We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't get married there!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsauken, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't get married there!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Don't believe what you see on the website for weddings!!! Let's start with my wedding coordinator who only replied to my emails in Spanish when I requested English. POOR COMMUNICATION... She lied about the gazebo, when one could have been provided, said it was broken. Website pictures should add a disclaimer that the pretty furniture you see is not their furniture but rented. As a Bride looking online, I was misled by the pictures on the website…that’s my case.

Day of my wedding fiasco...

My decorator arrives at 9am to see my tables and chairs were not set up. So I called management and the ball gets rolling. Due to tables and chairs getting set up my decorator asked if the outside seating was available...The outside seating did not get decorated because Hilton did not set up chairs until one hour before wedding...geesh the stress the place has caused me! So i lost money on flowers and seat covers. oh almost forgot. I supposed to get married near beach and pool. Pool and beach was well over 50 yards away...it's all about location, location, location!!!

It gets better...wedding party starts. While entertaining my guest my 17 year old daughter gets alcohol poisoning from the bar since in Puerto Rico the requiring age is 18! Even younger were served booze!!! :( When I pointed this out to management they made me feel responsible and made it seem like this happens often. If I'm the Bride when did it become my job to ask minors for id??? unbelievable!!!!

My contract stated my guest will receive champagne and wine. No wine was served to guest and the took our food before my wedding party was over... asked for a manager on duty to speak to and waited over an hour for no one to come. Food was ok from what I tasted but since they took the food. I left hungry after my wedding.

After I spoke to management 2 days after my event and they made me feel like it was my fault for not hiring a wedding coordinator...my question is what is my wedding coordinator do then?? I did flowers, decorating , DJ photographer and cake??? Just take my money???

I work in the hospitality industry too...and when any of our Restaurants hold a wedding reception...the coordinator is there to make sure things are done for the location. Nothing from my coordinator. SELFISH!!!

Thank god I married by best friend...he was more stressed than me.

Still waiting for someone to contact me from Corporate...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lateenachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPonce, Director of Sales at Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
First of all, thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us.
I thank you for selecting our hotel for such a special occasion as your wedding and truly apologize that we did not meet expectations. I wanted to take this opportunity to apologize again in regards to the issues you encountered during your stay, as we already had the opportunity to review your concerns in person before your departure from the Resort, and actions were taken to somewhat mitigate your dissatisfaction.
I totally regret that that we were not able to deliver quality service you expected for your wedding.
Once again, I do apologize for any inconveniences you may have had and I hope the next time you return to the area you consider staying with us again, using the Complimentary Stay Certificate we offered you and your husband.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    457
    193
    94
    51
See reviews for
486
400
26
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This exquisite Hilton is located on the beautiful beach on Ponce. It is quiet yet offers lots of amenities, the rooms are comfortable and spacious and the staff gracious. You can hear the ocean lapping from your room and the beach is large enough to go for a long walk or just relax and enjoy the quiet. Even though the hotel is very large, it absorbs all the people well and it never feels crowded.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Executive Suite which is quieter and any level besides the ground floor has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolgies6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This resort was just beautiful. The entire staff was very nice and helpful with any related questions you may have.

Loved being able to use wifi by the breathtaking pool and Caribbean.

Resort is very kid friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at Hilton Ponce over the holidays, and it was a very nice & relaxing stay. The pool was fantastic, and the Hilton provides all kinds of free stuff for the pool area (tennis rackets, bikes, pool balls, etc). We had a ground level floor so we could walk right out of our patio to the pool/tennis courts, and we still had a view of the ocean. It was perfect. The grounds were clean & well kept, and everyone that worked at the resort was very friendly.

We had access to the Executive Lounge since I'm a HHonors Diamond Member, so we got free continental bfast in the morning & drinks/snacks from 5-7 in the evenings (weekdays only). Note: beer & alcoholic drinks are $5-$7 in the exec lounge, but the rest of the stuff was free.

Room Tip: We loved our ground level room because we could walk straight out to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PackerFanaticFromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Ok stay room was normal Hilton accommodations, lookout from room was calm and quiet. Can,t understand why I would drive that far from airport to stay at a place that,s rate 7th on Tripadvisor. Roads were in bad shape if you like dodging pot holes. I usually grade a hotel by service, cleanliness, and atmosphere....but I would give hotel such a high rating when the Marriott, Conado, or Intercontinental were much better. If you want to go here it,s quiet no nightlife and its a family style place. Oh by the way if you use your credit card for extra charges it takes a month for the hotel to remove incidentals, which is poor for customer service.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view of ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vmaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonPonce, Director of Sales at Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
First of all, thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I was disappointed to read from your review that you found our property to be inconveniently located and that you had some issues with some credit card charges not being refunded sooner. I truly apologize if this caused you any inconveniences, but this appears to be a normal procedure of the local banks when placing a hold on your credit.
I can assure you that our main priority is for our guests to have a good experience while staying with us and I very much regret if we were not able to deliver this to you. I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience and I will keep your review in mind. Even though we do offer some limited entertainment at the Hotel and around Ponce, it is true that the San Juan area offers much more variety and action for the nightlife avid travelers.

Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area, should your expectations change to a more relaxing a calm experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Spent a few nights in the Ponce Hilton just before Xmas. Our family of four enjoyed the breakfast which featured a huge, sumptuous buffet which included eggs made to order, including omelets. The resort had a dance show in the center area on one of the nights we stayed which we enjoyed. The dancers ranged from age 9 to about 28 years old. Very well choreographed.

There is a casino at the hotel, but it is unobtrusive. We enjoyed the 16 hole mini-golf. It was one of the more diffciult mini-golf courses we had ever encountered. The golf course closes early (was it 6pm??) so be sure to ask the hours. There were also bikes, tennis, pool with slide, water area which kids love where the water sprays up from different areas where you stand. It was all so delightful--including the hammocks placed here and there between palm trees offering quiet places to rest. The sandy beach was small, with cushioned chairs nearby.

The room we stayed in had a balcony overlooking the pool. I believe all the rooms have balconies and are beside the pool. The balcony had a small table and two chairs so you could enjoy your coffee and newspaper in the morning. Free wifi was also to be had and a television with lots of channels--both English and Spanish.

You definitely needed a car to get to town. We went every day we were here to King's ice cream which is across the street from the famous firehouse. Try the coconut ice cream--superb. The ice cream is made daily. The store next to Kings has plenty of well priced souvenirs of PR including viejigantes, and dominos. I prefer this store to some of the tourist shops in San Juan.

We stayed in San Juan last year for Xmas, and enjoyed it, but the stay at Ponce was quieter, and the pool area was lots bigger. We can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 4okay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

While in Ponce visiting family, we stayed at the Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort. They have everything. You can rent a bike and ride all over the resort or play putt putt golf, play life size checkers, ladder golf, and volleyball. They even have hopscotch. They will set up a net in the pool if you want to play water volleyball. Sunbathing is awesome on king size beds with pillows and oversized chairs by the pool to sunbathe in. If you're hungry you can just order food while sunbathing. They provide plenty of chairs to sit by the beach on. Caja de Muerto can be seen from the beach and the sunrise over the island is picturesque. They have a casino for the adults to play in and an arcade section for kids to play. If you like to play golf they have a beautiful golf course to try also. This hotel is highly recommended!

Room Tip: Make sure the balcony doors are closed securely or your air condition will not work. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
48.3 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
48.1 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,658 reviews
48.4 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.3 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
53.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
62.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort

Property: Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort
Address: 1150 Caribe Ave., Ponce 00716, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An extensive beachfront resort strategically located minutes from downtown Ponce, with easy access to most business and tourist attractions and landmarks of the South and Southwest Puerto Rico regions, like Castillo Serralles, La Guancha, Guanica Dry Forest, Cabo Rojo and Ponce Museum of Art, Ponce Airport and Sea Port. Amenities include direct beach access, championship golf course, 24/7 full service Casino, fitness center, rooms and suites with balconies and ocean views, and an ample range of meeting and banquet venues with business center support. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Ponce Golf Hotel Ponce
Hilton Ponce Golf And Casino Resort
Hilton Ponce Hotel
Hilton Ponce Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing