We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with many amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with many amenities”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We just returned from a cruise and extended stay in Puerto Rico where we visited the city of Ponce. The Holiday Inn & Casino in Ponce is located on a hill overlooking the ocean and near the main highway. The rooms are typical for a Holiday Inn, although all have a little balcony outside a sliding glass door, rather than just a window. Unfortunately, our room was at ground level, so the balcony really wasn't an advantage. Rooms located on the upper floors have nicer views and allow one to leave their doors open to take advantage of the ocean breeze. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and there is a large flat screen TV with lots of channels to choose from. The bathroom was modern and a good size. Not much hanging space, but there is a little refrigerator and good drawer space. The hotel has a fairly large casino, restaurant and large bar. We were given a complimentary drink and a $10 matching bet, although we did not gamble. The pool is very large and has lots of patio area and seating around it, plus there is also more patio and seating area above the pool. The hotel is very clean and it and the grounds are well maintained. The front desk personnel were extremely helpful and genuinely warm and welcoming. The hotel is close to several restaurants located right on the beach, so you can enjoy the sunset over the ocean with your meal.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank metalmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    113
    69
    26
    8
See reviews for
94
103
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

This Holiday Inn was about what you would expect from a Holiday Inn. There is a lot of local traffic due to the casino. The room was clean and neat. Evidently, there was no complimentary continental breakfast, and it was a bit pricey for the fare. The hamburgers are a better bargain if you decide to eat dinner there. All in all, its a nice Holiday Inn style hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patthecma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Wish we had spent more time in Ponce to explore the area. Hotel is conveniently located but being in downtown Ponce might have been more fun.

Front desk staff was helpful in suggesting a sunset spot. Room was clean and fresh.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool gives a nice sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bills_pix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We checked in Saturday afternoon. The desk clerk was very helpfull. She made us feel like we're valued guests. Several times throughout our stay she helped us with restaurant suggestions as well as things to do in the area. She was happy to take all the time we needed, not once making us feel rushed. We booked a junior suite. The room was spacious. There is a microwave, mini fridge, table with two chairs, and a nice desk with office chair. The room is a bit dated but it was clean. There was a slight musty odor. My wife is an infection control fanatic. After checking the mattress seams for bed bugs, it recieved her approval. We has a room on the 4th floor, right near the elevator. The noise was not as bad as mentioned in an earlier review. The pool is large and looked clean but it too was dated. The casino looked like the reason the hotel exists. I think it is the primary reason most people come here. It is certainly not Vegas, but much larger than others in the San Juan area. I do think it would be nice if they reserved some of the closer parking spaces for hotel guests. They seem to fill up fast with casino patrons.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandsculptureman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Puerto Rico alone is a beautiful country with lots to appreciate visually without having to rely on your hotel to complete one's opinion. The 2nd largest city after San Juan, Ponce swims in a warmer climate on the south side of the island nation with temperatures that often beat the rest of the island. Staying in town for one night, the Holiday Inn was a perfect choice for location, service, and value. The resort property has been around for many years, but the staff do a darn good job with the up-keep and its location on top of a hill overlooking the bay can't be beat. As mentioned, it gets warm in town and the cool breezes there is a refreshing touch that compliments the smiling staff. And like most hotels/resorts in PR, there is a sizable casino on-site opened late to keep the party popp'n, Ponce style.

Room Tip: Requesting a higher floor (think there is only 5 floors) facing the pool will also afford you a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BENtraveln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed over a 3 day weekend at the hotel and had a wonderful time. The desk staff (Rosa) and (Jenai) were so very helpful getting us cabs and suggesting great local places to eat. The hotel is high on a bluff and you see the ocean ..The breezes are warm and inviting. The hotel lobby, restaurant and rooms were very clean and the staff very attentive. The pool area is very large and you never feel crowded. It is quiet and very restful. Beautiful views and breezes! There is a shade area by the pool and it is surrounded by swaying palms.....AMAZING local restaurants nearby ( ask the hotel to call a cab for you (usually 15.00 to your destination) nothing like having a great dinner overlooking the ocean...again a restful experience. We took a cab into the town square of Ponce and walked around (sidewalks rolled up at 6pm!) and your cab driver gave us his personal cell so you can call them back to get you after you are finished.....but really the best part was the outstanding ( and VERY reasonable) roomservice breakfast brought to you on a rolling table and a second cup of coffee on your private balcony overlooking the ocean.... and then a day lounging by the pool......There is a casino , music, and a bar in the hotel. The Ponce airport is a short cabride away ($30.00) No hotel shuttle. Overall a great stay at a clean, well managed hotel. Book a room overlooking the pool on the 4th floor for the best views. A++ WE WILL BE BACK!!!!!!!

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms are quiet and they overlook the pool and ocean..... Get a room away from the bar mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VIVMAUDLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

My wife and I visit the Ponce area regularly and always stay at this hotel, even though there are plenty of other options in the area with which we are familiar. Our most recent stay was a four-day holiday weekend. It sits on a hill overlooking the Caribbean Sea, a campus-style property with a particularly pretty and ample pool area. Although the hotel's location is convenient for exploring area attractions, a car or some other ground-transportation arrangement is an absolute must for travelers staying at this hotel, which is also true for Puerto Rico as a whole, a car-dependent island. The rooms are very clean, comfortable, and nicely furnished. The front-desk, maintenance and food/beverage staffs are excellent. Rates are on the pricey end for Holiday Inns at large, but one definitely gets what one pays for. The on-site restaurant serves very good food. We will most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yazoo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
6.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR
4.4 mi away
Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino
4.5 mi away
Hotel Melia Ponce
Hotel Melia Ponce
#6 of 7 in Ponce
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
9.1 mi away
Costa Bahia Hotel, Convention Center & Casino
4.3 mi away
Hotel Belgica
Hotel Belgica
#3 of 7 in Ponce
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino

Property: Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
Address: 3315 Ponce Byp, Ponce 00728-1502, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Para informaciÏŒn en Español, haga click: Holiday Inn Ponce HotelBeautifully nestled on top of a panoramic mountain with a breathtaking view of the Caribbean Sea and the Historical City of Ponce known as the City of Museums. The Holiday Inn Ponce Hotel & Tropical Casino offers 116 renovated and spacious guest rooms and junior suites with individually climate control air conditioners and private balconies. Privileged location - El Tropical Casino located in our main lobby opened 24 hours daily. We are located just one mile from the Speed and Splash Water and Racing Theme Park and only 7 miles from the new Costa Caribe Golf Course. Easy access to the heart of Ponce and the tourists zone. Located 80 miles from the main airport Luis Munoz Marin in San Juan and only 12 miles away from the regional Mercedita Airport. Smoke detectors & fire sprinklers. Olympic size pool and kiddy pool with a breathtaking view of the Caribbean Sea. Banquet and meeting facilities for up to 300 persons. Wheel Chair Accessible and non-smoking rooms available. Locally acclaimed restaurant 'Tanama,' Ponce's Nouvelle Cuisine. Live music Friday and Saturday at the Barlavista Lobby Bar with a breathtaking view of the pool and Caribbean Sea. Game Room. Fitness Center. El Tropical Casino is open daily 24 hours with the newest tropical atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ponce And Tropical Casino
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Hotel Ponce
Ponce Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing