We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle!”
Review of Hotel Melia Ponce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Melia Ponce
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
United States
Level Contributor
160 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“In the middle!”
Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

The other reviews are correct --- this is an old lady, but charming, clean and right in the plaza. We were able to visit a variety of small museums a few blocks away.

The beds are comfortable. A refrigerator in room. Ice maker. The pool is very adequate and helpful after walking around the hot concrete sidewalk. Parking off street is right behind hotel.

The coffee was excellent: if you like pastry/donuts for breakfast you'll like their breakfast. The rooftop looks out to the mountains.

The staff is kind, generous. A nice experience.

FYI the cathedral across the street is not open to tourists. It opens for Mass, and then closes. I even had a policeman check with a priest! And still we never did get inside.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hungrytraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    139
    91
    51
    48
See reviews for
98
171
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying in the Melia Hotel this spring. The hotel sits in the center of historic Ponce a short walk from a few bars and resturants, Burger King also sits across the street on other side of park. (bad service) slooooow. I just bought the chicken on a stick from a street vendor outside of the hotel $2 Mmmmm tasty!
Parque De Bombas is also across the street. this hotel is not The Four Seasons nor is it the Mariott, however it was a decent overnight hotel for the price. the hotel was built in 1903, and last remodeled in 1970.
the properties were clean, the rooms were dated and needed a facelift, especially the bathrooms. the staff was polite and courteous the pool was small but clean. there is also a bar called equallibrium around the corner that serves $1 beers and $1 shots of rum with pistachio, Passion fruit and many other flavors. very good.




had $1 beers and $1 shots of rum with pistachio, Passion fruit and many other flavors.

Room Tip: chose a low floor (2), they have one small elevator and it moves slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ponomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. Check in was easy. The staff were friendly and the lobby was very nice. Our room was small, but had a comfortable king sized bed. The bathroom was a little outdated, but VERY clean.

The rooftop deck was a very nice place to have breakfast. The breakfast was simple, but perfectly adequate. Free wifi was a plus. Also, the pool area was very relaxing.

Hotel Melia has a lot of sitting areas throughout the hotel. This is both good and bad. One night, there was a very rowdy party going on in a sitting area close to our room. It took the front desk too long to send the partiers away. If I went back to Hotel Melia, I would definitely request a room that is far from the sitting areas.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkeith03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

A classic hotel with a great location right in the center of Ponce. Right by the plaza and cathedral and museums. Decent breakfast in a very pleasant rooftop setting. Helpful staff. Parking (fee) in adjacent lot. Internet. Before visiting, recheck the opening hours of the museums and Tibes; some may have changed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Located in Central Ponce (entrance is in a busy street leading to main square) with a façade facing Parque de Bombas.
The lobby is a reflex of old grandeur wich is less evident in corridors and rooms a little run down. All said, rooms are old but clean and old AC works properly although a little noisily.
Breakfast is a little scarce and served in a covered rooftop, enjoyable but even more run down.
Parking is behind hotel and incredibly cheap ( 3$ per 24h, enter and leave as you wish) with an entrance direct to hotel until is late in the evening.
There are plenty of restaurants and bars nearby and of course all atractions in the city. The only con is that you can hear the music of close bars, fortunately, your AC somehow blocks the noise...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLACKJAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This hotel is wonderful - if you are someone who prefers the older hotels with charm and character over the new modern hotels, then this place is for you. We had the most amazing room with a view of the church, the main square and the fire station. Our room was basic with two queen sized beds and not too fancy but it was fine. You can tell it is an older hotel but they have kept it up pretty well. The a/c works well, they have cable and a fridge in the room. Our tub was a bit funky as it had been redone and was sort of unstable but we were traveling with a toddler so we were happy to have the tub. The outside of this hotel is beautiful and the hotel itself is amazing - the lobby is charming, the pool is great ( a bit cold on a windy day), the areas next to the elevator are so charming - they a have chairs and tables in wonderful spots to just relax and read. The rooftop breakfast area is fantastic with flowers and quite a view. Breakfast consists of juice, coffee and cereal and bread. They have parking right next door. We had a nice large terrace with a great view as well. The staff were very friendly and professional. We loved this hotel and loved the character it clearly has.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Arlington NJ
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Wins you over with her charms. Upon checking in to my room I started to believe I had made a big mistake booking this hotel. The room was small and dated, but clean. It was cooled by a small air conditioner stuck in the wall. The bathroom was plain and the bathtub glazing was a bit cracked. Although the room was small it included a huge walk in closet. And the room was clean. I was looking forward to the restaurant, Marks, but sadly they have closed. I was disappointed pretty much with everything, but decided to stay and make the best of it. Oddly enough, by the next morning, after a really good night's sleep, I started to realize I was enjoying the stay. It's hard to explain, but the staff makes this place. They are gracious and warm and seem to truly want you to enjoy your stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn't need glitz or the latest this or that. If you need 5 stars this place is not for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil6184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
0.1 mi away
Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
2.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belgica
Hotel Belgica
#4 of 7 in Ponce
366 reviews
12.2 mi away
Costa Bahia Hotel, Convention Center & Casino
20.9 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Melia Ponce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melia Ponce

Property: Hotel Melia Ponce
Address: 75 Calle Cristina, Ponce 00730-3753, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Melia Ponce 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Melia, a historic landmark surrounded by colorful and picturesque monuments, museums and the social night vibes. Located in the heart of downtown Ponce, walking distance to several touristic and cultural attractions such as: Ponce Art Museum, Serralles Castle Museum, Ponce History Museum, the Fire House Museum and many others. Enclosed in the City are numerous culinary and entertaining destinations that are most popular in the Southern Region. Hotel Melia has a total of 70 rooms, 5' depth swimming pool, 2' depth kiddie pool, 4 conference rooms with capacity for 12-75 persons, 2 venues for special activities with capacity for up to 150 persons, Bistro and Lounge for breakfast, lunch, brunch and tapas & cocktails. We also offer catering, room service, business center & services, parking, free Wi-Fi. Airport Information: From Hotel Melia to: (PSE) Mercedita International Airport, Ponce- 3 miles (8 min.) (SJU) Luis Munoz Marin International Airport, San Juan- 72 miles (1 hr. 18 Min.) (BQN) Rafael Hernandez International Airport, Aguadilla- 70 miles (1 hr. 27 Min.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Melia Ponce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Hotel Ponce
Melia Ponce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing