We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This hotel is nice,the service excellent,very clean,the room not so big,but nice and clean. The bed is comfortable. This hotel is not very luxury but it looks very good and clean. If you like to visit Ponce atractions, I can recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PR_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    114
    70
    27
    8
See reviews for
96
106
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I booked this two-day stay as a getaway for my wife, myself and my girls aged 13 and 9. The short drive up from Hwy 2 took us to a nice-looking property on the top of a hill overlooking the Caribbean Sea, about half a mile away, and the view of Ponce bay and the city to the west was impressive. Although we had to park a bit far because of the many casino patrons that day, we were pleasantly welcomed by attentive staff, and check-in was a breeze.

My family asked for a room change to be closer to the pool and we were accommodated without any hassle. Both rooms were spotless clean and smelled clean as well, with comfortable beds and almost all the amenities we expected. No Disney Channel or Nickelodeon, though.

You have to drive to go anywhere, even to eat, in this part of Ponce. The hotel restaurant had a breakfast buffet, and the over easy eggs and English muffin I ordered were nicely done. Prices for room service are not overly marked up vs. dine-in prices, and we ordered in next day. Best thing we did, humongous rations of everything, piping hot and not skimpy at all. Us adults could fill up with the children's platters.

The girls predictably loved the pool, which was good since Ponce's beaches are just so-so, much better beaches are at least an hour plus away, driving towards Guanica/Ensenada/Boqueron/Combate in the southwest. The buoys and lighting gave us a sense of security and we could watch them from our balcony, or indeed from our bed. The view of the tropical trees to the west of the property behind the pool, and the sun setting in the ocean behind that, is a cherished memory.

Since we had a very short stay, this time we used the hotel as our homebase to explore the area attractions. This time we only went to Castillo Serrallés, which added a butterfly garden this time, and the extraordinary Museo de Arte de Ponce. Bring a camera along for the Museum, take in the art and architecture, the gardens, fountains and terraces. Gift shop was fun to see although a bit expensive, but we always brought back home a Flaming June memento. Plaza del Caribe is no Plaza Las Americas, but my daughter found the perfect lavender dress for her junior prom there, so can't knock them I guess.

This hotel is perched midway between the bare-boned economy of some local paradores and the opulent extravagance of some of the franchise-branded resorts in the island. For value and enjoyment, Holiday Inn Ponce hit the sweet spot, and we look forward to stay again sometime soon.

Room Tip: Even-numbered rooms on second floor are steps away from the pool. Rooms on the third floor are at lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roalmabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here, the room was clean and the service was friendly. The pool was cleaned twice a day whether anyone used it or not! If you are working or exploring Ponce this is a great place to sleep at night.

Room Tip: I'm pretty sure all of the rooms above the main floor have a nice view thanks to the location of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swyantk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Hi! This hotel is amazing! I arrived at 3pm and my room wasn't already clean, so they give one with direct access to the pool it was the best offer for the kids it was great, the pool had a great ocean view. There are many options for dinner and places to go, like Plaza del Caribe Mall, Art Museum, Ponce Downtown and other places. The room always was clean, the staff was very kind, they have Priority Club member and you can earn points and receive many benefits. The restaurant is great with razonable prices. I loved my vacations with my husband and kids..next year we come again!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yduranri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

While we found the city to be a "dud"...it was dead after 5:00 p.m., the Holiday Inn Ponce is an okay place to stay. The hotel is located just west of the city on a hill overlooking a lagoon and in the distance, the Caribbean. The rooms are standard holiday inn, nothing more and nothing less. The pool was quite large, though the water was cool. Of course, no one else was at the pool. There is also a jacuzzi like pool that is not a jacuzzi and equally cold. The people at the front desk were friendly, though their directions were outdated as the road they suggested was closed after a couple of miles. The casino seems to be the main attraction and there were tons of locals playing...An okay hotel in a somewhat boring area...unlike most of Puerto Rico which we truly enjoyed...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Gary7272,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

It's a small place as casino resorts go. In this case, small isn't necessarily beautiful.

The hotel is located on top of a small hill with a good view of the ocean. The room was typical Holiday Inn: adequate. The same can be said about the food. While I am fine with a room that is adequate, my expectations in the food department are a little higher. However, I did like their black bean soup. I had it twice. The breakfast that came with the free breakfast coupon was very adequate.

Service was good, friendly and unpretentious. Just helpful. At the reception desk, in the bar and in the dining room.

The wireless internet is free. And you get what you don't pay for. Forget about watching a news video clip in total before you fall asleep. Not good.

Apparently, this hotel has not made it into the list of addresses accessible to GPS. We drove here from San Juan. My GPS unit did not recognize it, so I entered just any old address in Ponce, hoping that I would have better luck once I got here. Of course I didn't. So I had a heck of a time finding my way to it out of the labyrinth of streets without signs that is Ponce. I have no idea how anyone finds an address here. We ended up asking a couple of policemen for directions. :)

Room Tip: It seems desks only come in rooms with king size beds. If you want two beds (which I like because th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ergoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Ergoe,

Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced trying to find the hotel.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments.

We thank you for having chosen our Hotel. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

OK, I already knew that this hotel is far from the beaches, but contrary to other reviewers' opinions the hotel didn't make up for it neither in service nor in views from the room. My check-in experience was mediocre at best. I arrived late at night and was not given a password for the wifi. When I called reception, there was no answer. When I went down to the reception I spent about five minutes looking for any staff before I got the password.

The pool looks nice, but is unsuitable to do laps in. It is clean, though.

The room, although in good working order with a comfortable bed and clean, was nothing special. I had booked an executive room and had asked for a room with seaview. But despite being platinum with PC my very standard room had a view - of the driveway. The so-called executive floor in my case was the fourth of five floors and did look rather bleak. So all in all there were no catastrophes, but for the 130 $ plus I paid I would have expected quite a bit more.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wicketo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
6.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR
4.4 mi away
Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino
4.5 mi away
Hotel Melia Ponce
Hotel Melia Ponce
#6 of 7 in Ponce
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
9.1 mi away
Costa Bahia Hotel, Convention Center & Casino
16.9 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino

Property: Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
Address: 3315 Ponce Byp, Ponce 00728-1502, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Para informaciÏŒn en Español, haga click: Holiday Inn Ponce HotelBeautifully nestled on top of a panoramic mountain with a breathtaking view of the Caribbean Sea and the Historical City of Ponce known as the City of Museums. The Holiday Inn Ponce Hotel & Tropical Casino offers 116 renovated and spacious guest rooms and junior suites with individually climate control air conditioners and private balconies. Privileged location - El Tropical Casino located in our main lobby opened 24 hours daily. We are located just one mile from the Speed and Splash Water and Racing Theme Park and only 7 miles from the new Costa Caribe Golf Course. Easy access to the heart of Ponce and the tourists zone. Located 80 miles from the main airport Luis Munoz Marin in San Juan and only 12 miles away from the regional Mercedita Airport. Smoke detectors & fire sprinklers. Olympic size pool and kiddy pool with a breathtaking view of the Caribbean Sea. Banquet and meeting facilities for up to 300 persons. Wheel Chair Accessible and non-smoking rooms available. Locally acclaimed restaurant 'Tanama,' Ponce's Nouvelle Cuisine. Live music Friday and Saturday at the Barlavista Lobby Bar with a breathtaking view of the pool and Caribbean Sea. Game Room. Fitness Center. El Tropical Casino is open daily 24 hours with the newest tropical atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ponce And Tropical Casino
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Hotel Ponce
Ponce Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing