We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to the South Coast & Mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
271 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Convenient to the South Coast & Mountains”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nice place. Front desk clerk gave us directions to the Bio Bay about 40 minutes west. Room is nice, has casino, restaurant good. Convenient to Hwy 2 and the intermountain region of Cerro Punto & Adjuntas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcjw700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    113
    69
    26
    8
See reviews for
94
103
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I needed somewhere to stay in Ponce for 1 night before going to the airport to return to NYC. I had previously stayed 4 nights at the Hilton (supposedly the #1 resort and hotel in ponce and the worst place I've stayed), so I tried to find something else. When I booked the Holiday Inn it cost me more than I anticipated, and I'm still not sure why I paid $140 to stay here. If you're staying in Ponce, the location is terrible- it's neither near the downtown nor the beach. The hotel itself is old and may have been glamorous in the 80s, but now it's just tacky colors, peeling paint, and an overall rundown look. I'm really glad I stayed here less than 12 hours. The service was fine at checkin and out. There is free parking. I have less complaints than the Hilton, but don't recommend either hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear christine l,

Thanks for taking the time to contribute your feedback, we are always eager to find out our guests opinion. I am deeply sorry you found the hotel location and condition of the property less than satisfactory. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night because the Ponce Hilton was full. At half the price of the Hilton, for a room with a balcony and ocean view, facilities are fairly new and kept clean, they have plenty of helpful employees who greeted from check-in to check-out. I stayed on a Thursday which happens to be the manager's cocktail party and it was great, they offered free drinks, beers, hors d'oeuvre and appetizers from 6:00-7:00 pm at the function hall, all it needed was some soft music. Afterwards we visited their restaurant and it was very comparable in taste and price to any other good quality restaurant in the area. After chowing down their Mofongo relleno de pulpo (mashed plantain filled with octopus) and a Filete de chillo en salsa de parcha (Red Snapper filet on a passion fruit sauce) a couple of Medallas (local beer) and Passoa drinks our bill came to around $80 including a $10 tip. Then we headed to the Casino which was small but adecuate, they even bring you soups so you don't get hungry. It was raining that day so we couldn't enjoy the nice big pool. Plenty of free parking, easy in/out to interstate 2 and 52.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gama30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maniwaki
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at this Holiday Inn location on February 26th and truly enjoyed our stay. We were greeted by friendly people at the reception and were given a nice big clean room. The price was very reasonable and included two welcome drinks and an American style buffet breakfast.
Our room faced the Caribbean Sea and also overlooked the pool. This hotel also has a casino but we didn't visit it. We spent a bit of time enjoying our free glass of wine and then had a delicious Pena Colada. I would definitely return to this hotel if we come back to Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lefty_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

sometimes even brand name hotels fall short of expetations....not this time. we were a last minute reservation request and the staff could not have been more helpful. Basic room was spacious and clean. Beautiful view of the ocean and very nice pool area. I recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zekewolf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed for one night the day after Christmas. The hotel stands alone on top of a hill. Late check in, staff was very friendly. Room 319 was comfy, big and very clean, bathroom was spotless. I got the view of the front parking lot, but you could also see the city of Ponce with the ocean on the side. Other rooms overlook the pool and the ocean. The main elevator is out of service. The other one is far down the hall. We took the stairs.

We returned to the room around 11:30pm, restaurant closes at 11:00pm. Very odd since the casino was packed with the locals. There were people eating foods from somewhere else in the parking lot. The girl at the front desk gave us directions to Ponce Town Center ( 15 mins. drive). We found the Burger King drive thru open and ate in our room. I think the hotel is losing some serious money here. At least have some sort of snack bar open with the Casino.

The pool is big and has a nice view of the ocean. We had the breakfast buffet around
10:30am. Again, the staff in this place is really friendly. The food was ok, fresh fruit, good coffee; need to work on the pancakes (hard as a rock). Overall, a good hotel if you are visiting Ponce or just passing by.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaylahG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear LaylahG,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. I apologize for any inconvenience your restaurant experience may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel offered low rates, a casino, free parking and a pool. If you were going to spend any time here you will be driving to what you want to do. It is about a 20 minute drive to Ponce, very little to see here. It is about 35 - 45 minutes to a good beach, we liked Playa Santa the best. The hotel staff was pleasant and very helpful, the casino look like it was good size but did not go in. The room was clean, the shower could use a little more scrubbing. This hotel is good if you are just passing through, we stayed 2 (really only 1.5) nights because we caught the 4AM Jet Blue flight out of Ponce. If I had to do it again, I would have stayed somewhere else longer before coming to Ponce to catch our flight or would have liked to try the hilton but it was a last minute trip during the holidays and most of the hotels were full.

Room Tip: We stayed on the other side of the hotel from the casino and it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vienna-Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Vienna-Paul,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
6.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR
4.4 mi away
Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino
4.5 mi away
Hotel Melia Ponce
Hotel Melia Ponce
#6 of 7 in Ponce
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
9.1 mi away
Costa Bahia Hotel, Convention Center & Casino
4.3 mi away
Hotel Belgica
Hotel Belgica
#3 of 7 in Ponce
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino

Property: Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
Address: 3315 Ponce Byp, Ponce 00728-1502, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Para informaciÏŒn en Español, haga click: Holiday Inn Ponce HotelBeautifully nestled on top of a panoramic mountain with a breathtaking view of the Caribbean Sea and the Historical City of Ponce known as the City of Museums. The Holiday Inn Ponce Hotel & Tropical Casino offers 116 renovated and spacious guest rooms and junior suites with individually climate control air conditioners and private balconies. Privileged location - El Tropical Casino located in our main lobby opened 24 hours daily. We are located just one mile from the Speed and Splash Water and Racing Theme Park and only 7 miles from the new Costa Caribe Golf Course. Easy access to the heart of Ponce and the tourists zone. Located 80 miles from the main airport Luis Munoz Marin in San Juan and only 12 miles away from the regional Mercedita Airport. Smoke detectors & fire sprinklers. Olympic size pool and kiddy pool with a breathtaking view of the Caribbean Sea. Banquet and meeting facilities for up to 300 persons. Wheel Chair Accessible and non-smoking rooms available. Locally acclaimed restaurant 'Tanama,' Ponce's Nouvelle Cuisine. Live music Friday and Saturday at the Barlavista Lobby Bar with a breathtaking view of the pool and Caribbean Sea. Game Room. Fitness Center. El Tropical Casino is open daily 24 hours with the newest tropical atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ponce And Tropical Casino
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Hotel Ponce
Ponce Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing