We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Value, Had a Nice Time!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dorado
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Sands Villas
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Great Value, Had a Nice Time!”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We just returned today from a 6 day stay at Golden Sands Villa in Dorado. The property is very nice although I do agree with other reviewers that the suites could use some updating. The sleeper sofa has seen better days and should be replaced but it was a very comfortable 1 bedrm suite. Super spacious with all the amenities you'd need. There is a moisture problem at this hotel and I did notice mold although not in my suite. They should invest in a de-humidifier, would be well worth it. Pool is amazing and very well maintained. Beach was kind of gross the first day but when we went back a few days later it had been cleaned. We opted to go abouy 1/2 mile down the road to Sardinera Beach which is a free public beach. The town of Dorado has very little going on, thank God we rented a car and were able to go to Rio Grande, Old San Juan and some other places. I believe it would be in the property's interest to invest in entertainment of some type because outside of the casino there's nothing to do. Offering tours or something would be a good idea. The staff was super nice, everyone from maintenance to front desk to housekeeping. We ate twice in the restaurant Member's Lounge, it was just ok especially after eating great PR food in the city. This is a good place for families because the suites are huge and you can store food cutting back on need for eating out all the time. We will definitely be back with our kids.

Room Tip: Rent a car! Property gets super busy on weekends with locals, gets noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mistiblu1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    24
    19
    7
See reviews for
28
34
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

The resort is beautiful.....Its located in Dorado which is an okay town. They have alot of food, and shopping right outside the resort!! The casino right across from the hotel is small but nice and the drink are free and strong!! The beach was nice and clean and we were able to rent a paddle boat for $15-$20. The property is clean and the employees were very polite!! The only bad thing is we had to pay $10.40/day for parking, and its about 35-40mins from the airport depending on traffic. We had a rental from enterprise which was only $60 for 4 days.....which was well worth it!! Cant wait to go back!!

P.S. Booked through Jetblue Getaways and only paid $715 total for the hotel and airfare for me and my husband from NYC and it was worth every penny!!!

Room Tip: The Studio room is just a regular hotel room w/ balcony, fridge and microwave but if u need more spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shauntay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Just returned from the Golden Sands Villas two days ago where I stayed with husband and two children-ages 13 and 9. We rented a car to get there as a shuttle would have cost our family almost $500. The traffic coming from San Juan was outright dangerous and would never risk the safety of my family again. We come from a small town but husband is used to driving in a city from years past (Detroit). There is no words to explain the craziness of the traffic. The Hotel reminded me of a Ramada Inn or Econo lodge. Our room was clean. The check in was quick and we were upgraded to an ocean front room with a subtle hint. The negative with the hotel was with the housekeeper lack of stocking our room with towels. I had to go down to lobby to request towels (they sent our towels up in less than 10 min each time). I recommend bringing a few washcloths as they were always out of them. The pool is gorgeous and cleaned daily by a company that comes in to clean it. Water was as fresh in the morning as bottled water (my opinion). The beach was decent. Safe for people, including children to swim in. The beach is a public beach. There are wonderful small palm trees to sit under. The beach is not on the caribean side. We drove over to Cabo Rojo (south-west side of island) to see one of the nicest beaches in the world according to the locals. Next to the hotel is a restaurant that serves Asian food that was awesome. We ran up quite a large bill for the four of us but had left overs for lunch the next day. The pool bar at the hotel serves good food but expensive to eat there daily. Our rental car come in handy as we drove to the grocery store and bought most of our beer/rum and food for the week for about $200. That saved us considerably. The hotel is located in a secure neighborhood that has double security to get into. Once you are checked in you will have a card that scans when you drive in and out. The hotel is approx 1 mile to the grocery store, Walgreens, and Pizza Hut. If you rent a car, bring your own GPS. That was the life saver for finding our way around Puerto Rico. A paper map wont cut it. This Hotel is a great value for the price. I felt very safe at this hotel and would return there again. I am not sure if I would go there is I was a young couple looking for a crazy time. The hotel is perfect for families or couples who enjoy peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Request a room on the fifth floor or higher and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiffcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

No internet in the room; had to go to the lobby to connect. Charge approx 11 dollars a day for parking. The room I stayed in was spacious and clean but as noted in a few other reviews dingy sheets and towels. Pool was well kept but beach is public and some garbage lay about. Overall very relaxing place that I did enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkMandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2012

resort was lovely. pool and beach provided relaxation. room service a bit shakey, short on towels.

Room Tip: rooms ovelooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryDWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Splendid! Everything was excellent. We really enjoyed our stayed at the villas, It was great and the hotel is not far from the airport. People and staff very nice and with respect. Trying to help as much as possible. Parking is not free. But the place is a wonder.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lourdes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This property is great for people who want beach, pool and average amenities. The hotel is located not far from the airport.. But costs 60 dollars ONE WAY to get to the hotel. Cheaper to rent a car (although they do charge approx 10 dollars a day for parking at this hotel). Amenities are sparse but in the surrounding area there are many places to eat (mostly fast food). Room was in okay condition... The room I stayed in was very spacious and clean as well as the pool and beach. Over all for the price of this property I would go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorado
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
12.9 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Levittown
0.4 mi away
Aquarius Vacation Club at Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort
13.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Villas

Property: Golden Sands Villas
Address: 201 Dorado Del Mar Boulevard, Dorado 00646, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Dorado
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Dorado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 77
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Villas Hotel Dorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing