We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Puerto Rico Plaza” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza of Delights (Plaza de las Delicias)

Plaza of Delights (Plaza de las Delicias)
Book In Advance
More Info
$175.00*
and up
Ponce Historical City Tour
Ranked #8 of 37 things to do in Ponce
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ponce’s main square has enough to keep you busy, from historical sites to boutiques.
Milford,Pa
Level Contributor
354 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Great Puerto Rico Plaza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I always visit the Plaza in Ponce while visiting Puerto Rico. The cathedral, fire station, Kings Ices are worth the trip. The buildings surrounding the plaza are beautiful. During this trip the plaza had several painted lions (Ponce's Symbol) painted by professional artists. Several historical sights were open and worth the visit. On our last visit we noticed that the police cracked down on the beggars and on this trip only two beggars asked for money and walked away politely.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Milford_PaMooseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    52
    20
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very historic and beautiful.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Plaza is fun day and night. We were there on a Friday and Saturday and enjoyed the sights and relaxing atmosphere. Check out Lola and King Crème!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cindyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful plaza, but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

The immediate plaza is very beautiful. Wonderful sights to see. However, the beggars can get annoying fast. I didn't notice this too much the last time I was in Ponce, but it was kind of a hassle this time around. Don't mean to sound like a snob, but sometimes you just want to sit and enjoy the beautiful views or enjoy a tasty ice cream cone, but you will be interrupted by several beggars semi frequently. Ponce is not what it once was, unfortunately. I hate to say it, because I love Puerto Rico, but sadly it's true.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ParentheticalGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
“Ponce es diversión”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Ponce is fun and the travelers can find place of interest to all the family: restaurants, pubs, theater. The trolleys service will translate to meet other point of interest near the city. Other place to visit is La Guancha. Remember Ponce is Ponce!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mmdedos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love Ponce!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

First visit to Ponce and can't wait to come back! I was looking for souvenir shops and I found a great one in Ponce! Also was looking for quenepas and found them in Ponce too! Delicious! Maybe I didn't go to the right spot but the beach was more mangrove but it was still beautiful and the water was great! The lions in the plaza were fun photo ops and the Parque de Bombas is a classic Ponce site! Driving around, loved the colonial buildings....right up my alley!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank adripink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza of Delights (Plaza de las Delicias) also viewed

 

Been to Plaza of Delights (Plaza de las Delicias)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing