We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best in Central Ponce” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Melia Ponce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Melia Ponce
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best in Central Ponce”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This old and very charming hotel in the centre of Ponce has given us a touch of the art of welcoming travellers. Our confortable deluxe room overlooked the Parque Cemtral Las Delicias which overwhelmed us. The staff, without any doubt, is trained to provide excellent service. Thanks to Jose for his very good advices and instructions regarding places to visit and restaurants to try. We strongly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Echodularge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    135
    90
    49
    45
See reviews for
88
169
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Melia on 2/10/13. The hotel's staff was more than helpful and kind. The hotel's location was paramount to the Carnival parades. We were given an inside courtyard room which was shockingly small, but it was adequate for sleeping. The parade got a late start in the day and went on well into the night until around 10:00 p.m. The party goers were still enjoying themselves in the plaza area near the hotel therefore it was still quite loud, however, with the inside courtyard room, it was tolerable. We loved our visit and hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria2668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We loved this hotel and the lovely city of Ponce. We paid a little extra for a room with king bed and a view and it was well worth it. The room had a balcony with a spectacular view over the top of the plaza and the surrounding hills. The furnishings are a little dated and bathroom small but it didn't matter; it was all comfortable. The rooftop patio where the hotel puts out a continental breakfast was another part of the charm. The lobby makes you want to lounge in it, even though we didn't. Ponce is an attractive, Latin American city that has good restaurants and interesting sites, especially the city history museum and the art museum. We wished we had stayed more than one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldtraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel because I needed a place to stay that was close to the town plaza. The hotel has furniture that seems between the 50s and 60s and my sister and I loved it. The rooms are small, but very clean, and serve the purpose for a traveler to get out and explore the area.
The only down part about it, and reason for four stars, is that they said they had wifi and after many explanations, they told me they only had service at the lobby. A simple yes or no might have been good, but I guess some people get really worked up over Nonessential things like wifi and they tried to explain to me everything. Will book it again if I have to stay in Ponce.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank SLR879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel is in a good location but the room is like a Motel 6. They charge $10 extra for a cooler and it took about 5 hrs and reminding them four times that we were still waiting for it as we had food that needed to be chilled. I was charged $137 for one night. I didn't hate it but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmeliamgmt, Owner at Hotel Melia Ponce, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We sincerely apologize that it took so long to get you a refrigerator. We were extremely busy during your stay and short of refrigerators, however, that is no excuse. Because of this situation, we bought more refrigerators today (January 8, 2013). Thank you for your input. It is very helpful to us in order to provide our guests the best customer service possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago1
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Ponce was a surprising town for us during our December trip to Puerto Rico. You will find art deco buildings all around the central plaza, and Hotel Melia is a leading example of the architectural design. Really wonderful staff here and the only reason I didn't give them 5 circles are the outdated (but very clean) rooms.

Pluses:
+ Hotel staff were some of the best anywhere - and we travel all around the world, so this does not come lightly. The front desk hosts were welcoming, provided recommendations of places to visit in town with personal insights to each, and had good dinner ideas on the dreaded Monday night when everything seems closed in Ponce. Maids, parking attendants, and breakfast waiter/waitresses always greeted you with a smile and asked if everything was ok.
+ The gorgeous art deco facade, hallways and sitting areas - really a beautiful building
+ Great rooftop view of the city and the mountains. A perfect place to start your day with breakfast.
+ Right on the central plaza, so easy to walk to many great places. Plaza was decorated beautifully for Christmas

Minuses:
- Rooms were very outdated. They are clean and comfortable. Bathrooms were a bit better than the sleeping area. They were doing renovations when we were there, so I suspect that some of the rooms will be updated soon.

Other:
= Breakfast was a little better than other places we had been previously in Puerto Rico. Bagels, donuts, cereal, fruit, yogurt, coffee, and juice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grassy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmeliamgmt, Owner at Hotel Melia Ponce, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Our newly renovated rooms in our historic 1915 section will be completed in 3 to 4 weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We pulled in for one night during our road trip around Puerto Rico and was able to get a room right away for $120/night w/ tax that also included continental breakfast. The hotel was right on the Plaza Delicias at the center of town, easy to get to from the highway, and has cheap, secure parking next door for $3/night. Staying on the plaza was great because there's usually something going on especially during the weekends. We stayed on a Sun. night and there was a large outdoor festival with live salsa bands.

We chose this place based on Lonely Planet's description and it was right- the lobby is polished and beautiful, the rooms not as much but still very pleasant, spacious, and clean, and the bathroom was modern with nice tiles, plumbing fixtures, and hair dryer. There's also a beautiful roof deck/garden with a screened dining area on the 4th floor where breakfast is served. The continental breakfast was ok: coffee, juice, cold cereal, and some pastries.

The best experience of our stay was the staff. I wish I had gotten the young concierge's name, but he greeted us every time we came and went, and gave a restaurant recommendation for dinner that turned out to be great. When we realized we left our phone charger in the previous hotel and asked him for directions to the nearest walmart to find a replacement, we printed out a google map for us and showed us the best way to get there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alkikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
0.1 mi away
Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino
2.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belgica
Hotel Belgica
#4 of 7 in Ponce
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
12.1 mi away
Costa Bahia Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Melia Ponce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melia Ponce

Property: Hotel Melia Ponce
Address: 75 Calle Cristina, Ponce 00730-3753, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Melia Ponce 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Melia, a historic landmark surrounded by colorful and picturesque monuments, museums and the social night vibes. Located in the heart of downtown Ponce, walking distance to several touristic and cultural attractions such as: Ponce Art Museum, Serralles Castle Museum, Ponce History Museum, the Fire House Museum and many others. Enclosed in the City are numerous culinary and entertaining destinations that are most popular in the Southern Region. Hotel Melia has a total of 70 rooms, 5' depth swimming pool, 2' depth kiddie pool, 4 conference rooms with capacity for 12-75 persons, 2 venues for special activities with capacity for up to 150 persons, Bistro and Lounge for breakfast, lunch, brunch and tapas & cocktails. We also offer catering, room service, business center & services, parking, free Wi-Fi. Airport Information: From Hotel Melia to: (PSE) Mercedita International Airport, Ponce- 3 miles (8 min.) (SJU) Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, San Juan- 72 miles (1 hr. 18 Min.) (BQN) Rafael Hernandez International Airport, Aguadilla- 70 miles (1 hr. 27 Min.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Melia Ponce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hotel Ponce
Melia Ponce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing