We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stay away from here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
orlando,fl
1 review
“stay away from here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

I stay 1 day, for $147 , so dirty carpets in the hallways and inside the room # 229. For that price stay at the Ponce Hilton You will glad to paid even xtra few $. And yes the Hskp Manager should start a full clean in those carpets they are dirty dirty. The carpet in our room felt dirty when u walked on it. So we tried to wear footwear most of the time. Like the other person said is true. They only care about the people in the casino. Not friendly at all. I was with my 2 years old. And there is not central air, so you have that big air conditioner inside your room very noise. PLEASE KEEP AWAY FROM THIS PLACE. EXPENSIVE AND CHEAP.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank principe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    111
    68
    26
    8
See reviews for
92
102
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Elgin, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for 10 days and 9 nights. WOW what a veiw and the staff was so kind and helpful. The pool was clean and the water temperture was perfect and the breakfast was just awesome! There staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. I could not believe how close everything was: Walmart, Walgreens, Subway, McDonalds, K-Mart, Sams Club and many more just 5 minutes. Family own bakery 2 minutes away and more...

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omt4Jesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

I just spent 5 days at the Holiday Inn in Ponce. Prior to departure I read all of the reviews on this site from other folks. Some of it is very valid, but some of the other comments are not. The Hotel was pretty much what I'm used to seeing at a Holiday Inn. The rooms were nice and the bedding and linens were pretty comfortable. One thing that i found odd was that all of the rooms were smoking rooms. However, the rooms didn't have that smoke scent to them. Being a non-smoker I'm very sensitive to it, but I couldn't smell it at all.

Many people commented on the food at the restaurant in other reviews. I ate dinner there two nights and couldn't say a negative thing about the food. Even the breakfast buffet was pretty good for $10.00. Sure, it's not the waffle house but I've had much worse.

There are only two things I can say negative about my stay: 1. was that I paid $7 a glass for the house wine. Unlike Vegas, your not getting the free drinks while you gamble at the casino and at that rate I spent more on the booze than the tables. 2. Don't plan on working on your guns while you're there. The fitness center was two bikes, a stair stepper and 1 treadmill. If your fitness diet requires any daily allowance of Iron you're SOL.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gldUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

I rented two rooms for one night and four people in total, (2/2) I was overcharged with $ 25.00 additional for each person including my self. I contacted the management and they said that was a "mistake on the online reservation" right,!!. they agreed to refund the difference, never happen. Now I have too dispute thought the credit card. (by the way I paid extra for rooms with ocean view, the room were with partial view of the pool.) The rooms were clean but dated, they a/c did not worked properly. The facilities are ok, the only good thing is the free parking.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexisTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puerto rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

My stay overall was ok. Ive stayed in a large number of Holiday Inns and most are very nice. Pulling up the hotel information on the internet before my stay, made me think the hotel was on the ocean. Well its not..its actually a good ways across from the hotel on the other side of the highway. The carpet in our room felt dirty when u walked on it. So we tried to wear footwear most of the time. Little bit of mold in the bath area. The internet sucked. I could never keep connection very long to do anything and searching the web for anything felt as though i was using dial up. The staff on the other hand was very nice and pleasant. Very nice restaurant and bar area. Like i said not too bad of an experience, but its definitely not the best ive stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mackhay3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2008

We stayed one night here and paid $150 including taxes and breakfast. The staff was friendly and the pool area was nice. We were given a room at the opposite end of the hotel from the casino which meant it was mostly quiet, but twice (once at 6pm and once at about 6 am) somebody opened a fire door and we had to wait ages for somebody to come and turn off the alarm which was very noisy. The room was OK but the place didn't have much character and for the money we stayed at much nicer places in Puerto Rico. For 1 night it's fine but it's not great. The free wifi was appreciated though.

  • Liked — Free wifi
  • Disliked — Noisy fire door alarm
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Scousepeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Barthelemy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

Quick check inn, nice staff, nice room (we would of appreciated a microwave in the room, we hat to go to the restaurant to heat the food for the baby, but it was not a problem, the girls at the restaurant were very friendly), the pool is great .
The only thing we did not like was the food from the restaurant, it was just horrible. We tried the restaurant on the first night and it was awfull (we didn't eat anything), we gave it a second chance coming back from a long day visiting, we had sandwiches from the room service, it was terrible. How can someone make a chicken and a club sandwich so revolting, I don't know but don't eat in the restaurant !

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the food
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank doudou97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
6.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR
4.5 mi away
Hotel Melia Ponce
Hotel Melia Ponce
#6 of 7 in Ponce
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
9.1 mi away
Costa Bahia Hotel, Convention Center & Casino
4.3 mi away
Hotel Belgica
Hotel Belgica
#3 of 7 in Ponce
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino

Property: Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
Address: 3315 Ponce Byp, Ponce 00728-1502, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Para informaciÏŒn en Español, haga click: Holiday Inn Ponce HotelBeautifully nestled on top of a panoramic mountain with a breathtaking view of the Caribbean Sea and the Historical City of Ponce known as the City of Museums. The Holiday Inn Ponce Hotel & Tropical Casino offers 116 renovated and spacious guest rooms and junior suites with individually climate control air conditioners and private balconies. Privileged location - El Tropical Casino located in our main lobby opened 24 hours daily. We are located just one mile from the Speed and Splash Water and Racing Theme Park and only 7 miles from the new Costa Caribe Golf Course. Easy access to the heart of Ponce and the tourists zone. Located 80 miles from the main airport Luis Munoz Marin in San Juan and only 12 miles away from the regional Mercedita Airport. Smoke detectors & fire sprinklers. Olympic size pool and kiddy pool with a breathtaking view of the Caribbean Sea. Banquet and meeting facilities for up to 300 persons. Wheel Chair Accessible and non-smoking rooms available. Locally acclaimed restaurant 'Tanama,' Ponce's Nouvelle Cuisine. Live music Friday and Saturday at the Barlavista Lobby Bar with a breathtaking view of the pool and Caribbean Sea. Game Room. Fitness Center. El Tropical Casino is open daily 24 hours with the newest tropical atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ponce And Tropical Casino
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Hotel Ponce
Ponce Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing