We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice but the buffet needs a little improvement.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very Nice but the buffet needs a little improvement.”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stopped in for lunch on March 21, 2014 and opted to take in the buffet due to our time frame. We arrived around 1:00 PM and was quite surprised to find so many of the dishes were empty when we first went in, there really wasn't that many guests dining at the time. We had a bowl of soup to start and then figured the buffet would have been replenished by the time we went for our meal, unfortunately there was not a lot to choose from on our first round but they eventually did replenish more items as we ate. The other thing we noticed was that the food bar seemed to have an awful lot of flies crawling on the salad & dessert bars. All in all the food was OK but I expected the quality to be much higher for an establishment of this caliber.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the Hilton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimWinnipeg_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPonce, Director of Sales at Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Tim Winnipeg_Can:

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your lunch visit at our La Terraza Restaurant.
We have shared your insight with our Restaurant Manager, as customer feedback is our source of isnpiration for improvement.
We try to keep food as fresh as possible on our Buffets, reason why we replenish on a frequent basis, but with smaller amounts so food offerings do not sit for a long time on the display, losing its freshness.
We do apologize for the fly situation, but it is a phenomenon that occurs on a yearly basis with the change of season. Happily, it doesn't last too long!

Sincerely,

Jose Caro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    471
    201
    95
    53
See reviews for
510
418
26
339
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were in Ponce for a meeting of our national church board. This hotel was chosen by our local Bishop and proved to be an excellent choice. The staff was very helpful at every level. The setting is superb. Our room looked out on the ocean which was not more than 100 feet from our balcony. The service at mealtimes and at the outside bar was efficient but not rushed. When we return to Ponce you can believe we will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPonce, Director of Sales at Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Frederick R:

Thank you very much for your kind review of our Resort as per your recent visit.

We are very glad you enjoyed the oceanfront accommodations, the service and offerings of our Bars and restaurants, and the atmosphere.

We look forward to welcoming you again,... but please spread the word too!!

Thank you again,

Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

First time in Ponce. The Hilton is a nice place to stay. Very clean. Nice pool. Friendly staff. My room was a good size and clean. Not cluttered. One thing I would change would be to get rid of the two double beds and put in 2 queens. The view of the ocean was beautiful with an awesome breeze. Nice table with chairs on the porch. Very relaxing. Self parking was $10 a day which I could understand in the city, but not in a huge resort with lots of land. The Puerto Rican dinner buffet was very good and the price was fair. They had a Salsa dance show that was pretty neat! We did not enjoy breakfast as much because the dining area is "open air" and birds kept jumping on the table. Some flies around too. The food at La Cava restaurant was delicious. I would recommend this hotel to those who want a quiet/peaceful vacation with little action. Nice golf course.

Room Tip: Do something about the birds and flies in the open-air room where guests eat breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allycat2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPonce, Director of Sales at Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Allycat2011:

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to Ponce, and for your kind comments regarding the rooms and staff. We will take into consideration your suggestion of switching the double size beds for queen size beds for our next room renovations, which are not scheduled in the near future though.
The parking is managed by a concessionaire, and the current $10.- per night, is still about 50% of what other Hotels in the city charge, and includes insurance coverage for your vehicle during the time the car is parked on premises, to bring you peace of mind.
Your concern for birds and the seasonal abundance of flies in the island during these days is also ours, and we do offer the option of having breakfast or lunch in air conditioned ambiance for those who prefer it, inside La Cava Salon and Bar area.

Once again, thank you for recommending our destination for those seeking sunshine, relaxation and comfortable accommodations in Puerto Rico.

Looking forward to having you as a Guest again soon,

Jose Caro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
livonia, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Rooms were reasonably price and slightly above our expectation. We were advised from spending to much on the food. However, insisted on the inclusion of breakfast in our stay. Kids 5 and under eat free. The dinner buffet was incredible as I splurged one night and was not disappointed. Check out the secret swimming poll area by shuttle. Beach is not necessarily a swim beach but the pool more than satisfied. Thanks for a great stay...Its really the only option in PONCE!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPonce, Director of Sales at Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Ryan C:

We are very happy you and your family enjoyed your stay at our property!
We are sure your children enjoyed the various amenities we offer, especially the wet area ones!

Indeed, the swimming pool area at the Clubhouse facilities, only a mere 5 minutes complimentary van ride from the Hotel's main Lobby, is a must!

We hope you will also share your comments with your friends and close ones, so they may venture into visiting us after your recommendations, aside from thanking you for sharing these generous comments with the Trip Advisor community.

Thanks again,

Jose Caro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South River NJ, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This resort has seen its better days. Pool nice. The beach could use a raking one in a while. Room in the executive tower acceptable. But you better get a king bed. Double seemed small. Im not much for the grounds having to look like Augusta gold course but the front look like garbage. I was surprised. Staff nice but on a Sunday, Monday you will find more ambiance or action at the morgue. But options are limited inthe area. Golf always nice but better get out early as its very hot. I wont go back if in the area again will try something else but options area very very limited unfortunatly

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPonce, Director of Sales at Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Gordon A:

Thank you for your time in writing a review on your recent visit to our Resort.

We take note of your feedback, and even though we do have a maintenance (cleaning) program at the public beach outside our property, we will try to make more efforts to keep at least the area right in front of our property more welcoming.
Depending on the days one visits our resort, one can find more or less "action" as you mention. Sundays are usually the days we have the largest amount of departures, so the Hotel looks empty, especially when you think the property is as big as 80 acres, having just 250 rooms!
We are sorry you decide to try other options in the area in the future, but as you say, those are limited.
I wish you safe travels, and hopefully you will come back to our resort after trying our competitors!

Sincerely,

Jose Caro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Just got back from vacation in Ponce, Puerto Rico. We stayed at the Ponce Hilton. I got more than I expected. First the staff was very friendly and helpful. I want to thank Alex at the front desk for all his help! The hotel was great! WE got a room with ocean view was wonderful! AT night we will sleep with the door open and fall asleep with the sound of the waves. Make sure you stay at executive towers. WE are diamond members with Hilton so we got some perks like free breakfast everyday. The grounds are very nice and well keep. The beach is not one of the best ones to swim but you can still layout and enjoy the peace and quite. You need to visit downtown Ponce, La plaza is very nice and you can really experience some of the culture. Go across the street right on front of the old fire house (Los Bomberos) and have some ice cream as good as gelato, also next door is a souvenir store El coqui you will get your souvenirs much cheaper here than San Juan. Back to the hotel I felt more comfortable here than at InterContinental in San Juan big difference! That is if you want a real PuertoRican Vacation! Ah happy hour is all day drinks are only $4 and delicious with rum Don Q at San Juan $11 and small. We sure had a great time and yes we will be back!

Room Tip: The beds are not as comfy as we would like, try to stay on floors higher than 3. Room 352 was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacoquideadjuntas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPonce, Director of Sales at Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear lacoquideadjuntas:

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and tips for travalers after your recent visit to Ponce and our Resort.
Indeed, most of our leisure guests enjoy the quietness and peacefulness of the area, which doesn't mean it should be boring!, especially when wanting to escape from a fast paced day-to-day living in an urban envornment. This is what truly sets apart Ponce from San Juan, by the way!
We also appreciate your loyalty to our company, being a HHonors Diamond requires numerous visits to our portfolio of hotels worldwide, but it surely has its rewards!
And yes, an extra attraction for our visitors is the "Happy Hour Every Hour" program we run at our bars, with amazing prices for our house brand drink, the number one rum in Puerto Rico: DonQ!

Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you for another true Puerto Rican vacation in Ponce!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My companion's company hosted an annual event here and we were immediately impressed with the property and the quality of the staff, beginning at curb side and throughout our stay. The hotel is designed to take advantage of the cooling ocean breezes and we preferred that to constant AC.

Our room in the Executive Tower was spacious and nicely appointed, with the most comfortable bed of any hotel I have stayed in. The glass shower felt airy, with great water pressure and a refreshing rain-style shower head, along with a separate handheld. Our balcony overlooked the grounds and the ocean, and the sound of the waves put me right to sleep at night. We enjoyed the early morning breezes through the open door and when seated on the balcony. Room service was always prompt with any request and the front desk helpful in finding our way around Ponce.

We dined infrequently at the hotel but enjoyed most of what was served. We dined in La Cava in a wonderful atmosphere the last night of our stay, and I appreciated being able to choose from the bar-b-q buffet outside and bring it in. Note to the grill man: Ribs are best cooked low and slow, not hot and fast. The morning of our last day we walked the beach barefoot in the brilliant sunshine.

We had come in early and rented a car through Avis in San Juan. Due to some problems we had to exchange it in Ponce. Because of an arrangement between Avis and Hilton, we were able to drop the car at the hotel and return to San Juan by company-arranged transportation. We greatly appreciated the courtesy.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and the ones at ground level have a patio. The Executive Tower rooms seem t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPonce, Director of Sales at Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Richard S:
Tank you very much for your comments and positive ratings!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit, the rooms at our Ocean Tower (formerly called Executive), and the support of our Team Members in assisting you with unexpected needs.

Your comments on the ribs will also be shared with our BBQ Cooks!...

We look forward to welcoming you once again, either on another Company event or just for a vacation getaway....

Sincerely,

Jose Caro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
48.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
48.2 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,872 reviews
48.5 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.4 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
53.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
62.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort

Property: Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort
Address: 1150 Caribe Ave., Ponce 00716, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort is a tropical resort facing the Caribbean Sea, within a secluded location in the picturesque city of Ponce, Puerto Rico's second largest city. This full service resort offers a 27-hole championship golf course, variety of bars and restaurants, a 24-hours Casino and is the ideal base to explore the southern part of Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Ponce Golf And Casino Resort
Hilton Ponce Golf Hotel Ponce
Hilton Ponce Hotel
Hilton Ponce Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing