We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was average.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights, 7 days.

The room was standard. No complaints. But be warned, there is no safe.

The decor is very dated.

The service ranged from poor to average. Hostess and/or Waiter would take a long time to serve you or pay attention. Food was okay and low on options but there were many days where they ran out of stuff. Fruit and fish dishes were ridiculously overpriced AND it wasn't special. They also charged extra for room service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DTuanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear DTuanh,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 329 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, good restaurant and bar, great pool area, clean older rooms.
Hot water 1 of 4 days, even though we informed front desk after day 1. Co-workers shower also didn't drain, but not a problem in my room.
I don't understand the thinking of the desk staff in assigning rooms. On one side of the hotel you have a great pool and ocean view. On the other you see the parking lot. Why put a platinum member 50+ nights a year at HI in the parking lot view?
Employees and room scored low due to shower issues. Otherwise I'd give a better rating.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Timzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Timzr,

Thank you for your feedback. I humbly apologize for the issues you had with the shower facility and sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this allows us to assess where we have opportunities to make improvements.

Thank you for your business and for taking the time to write your concerns. Rest assured that your comments will be used and improvements will be made where possible. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that you give us a chance to redeem your faith in our products and services.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is one of my favorites on the south of Puerto Rico, Good prices and food with good people. Very comfortable and clean. The pool area its great for the family or couples. The beach view is beautiful. Recommended A+

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeamP_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

If you want to see Ponce or have a business trip, this hotel is just fine! The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The pool was really quiet and clean.The hotel is nice, but not to spend the entire day there. But to sleep and rest for a while is great and the price is ok. Its very clean and good service.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doriseul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Spent the week in town for business (I know, rough duty).
Was very impressed with the hotel.
Located on the South side of the island, about an hour or so from San Juan on the North Side, this is the second largest port in PR.
I found the HI Very clean and safe.
The exterior grounds, interior lobby and rooms were well maintained.
The in-house restaurant was very clean, great food, excellent service.
The pool / patio was very impressive (my regret was I didn't have time to actually swim).
The parking lot and small casino was patrolled and very secure.
The hotel itself is a short drive from the La Guancha waterfront and boardwalk.
It's has a nice little night life, and port scene (but, as with much of the south side of the island be mindful of your environment after the shops close for the night).
Traffic can be tricky with all of the road construction in the old part of town at the time.
If you have a chance visit the Cruceta del Vigía.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RackMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nice location with beautiful view. The staff is courteous but I believe they are overwhelm. We had a long wait at the front desk when registering, we had to wait for valet parking every time, if we requested something at from front desk, we had to wait. The cafe by the pool was a never ending wait. Wait, wait, wait. Breakfast was included in our rate and it was good but most likely I will not stay here for leisure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesus Manuel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Jesus Manuel H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

In a city with marginal hotels, this one is OK. Not great, not bad, just OK. Always stayed at the Hilton in Ponce, but got tired of the prices, charges for parking, internet, etc., decided to try this hotel.
The room was OK, the food was OK, the staff were OK. Doesn't sound like a ringing endorsement, but I've had better, and have had worse too.
To give perspective, I will probably go back to this hotel on my next trip.
The only problem I had (which is a big problem) is that I couldn't get hot water from my shower.
I complained and they sent someone immediately who played with the faucet and it seemed as though he was getting hot water, so I left it alone. When I tried to use it later and the next morning, again I couldn't get hot water, so 2 days with cold showers. Maybe it was good for me, but I doubt it. Make sure you have hot water when you get to the room, I was too busy and too tired to change rooms once I settled in.

Room Tip: Check out the hot water situation..
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Ray2k,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff and the room.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the lack of hot water for shower which was unacceptable. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
6.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR
4.4 mi away
Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino
4.5 mi away
Hotel Melia Ponce
Hotel Melia Ponce
#6 of 7 in Ponce
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
4.3 mi away
Hotel Belgica
Hotel Belgica
#4 of 7 in Ponce
369 reviews
9.1 mi away
Costa Bahia Hotel, Convention Center & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino

Address: 3315 Ponce Byp, Ponce 00728-1502, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range: $118 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Para informaciÏŒn en Español, haga click: Holiday Inn Ponce HotelBeautifully nestled on top of a panoramic mountain with a breathtaking view of the Caribbean Sea and the Historical City of Ponce known as the City of Museums. The Holiday Inn Ponce Hotel & Tropical Casino offers 116 renovated and spacious guest rooms and junior suites with individually climate control air conditioners and private balconies. Privileged location - El Tropical Casino located in our main lobby opened 24 hours daily. We are located just one mile from the Speed and Splash Water and Racing Theme Park and only 7 miles from the new Costa Caribe Golf Course. Easy access to the heart of Ponce and the tourists zone. Located 80 miles from the main airport Luis Munoz Marin in San Juan and only 12 miles away from the regional Mercedita Airport. Smoke detectors & fire sprinklers. Olympic size pool and kiddy pool with a breathtaking view of the Caribbean Sea. Banquet and meeting facilities for up to 300 persons. Wheel Chair Accessible and non-smoking rooms available. Locally acclaimed restaurant 'Tanama,' Ponce's Nouvelle Cuisine. Live music Friday and Saturday at the Barlavista Lobby Bar with a breathtaking view of the pool and Caribbean Sea. Game Room. Fitness Center. El Tropical Casino is open daily 24 hours with the newest tropical atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ponce And Tropical Casino
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Hotel Ponce
Ponce Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing