We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's okay!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2009

The Ponce Resort is on the ocean away from the Town of Ponce. The golf course resort is attached to the main resort over a bridge which the hotel itself provides a complimentary shuttle. It has two pools, one in the main building, the other at the golf resort.
I was a guest at this hotel one year ago and booked into the Executive Tower which is the furthest away from the main resort. Last year the Exectuve Lounge which is situated on the ground floor was open on the weekend as we had gone from a Friday to Saturday.This year however we were upgraded to the Executive Tower and the lounge was closed, only open now from Monday to Friday. The pool in the main resort building was closed for maintenance or whatever. I don't understand that as the tourist season is heavy in this time period and they have shut down one of the biggest attractions at this resort. They did apologize however and did give an alternative, which was to be shuttled to the golf course resort and use the pool facility there. What an inconvenice for the guests, especially with children.
I was happy I bought a Bed and Breakfast Package which they offered. This staff at the breakfast area were unremarkable and very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was more then adequate for any guests. Clean, and an array of selections for breakfast, including cold and hot buffet and an omelette station as well.
The rooms themselves are okay. Nothing spectacular. No special amenities, and no bathtubs whatsoever. The rooms only provide this massive shower. You can tell times are tough as even the grounds are not maintained as should be.
TIP: If you aren't a golfer, don't go. The beach is nothing to speak of and the facility itself is the only one of it's type around there. It is 'JUST OKAY". Skip Ponce and just do a day trip.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanjuantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,270 - 1,276 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2009

The hotel was great, but the best part of it were the staff. The billingual staff was helpful and friendly and always went above and beyond to make our staff fantastic! The restaurant was average (great piña coladas!), but everything else was above average for sure! The whole facilities is beautiful and well kept, and there are gorgeous views from the rooms! I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beach_vacation_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Everything about this resort was great. My wife and I had such a wonderful time that we are already looking for flights to go back. The resort is spectacular! The staff is extremely friendly and they were all very helpful. Everywhere we went the folks were really nice, either the bar, the beach, the front desk, room service or house cleaning. It's a really great place for couples because of the location of the hotel, which is in south Puerto Rico, far far away from the hectic hustle and bustle of San Juan. And because it's so far away from the high-traffic, high-pollution San Juan, the weather is much better than San Juan. We landed in San Juan and it was raining. Then we went on a one-day trip to San Juan and it was raining. Then on the flight back, it was raining again in San Juan. We stayed in Ponce 6 days and it DID NOT rain even once. The closest it got was a bit overcast in the evening one night. The breakfast is awesome! The other two restaurants at the resort are awesome! We had so much fun that we didn't even go to the Casino. We highly recommend this resort for anyone looking for a romantic getaway or with a family with kids.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank harbir77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

When I say "Above Average" I'm comparing to sparse alternative offerings in the Ponce area (and being an avid golfer, this place having no competition in the south central portion to the island). The resort was easy to get to and conveniently located, but it (in the greater worldwide scheme of things) wasn't anything close to "special". Furthermore (aside from the outstanding 27 hole on site golf course), it was not redeeming other than it was situated on the ocean (to be more precise, the Carribean Sea) and had two separate pool and beach areas (one moderate size family pool with large beach area at hotel, and another dazzling adult pool with small beach area at the golf course clubhouse complex). We ate out in town, but availed ourselves to the bar lounge area (good, but expensive mixed drinks and beer) and to the casino (okay, but not exciting and no Vegas - or Mesquite, for that matter). The rooms were clean and all have a view toward the ocean overlooking the gardened grounds, but it was not spacious or memorable. At this low season stay, we still had to pay a AAA rate of $160 and pony up an extra $8 parking fee (for the priviledge of parking in one of several hundred unsused spaces in a cavernous parking lot) as well as a $11+ resort fee (were told to pay for groundskeeping costs). All in all, this single night stay (and playing the full 27 holes of golf) was fine and dandy, but it doesn't beckon to me to pay a return visit.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoomBoom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2008

I am staying here now on business and the place is a great area. For whatever reason the hotel is next to empty. I would imagine around 10% full which in a place this big seems like you are all alone. The hotel itself is clean and lots of things to do. The rooms are dated and the beds are hard but clean and large. Despite the low numbers booked in I was put way on the end of the resort and i almost feel like im the only one staying here. I asked to be moved but was told this is the only area with a king bed and the rest of the floors and rooms dont??? I never pushed it...

Breakfast.... Interesting.... Food was great and I was enjoying some nice waffles and sausage when I noticed birds... La Terraza is kind of open air so you expect birds, but these were invasive. I saw a black bird land on the table and begin picking at the napkins then he left a "white spot" on the table. Staff walked by and didnt even flinch. 5 minutes later a couple left after finishing and the birds invaded the table. 6 - 7 birds fighting over bacon and toast. This was right next to my table so I had to get up and ASK them to clean off the table. Then as another man left to refill at the buffet they invaded his table, ate from the syrup cup, took something off a plate, and a waitress, get this... shooed the birds away, topped up his OJ and left. When he came back I told him to eat at another table... That is just dirty in my mind and the staff were numb to it.

Sports bar staff are not outgoing. despite tipping well and trying to strike up a conversation they retreated to the other side and talked amongst each other. I can see that if they are busy but on a slow night I would think they would at least talk. They seemed to understand english enough. Beer is 6.00 with DonQ rum 3.00 during Happy Hour 5 - 7. I think it was DonQ, weak drinks at that rate. Funny thing was the regular rate drinks had twice as much alcohol.

Pool area is great and the beach is nice. Hope to golf later this week and take in some of Ponce. Will update more later with a final opinion on this resort.

I highly recommend driving to Ponce from San Juan. The scenary is geourgous and it only takes hour and half on a good day.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TrevorMNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Its always a good trip when you stay at the Ponce Hilton in Ponce Puerto Rico. I just spent 4 days and 3 nights at this facility and as usual I found it clean, the staff extremely friendly, and there was nothing you could need that was not available. Granted this is a 5 star resort, so if your looking for a bare bones cheap stay this is not the place. But if you want to be catered to, have the staff not only know who you are but be able to address you by name. If you want every possible type of food in what ever amount you want at a moments notice. If you want immediate access to 5 restaurants and 7 bars, a business center and an executive lounge. If you want full service spa's, training areas, casinos, night clubs, etc. then this is the place for you! If this sound like your kind of place the run, don't walk to the Costa Caribe Ponce Hilton.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dolphingvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2008

The hotel is beautiful with spectacular views. Staff are friendly and kind. I've seen remarks written about the double beds and it is true. Double beds not much larger than a single. Our room was right off the pool and feet from the beach. Retrieving the car was simple and quick. The breakfast was great. I would definitely come back. The only major thing we had a problem with but through no fault of the hotel was the putrid smell from the Don Q rum factory. It's enough to make you upchuck. Other than that - GREAT TIME. Check in/Check out - 123.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kathymtiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
40.2 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
48.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
48.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
62.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
48.5 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
48.4 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort

Address: 1150 Caribe Ave., Ponce 00716, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range: $162 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort is a tropical resort facing the Caribbean Sea, within a secluded location in the picturesque city of Ponce, Puerto Rico's second largest city. This full service resort offers a 27-hole championship golf course, variety of bars and restaurants, a 24-hours Casino and is the ideal base to explore the southern part of Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Ponce Golf And Casino Resort
Hilton Ponce Golf Hotel Ponce
Hilton Ponce Hotel
Hilton Ponce Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing