We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent hotel for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a very typical Holiday Inn, with a few nice things like the casino for entertainment in the evening. Clean and plenty of room and a small refrigerator. Great view of the ocean and pool area (and the palm trees bending sideways during a hurricane-like storm). Nice, helpful staff. This is NOT in the middle of Ponce, but on highway 2 just outside the city. We found it very easy to get into restaurants in Ponce from there, and it was a good base for our trip to the west coast for snorkeling in La Puergua (about an hour).

The restaurant is horrible--do not bother. Be careful...they give you breakfast coupons if you are a priority club member, but they are only for the "continental" table in the restaurant, not the full breakfast. This was not explained and we ate from the whole buffet and were charged an extra $10. We had dinner there the first night and it was very average (white bread, horrible mofongo with shrimp and a very basic hamburger). The bar is nice with a view overlooking the pool.

The internet connection/wireless was very weak on the 4th floor. It worked, but it was definitely not quick or strong.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kskdmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear kskdmad,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay with us. I am pleased to read that you liked our convenient location, helpful hotel staff, facilities and clean rooms. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel. However, I apologize if we did not meet your expectations on this day. I am sorry for any inconvenience you have experienced during breakfast and dinner options received. Y I have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured, these will be used to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again and we hope to serve you soon and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    111
    68
    26
    8
See reviews for
92
102
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here because we had a free night - however, we had a great stay. It's true, it doesn't have much in terms of "local flair" - it's a Holiday Inn. It's also not as close to downtown Ponce as some others. That said, we were impressed at check in by the staff - they were a great source of knowledge and recommendations on how to get to some of the places we wanted to visit as well as where to eat. The room was very nice, very clean, and we had a nice view of the Caribbean from our balcony and the pool. It was also very spacious. The only thing I didn't like about this hotel was that the wireless didn't seem to reach to our corner room on the 5th floor - we had a very poor connection and it was incredibly slow. That said, there was a computer downstairs that guests can use, which worked just fine.
The casino was a fun diversion for something a little different, and I actually won something for the first time ever.
I would recommend this hotel for people who are a little homesick and want something familiar. It would be an awesome home base to explore southern Puerto Rico. If you want local flair, go elsewhere. If you want a nice stay, this is a fine place. Also, definitely join the Priority Club - we've been members of the club, and we got a free drink, some free match play at the casino (I didn't use it, but some might), and some snacks and water.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 5th floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BentheBold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport
Level Contributor
185 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on our last day in PR. Check in was fast, BC we agreed to sign up for the priority point system ...we got a welcome bag with water and snacks . The pool area is large and has a deep and shallow end as well. The room was spacious... The balcony was pretty blah but it was too hot to sit out there anyway.

Didn't visit the casino but it was packed! We ate dinner at the restaurant and wasn't crazy about the food (at least it wasn't ridiculously expensive ). We waited really long for the food, we were told there was only one chef for the entire restaurant ).

The hotel is not in the center of town. Everything is a drive... But we stayed here BC of the pool. Very pleased with the stay (other than dinner)... Even had full breakfast included with our rate which was pretty decent. We would stay again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpsunshine99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The room was rather large and had very comfortable beds. Be careful when booking as it seems that this hotel doesn't have many king-size beds. We hadn't noticed this, and the hotel had none we could move to.

The pool is large and wonderful, and even nicer in person than in the photos. It is great for kids, too, with a large, cordoned-off shallow end. It is lit at night with colored lights. Some rooms on the 2nd floor have balconies that open out to the pool area. There are 4 pool towels in the room ($25 each if lost) in addition to bath towels. This is very nice, too.

The bar is nice, and is quite economical during happy hour. The problem is, it is unclear when happy hour starts and ends. When happy hour is not on, the prices are high. The bartenders are very friendly and speak pretty good English. One gave us some great day excursion ideas from Ponce. They occasionally have live music later at night on the weekend, but from what I saw, this attracts a much older (50+) crowd.

The restaurant serves good food at a fairly decent price (but remember, the location is not central). The mofongos are large enough to split, and you can order a side of rice & beans to supplement that for a nice budget meal for two.

The casino: no comment. I did not enter, and was not interested. I grew up in a town with legal gambling. Yawn!

My wife complained of the A/C smelling weird, but I didn't notice anything. I found it cold and liked the fan settings come bedtime.

The shower was great, and had nice, hot water. Good soaps, lotions, etc. Bathroom has coffee maker and two coffee bags per day (one decaf), but strangely, did not offer teabags.

Our room had what was the largest mini-fridge I have seen in a room in recent years. Very nice! If breakfast isn't free, at least you have room for OJ and milk next to your other beverages.

If TV matters to you, you will be pleased, as all big-4 US networks, ESPNs, CNN, HBO, TNT, TBS are available (though not in HD) here, free of charge, on the older flatscreen TV.

This hotel does a complimentary manager's "getting to know you" Happy Hour every Thursday 6-7 pm. There are some finger foods served, too. The hotel staff was there and was jovial, visiting with guests. It was very nice.

Although I speak Spanish also, it seems that most everyone in the hotel speaks English very well.

Many reviews I read raved about the breakfast buffet, not mentioning that it is not free. IT IS NOT FREE - rather it costs about $10 ea. if you are not given the special blue free breakfast coupons (we were not). The buffet included fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, home-fried potatoes, pancakes, sausage, bacon, breads (english muffins, croissants, etc), OJ and coffee (with warmed milk for café con leche!). It is pretty standard breakfast buffet fare - nothing outstanding except for the coffee - and rather economical, especially since there are no other restaurants nearby, but it is not free. This is just a friendly warning. I have gotten so used to hotel breakfast buffets being free in the continental US that I took it for granted, and just assumed it would be free after reading mention of it in other reviews on here. Oh well.

We plan to come back with our daughter when we can. We were very pleased with our stay. There were quite a few domestic (PR) tourists here, and that was nice to see.

Room Tip: Some 2F rooms on the east side have balconies that open to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TBonehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed here Christmas night 2011 for two nights as a base for exploring Isla Caja de Muerto.

Perched atop a hill with stunning views of the islands and cays around the Ponce area, I was more than pleased with the ocean view room. The hotel is very clean and inviting and bit more upscale than Holiday Inns I've seen before.

There's plenty of free parking, a small casino and nice pool. There really is not a nice resort hotel with beach in Ponce. Given that, this Holiday with its gorgeous vistas of the Caribbean Sea is the best choice. A great night's sleep, good coffee and you're off to enjoy what you the offshore islands, museums or nearby coffee plantation.

I also appreciated the generoud reservation terms at the time -- we could cancel our reservations up to the day before, without any penalties. This was great, as we wanted a bit of flexibility, in case something come up before we made it to Ponce.

Room Tip: Try the little automated coffee machine. I know in the states, people wince at the thought of automa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank portadelsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel to use it as a sort of "base camp" since we were going to attend an activity in another nearby "pueblo". An excellent hotel. Clean rooms, deliciously comfy beds and pillows, chilly and clean air conditioners (I usually get allergies after sleeping in a/c rooms..not here!) lovely smelling soaps, good TV, and a mini fridge that wasn't as mini as I was expecting!

The free breakfast was simple and delicious (Eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, orange juice, coffee, muffins, bagels, danish, toast) and also the free dinner (We got the Honeymoon package)
The pool is huge, very clean and relaxing.
All personel were extremely courteous and friendly. Check-in and check-out was a breeze.

The only problem we encountered was that our room key wasn't properly working, so we had to change it in two different occasions; but it was no real grief because our room was (thankfully) close to the front desk.

I would completely recommend this hotel and will be returning for sure!

Room Tip: Most pool-side rooms have a beautiful view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wabbamelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
230 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is better than average. We were surprised by the views of the ocean. It's outside of town and not within easy walking distance (1 mi) of anything.
The rooms are quiet and clean. Each looks to have a little balcony with two chairs. Beds were comfortable. Liked the shampoo/ lotion offerings.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuffelBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
6.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR
4.5 mi away
Hotel Melia Ponce
Hotel Melia Ponce
#6 of 7 in Ponce
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
9.1 mi away
Costa Bahia Hotel, Convention Center & Casino
4.3 mi away
Hotel Belgica
Hotel Belgica
#3 of 7 in Ponce
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino

Property: Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
Address: 3315 Ponce Byp, Ponce 00728-1502, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Para informaciÏŒn en Español, haga click: Holiday Inn Ponce HotelBeautifully nestled on top of a panoramic mountain with a breathtaking view of the Caribbean Sea and the Historical City of Ponce known as the City of Museums. The Holiday Inn Ponce Hotel & Tropical Casino offers 116 renovated and spacious guest rooms and junior suites with individually climate control air conditioners and private balconies. Privileged location - El Tropical Casino located in our main lobby opened 24 hours daily. We are located just one mile from the Speed and Splash Water and Racing Theme Park and only 7 miles from the new Costa Caribe Golf Course. Easy access to the heart of Ponce and the tourists zone. Located 80 miles from the main airport Luis Munoz Marin in San Juan and only 12 miles away from the regional Mercedita Airport. Smoke detectors & fire sprinklers. Olympic size pool and kiddy pool with a breathtaking view of the Caribbean Sea. Banquet and meeting facilities for up to 300 persons. Wheel Chair Accessible and non-smoking rooms available. Locally acclaimed restaurant 'Tanama,' Ponce's Nouvelle Cuisine. Live music Friday and Saturday at the Barlavista Lobby Bar with a breathtaking view of the pool and Caribbean Sea. Game Room. Fitness Center. El Tropical Casino is open daily 24 hours with the newest tropical atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ponce And Tropical Casino
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Hotel Ponce
Ponce Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing