We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel may not be for everyone, however, if you are looking for a place to totally unwind and just simply relax I would encourage it. It is also a wonderful place for families with children as there are many activities to do. We were at the main pool for a few days and it did get a bit loud with all the kids. It was spring break afterall for many of the families there. We then decided to go to the pool at the Costa Caribe club which is a short shullte away and the peace and tranquility were amazing. The ocean breeze and service was all fine. I thought the food xcellent and the price very fair. Lunchg buffet for $18.00 was a very good value considerig all the different selections available. I also thought the dinner buffet at $29.00 was also a geat value and the food very good. The staff at the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful. stayed in the Executive room a great balcony and view of the Carribean. The room was spotless and had plenty of space to walk around as well as nice dressers for clothes. Plenty of storage. Slept with the doors open and listened to the crashing waves. This was a vacation where we just wanted to relax and enjoy the climate. pool and beach. All was accomplished. The Casino was also very nice and left with a few $$$ in my pocket. If you are looking for a place with a lot of action and nightlife, this is not it. However, if you seek, good food, relaxing atmosphere then I highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,005 - 1,011 of 1,616 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is pretty, nice pool, nice beach, very comfortable room. If you are planning a romantic stay using room service or front desk; don't. They don't really care if your romantic plans go through or not.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Karmarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel has both pros and cons. Pro: very family friendly. Our children loved it. You can do all sorts of things on the property. The rooms with the garden are nice. The food is delicious. And the staff at the restaurant is very nice.
Cons: this hotel has a serious guest relations problem. Whe we got there after having booked 2 rooms with a garden 2 months in advance and having received 2 emails welcoming us to the Hilton in the weeks leading up to our stay, it was very surprising to get there and learn that our reservation was not in their system. It was even more surprising when the employee told us that the hotel was sold out and we couldn't get the rooms we had booked. After spending an hour talking to the employee and after several phone calls with the invisible manager, we got the best surprise of all: a last-minute "cancellation" allowing us to finally get the rooms we had booked. Needless to say that the promise of a free breakfast made by the employee was never fulfilled and an email to the manager was never replied to. This hotel should know that the first impression is always the one that lasts. The beach is also unimpressive. All in all, this hotel is definitely not as good as the Hilton San Juan.

Room Tip: Choose a room with access to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeancosme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPonce, Director of Sales at Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear jeancosme:
I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. I truly apologize if this was the case and I can assure you that I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve our in-property experience. We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize that we did not provide you with the level of quality that you are accustomed to receive from us. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure that your feedback is incredibly important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration.

Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in town.
Sincerely,
Jose Caro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This property is a mixed bag of pros and cons. If you're looking for a luxury beach holiday, then this may not be right for you. If you're in Ponce area for golf/business and want to let your children run wild, then you're in luck.

The UNGUARDED beach is small with rough, rocky surf and churned up waters; the sand is dark graphite color. The pool/recreation area is great for kids, but for relaxation-minded adults I'd recommend boarding the shuttle van to the neighboring Costa Caribe pool. Caution: one afternoon, despite repeated calls, I waited 40 minutes.

Sitting poolside, we had to work hard to flag down staff for service, and water coolers were either empty of without cups. Zero beach service. One must sign for a beach towel, when available, and carry a receipt which warned of $25 charge for unreturned towels, hence, one becomes weary of leaving one's towel behind.

Foodservice in the resort is expensive and mediocre, highlights include $4 per single piece of fruit such as a banana or orange. There was no Puerto Rican fare offered, save the yellow rice-n-beans which only appeared twice during my 5 day stay. We ate at the upscale restaurant La Cava once, where our steak was nearly 3/4 inedible fat. The sushi bar was good, and the nighty $18 bar-be-que dinner was OK, but when one walks to the buffet table, one is met with bins of raw pork placed directly beside (as in touching) the clean plates and silverware. Yes, all five nights. Ponce is 5 minutes away and your only chance for Puerto Rican cuisine - but the city center is dicey at best.

Coffee is $4 ala carte in the morning, but free in the casino.

Again, that's $4 for a single cup of coffee. $7 if you want it delivered to your room.

My oceanfront room had a view of a tennis court, workmen sleeping on the beach loungers, stray dogs, iron security fence (which was never locked), palm trees and then some peeks of the Caribbean. Check out pictures of the rooms before you book - some are stuck in 1980. My room in the east tower was recently updated, but not it's bathroom. Housekeeping was excellent.

The drive from SJU is appx. 1 hour 40 mins, and the hotel charges for parking. Fly into Ponce directly if available, cabs to resort cost appx. $20.

Pros: overall fun to be away with friends, good weather and $4 rum drinks, friendly guests, jovial atmosphere, updated room, iguanas sunnin' themselves

Cons: doesn't feel like Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: Executive tower stuck in 1980's
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferAer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

You know what you are getting when you stay at a large Hilton property. You are stuck on location with expensive food and OK drinks. 2 days at the Hilton Ponce was just enough. Executive tower with breakfast buffet was good. Parking close by was perfect. Buffett breakfast was extra-ordinary. Made to order waffles, omlettes was wonderful. Coffee was a great way to start the day. Dinner wasn't that great. $17 burgers was a tad pricey and the steak was just bad. Did enjoy happy hour with $4.00 mojitos. Thank God we has a car as we went off site for lunch/dinner the remainder of our stay.

Walking trail at the hotel was great, option for bike rentals, miniature golf and chess was a plus. Loved the beach. Yes, it was a small stretch, but still lovely. The pool was a tad crowed for our liking. Our room offered a balcony where sitting outside to hear the roar of the ocean was wonderful.

Took the shuttle over to the golf club. Quiet pool and great place to walk along the beach. We could have stayed longer, but didn't have our bathing suits on.

We did go to the pier, with a car just a few minutes from the hotel. Loved the food!!! Fresh conch, octopus and shrimp salads. Emanadas were wonderful. Great drinks...lunch AND dinner for three was less than $30.00.

Not sure if I would stay here again...but did have a pleasant experience. The staff was great...just wished our room was ready before 5pm.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekperigin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Hotel was great. We had the breakfast buffet two days in a row. Its a little pricey for breakfast but the food is great and there is excellent variety. The other days we went off into town to eat at local bakeries and cafes as well as restaurants around town. The pools and available sports activities for guests are great also.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Carlos J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have to travel to Juana Diaz for Business trips more that twice a year. Without doubt it is the best Hotel in the area to stay. The hotel facilities are nice and the area is well maintained. You can bring your family with you to enjoy the hotel facilities while you work.

Room Tip: Specify in your reservation your room's preferences
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lei2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
41.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
40.1 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
62.7 mi away
Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar
48.4 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
48.3 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort

Address: 1150 Caribe Ave., Ponce 00716, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range: $194 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort is a tropical resort facing the Caribbean Sea, within a secluded location in the picturesque city of Ponce, Puerto Rico's second largest city. This full service resort offers a 27-hole championship golf course, variety of bars and restaurants, a 24-hours Casino and is the ideal base to explore the southern part of Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Ponce Golf And Casino Resort
Hilton Ponce Golf Hotel Ponce
Hilton Ponce Hotel
Hilton Ponce Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing