which we recommend. So far, Ponce has been the best place in Puerto Rico to see amazing architecture, outside of Old San Juan, of course. Our room had a good view of the mountains. We felt totally safe strolling around the park in the evening.
The staff was very friendly and helpful with directions.
The continental breakfast was almost non-existent, however, they gave a 50% discount on the Bistro next door and the food there was delicious.

Room Tip: In the off season, ask for a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandessolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    131
    88
    45
    44
See reviews for
85
164
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I recently stayed at the Melia during my visit to Puerto Rico and I gave it a 4 but think it is more accurately a 3 1/2 with potential for a 5. The location is central to many shops, tourist attractions and other amenities. It is a lovely and historic hotel but could certainly use some updating in some areas - particularly the bathrooms in the rooms. I stayed in a king deluxe room which was a nice size with a balcony overlooking the Plaza de las Delicias. We had a wonderful view of the Parque de Bombas and square. It can get a little loud late at night when folks are out at night but we were so exhausted each night and just passed out. If you are sensitive to noise, request a room that overlook the inner courtyard. The hotel architecture and details are beautiful and the pool courtyard is really cute. The breakfast could use some updating. While you get toast, bagels, cereals, juice, milks and coffee - I want something different from a hotel on a tropical island. Having stayed at small hotels in other Caribbean islands, I would have loved some fresh local fruit and pastries. We found nearby local panaderias to eat traditional breakfasts. I do love that Melia offers some small dishes, charcuterie and cheese plates, and wine. We were in Puerto Rico for our wedding anniversary and were able to have a cold bottle of wine waiting for us after a day of snorkeling. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. If you like big and fancy hotels, Melia is not for you. But if you prefer historic, quaint, simple with some elegance...you will enjoy it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boricua78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, IN
Level Contributor
209 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Hotel Melia has been serving guests for 118 years. My GPS Madge couldn't locate the hotel among the streets and we drove around for about 15 minutes, but with the assistance of an excellent English speaking desk manager we found the place. It was worth the effort. If you enjoy a classic Spanish hotel environment, Melia Hotel is for you. This hotel like others, even those substantially younger than its 118 years, suffers from AC units that are window mounted and designed to cool at maximum heat. When humidity is high and heat is moderate, the room turns into either cool and damp or warm and muggy. We stayed on the 4th floor. Great view looking over an inner courtyard right out the room door. I'd like to stay here again but in a different room. Great desk staff.

Room Tip: Pick a room on an upper floor looking over the inner courtyard. Or maybe one facing the street. Giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank compost4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery City, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here while traveling as a chaperon with a student group. My daughter spilled water on the floor and when she used a towel to sop it up the towel was black. The room had carpet and it could not have been shampooed recently. My other daughter stepped on a shard of glass that was imbedded in the carpet. I did appreciate the use if a "real" glass but more attention to cleaning would be nice. Beds were not very comfortable. Very small elevator, accommodates 2 people and their luggage. Right on the square but mostly quiet location. Would probably stay somewhere else if I visit Ponce, PR again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ponce hotels

Lafayette Hill
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is our third stay at hotel Melia and I would stay here every time in Ponce. Nice original structure with great views of the plaza. It has the feeling of an old world hotel with many modern ameneties.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great location!! We walked everywhere! The room was okay...kind of small but decent. The free breakfast was great and had a nice view of the pool and gardens. One thing to note - there weren't many outlets. I had to plug my phone in behind the bed and then the cord couldn't reach to the nightstand so it laid under my pillow all night.

The staff, although kind, were not very helpful. One desk assistant couldn't tell us how to get to Catillo de Serralles which is literally within walking distance (but don't walk it....it's in a weird neighborhood). The older gentleman who worked the first night we arrived was very friendly but gave us suggestions to only two restaurants (Tertulia's and Tompy's) both of which had tiny menus and were terrible (see othe post about Tertulia's).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I booked the Melia on line because of its history. The hotel is right on the square in Ponce which
is the center of the architecture and museums in this lovely little city. The room we booked had not been updated so we asked for a move after one night and the staff was
incredibly pleasant and helpful in doing so. The remodeled room was small but lovely. One really
gets a sense of history in this hotel which would be the whole point of going to Ponce. Omar was a great help with the room and directions - a lovely human being.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that has been remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belgica
Hotel Belgica
#3 of 7 in Ponce
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ponce Plaza Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR
39.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
12.1 mi away
Costa Bahia Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Melia Ponce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melia Ponce

Property: Hotel Melia Ponce
Address: 75 Calle Cristina, Ponce 00730-3753, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Melia Ponce 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Melia, a historic landmark surrounded by colorful and picturesque monuments, museums and the social night vibes. Located in the heart of downtown Ponce, walking distance to several touristic and cultural attractions such as: Ponce Art Museum, Serralles Castle Museum, Ponce History Museum, the Fire House Museum and many others. Enclosed in the City are numerous culinary and entertaining destinations that are most popular in the Southern Region. Hotel Melia has a total of 70 rooms, 5' depth swimming pool, 2' depth kiddie pool, 4 conference rooms with capacity for 12-75 persons, 2 venues for special activities with capacity for up to 150 persons, Bistro and Lounge for breakfast, lunch, brunch and tapas & cocktails. We also offer catering, room service, business center & services, parking, free Wi-Fi. Airport Information: From Hotel Melia to: (PSE) Mercedita International Airport, Ponce- 3 miles (8 min.) (SJU) Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, San Juan- 72 miles (1 hr. 18 Min.) (BQN) Rafael Hernandez International Airport, Aguadilla- 70 miles (1 hr. 27 Min.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Melia Ponce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hotel Ponce
Melia Ponce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing