We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Propery in Puerto Rico!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Alexandria, VA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Awesome Propery in Puerto Rico!”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We spent 10 glorious days at the fabulous Dorado Beach Ritz-Carlton Reserve. From the minute you arrive until you leave, they go out of their way with wonderful service-one of the best we have experienced anywhere in the word! Everyone greats you with a smile, most by name. They give you little coconut popsicles at check-in, which is fast and you are zipped to your room in a golf cart.

We were in a regular king room-very spacious with a balcony and great views of the beach. The accommodation's were fantastic-big bedroom, nice king bed, indoor and outdoor shower(we used the entire time) nice big dressing area. The beach attendant was great- he set up our chairs, umbrella's towels and brought us a cooler with water. The pools are fabulous too-great service with water, drinks and treats in the afternoon. A guy rides around and gives out free coconuts to drink every afternoon between 1 and 2.

The restaurant's are wonderful-you start each day at Mi Casa with wonderful ladies greeting you by name- to the excellent breakfast table buffet. The buffet is great, lots of choices or you can order off of the menu. We also had great dinner's here-staff are well trained, food great and views to die for-especially at sunset. Our children loved the dessert's!

We also had great lunches and dinner's at Encanto- a lovely open air restaurant overlooking the beach. Wonderful and very friendly staff-Roland was especially nice! We did a wish candle one night-a fun thing to look into. There is also a nice pool and beach.

Positivo- another favorite- is nice for lunch but a little slow for dinner. The tables to get are right in the sand-worth the wait!! Great bar with wonderful drinks-love the Mango Daiquiri"s with fresh mango and the Frozen Moijito! The staff here are great - they greet you by name and go out of their way to accommodate you. Fabulous chips and guacamole!

I went to the spa-one of the prettiest I have ever seen! Great manicure and fabulous foot treatment-I could have stayed all day! Thanks Giovanna!

The hotel also gives you bikes to ride-a nice way to see the very extensive property. There is a fun water park and another beach to go paddleboarding, surfing or just to walk. It is nice and flat. There is also a small snack bar/bar to have lunch.

There is another restaurant called Zafra-up at the golf club. The hotel takes and picks you up in a golf cart. It is a nice alternative one night for a change of venue-we had a wondertul waiter! I wish I could remember his name.

We left the property one day for a tour of Old San Juan and the Bacardi Factory. A nice day with a very informative guide named Orlando. We had a nice lunch in the courtyard of El Convento Hotel.

We had a fabulous time at this property-one of the best we have ever stayed-up there with Sugar Beach in St. Lucia, Four Seasons Nevis, Sandy Lane in Barbados, Cap Juluca in Anguilla and Jumby Bay in Antigua! the grounds are beautiful-very lush and tropical. I miss hearing the coqui at night! They are the tree frogs that chirp at sundown. Highly recommend!! We were sad to leave but will be back!

Room Tip: We were on the west beach side on the second floor, nice balcony with nice and comfortable seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonesfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S, General Manager at Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Jonesfab,

I want to thank you for sharing your recent experience of Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve! We are truly humbled and delighted to hear that you consider the service at The Reserve as "one of the best that you have ever experienced throughout the world!" We pride ourselves in delivering gracious hospitality to all of our distinguished guests.

I have to agree that Mi Casa by Jose Andres is an outstanding restaurant and continues to garner wonderful reviews. Encanto, the open air restaurant is on the top of the list as well and I am happy that you had fun with the "Wishing Candle Ceremony", our guests always have fun with this experience.

Spa Botanico is definitely not to be missed and I appreciate your comments regarding Giovanna's manicure an fabulous foot ritual service.

Thank you again for your gracious comments and I look forward to personally welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

George M. Sotelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    117
    38
    19
    13
See reviews for
266
414
7
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
brooklyn NY
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Our plan was similar to that of another reviewer, go for drinks and /or a light bite and look the place over, wanting to see what they'd done with the old resort and whether we might want to consider staying in future. The other reviewer said they weren't allowed in as 'non-guests' and a phone call confirmed this, BUT...they must have changed their policy, because I phoned in March and was told by a very pleasant employee that one or two (I can't recall, but at least one..) of the 3 restaurants were open to guests, as long as we called ahead and said we were coming by; one required reservations, one did not. We arrived at the gate, gave our name and said we were heading for the Sand Bar (Positivo), and were told "have a nice time!" The valets parked our car, and this was the big 'cold water' - an $18 charge, no self-park options, and we hadn't anticipated this. Oh well, all in the cost of the experience, shrugged it off as we were there already, and intent on visiting. Have to say the place is gorgeous, grounds, units (from what we could see..), open lobby, pools, fountains etc. Positivo was a lovely 'sand bar' indeed, very very casual, we ordered up a couple of martini and bar menu concoctions, the waitstaff to a one was almost embarrassingly pleasant and solicitous. We enjoyed the sunset, took a stroll, and off we went. Just wanted to put this on here to counter the notion that they might diss non-staying customers -- we were treated very, very well. The menu looked nice, too, and not preposterously priced. We'd probably go back some evening for dinner, I would think, and iIf the budget allows, would love to stay for a couple of nights someday.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank bklynbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S, General Manager at Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Bkylnbiker,

Thank you for your recent post regarding your experience at Positivo Sand Bar located at Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve. The resort prides itself on being a private haven and exotic sanctuary for our resort guests hence one of the reasons why it has become a favorite. We also welcome and invite guests from surrounding resorts and the community to experience our innovative restaurants and lounges.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the martinis while having the sunset as your backdrop and hopefully have the opportunity to personally meet you in the future upon your return.


Best Regards,

George M. Sotelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We are here right now, and we don't want to leave. Seclusion and luxury. Every suite faces the ocean and beach. Gorgeous pools, stunning spa, service perfection. Smallest suite is nearly 1000 sq feet. RESERVE is the super luxury wing of the Ritz Carlton chain. The property is a world class paradise.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank travler153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S, General Manager at Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Travler153,

Thank you for you recent post of Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve.

We are delighted to hear that you did not want to leave The Reserve and that you throughly enjoyed the "gorgeous pools, stunning spa, and the service perfection".

I appreciate your comments and I look forward to personally welcoming you back to our exotic sanctuary in the near future.

Warm Regards,

George M. Sotelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This was the most gorgeous beach place to kick back and relax I have ever been. Beautiful beaches, great food, miles of walks on the property, overpriced and dreamy spa area. The
hotel rooms were to die for. The suites were bigger than most New York apartments and some had plunge pools and balconies. The bathrooms were large and gorgeous, the lighting made sense. The pool was warm, the cocktails tempting. I doubt I will ever be able to go back but I would in a shot. Just stunning, especially when the weather is 10 degrees in NYC and the streets are piled high with grey snow.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank newyorkanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George S, General Manager at Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Newyorkanya,

I want to thank you for your recent review of Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve. I am glad to hear that The Reserve was the perfect place to kick back and relax while avoiding the frigid tempratures of NYC..

The resort was built with the guests in mind and the reason that all of our accommodations are oversized and tastefully designed and larger than some apartments.

The resort offers rich packages throughout various times of the year and I would encourage to visit the website to explore them. I hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to the resort.

Warm Regards,

George M. Sotelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Amazing spot. We stayed at the ritz in San Juan and moved because it was not as expected. Beautiful beach and pool area. 5 stars for sure.

The rooms are amazing and the whole plantation offers plenty of activities for the whole family. Tennis, golf and bike rides- what else can you ask for. The food was absolutely amazing and our whole family had no complaints- which says a lot because we are quite particular.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Callieleeutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

On a recent visit to Puerto Rico to conduct a few hotel site visits on behalf of 2 clients, I had the pleasure of touring the Dorado Ritz Carlton. I had identified this property as a potential location for a small Corporate Incentive Trip and my instincts were spot on. Along the drive in we viewed the beautiful golf course which immediately set the tone. In addition to golf, there are plenty of things to do while the resort is able to maintain a relaxed feeling of serenity. Each guest room comes with a private ambassador to handle your every need (if you even have any). The rooms are appointed with delicate, upscale flair. The spa is quite unusual and gives you the feeling of being in Bali. The meeting space is nicely laid out with lots of windows, along with the ability to completely darken if necessary. This would be a perfect destination for an incentive trip or corporate meeting. It's also great for couples or a weekend getaway with friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MameNoonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlcrn
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I just got home and couldn't wait to write this review. Also, we are already planning our trip back next year. My husband and I go to Hawaii all the time, as it is easy to get to from LA. But this was our first time in Puerto Rico. I thought it would be our only trip there, then on to the next experience, but I was wrong. It is so beautiful there and this resort is amazing. The minute we drove through the gates we were in awe. It's beautiful. The grounds are so lush. It's what I think it's going to be like in Hawaii, but isn't. The reason is that Laurance Rockefeller owned this property and was one of the original conservationists. He wanted nothing built that was taller than a palm tree. The Ritz carries on that philosophy.
So, when we arrived, they greeted us with fruit popsicles, yum, and took us up to reception. The reception lobby is all outdoors with the most amazing view past the pool, palm trees to the ocean. Breathtaking. Then we are introduced to our "embajador'. I want to say that the embajador is like your assistant/helper/go to person while you are there. They aren't only yours, you share them with other guests, but it seemed like they were always right there when we needed them. Jimmy was there every day for us. He was amazing. He handled EVERYTHING without us even asking. He set up beach chairs, brought water, helped with directions, recommendations on dining. Anything. He was great. I will try to request him next year. Our evening embajador, Soraya, gave us a great tour of the property via golf cart, before taking us to our room.
Our room was BEAUTIFUL!!!! We had a first level room in building 1 on west beach with a plunge pool. It was fantastic. Big, comfy bed. Gorgeous bathroom with lots of natural light and an outdoor shower that we used every day! Also, there was champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries awaiting us for our anniversary.
We went to the Positivo Beach club for a casual dinner the first night. It is beautiful, casual and on the sand. Our server greeted us and asked our names. When we told her she said "Hey, Happy Anniversary". How did she know?? Crazy great personal service and attention to detail.
The pool is gorgeous. The spa was GREAT!! Go early in your trip so that you can go again. Bring your bathing suit and use the facilities. Get a tree massage!!
Take advantage of the free bicycles and take a tour of the Rockefeller trail. It's gorgeous. The gym is nice too. Try the fish tacos for lunch at the Encanto Beach Club restaurant. Yummy!! Eat at Mi Casa. Portions are not huge, but then I am an over eater! But the food is great! Original and unique and delicious!
I wish you could ask me questions if you wanted to about this amazing place. Because, I can't just keep going on and on. But, it's about the people. And they are amazing at this resort.

Room Tip: On the west end building 1 is furthest from the central resort area, so that involves lots of walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tlcrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorado
14.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
31.9 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
19.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,711 reviews
59.1 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,816 reviews
14.9 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve

Property: Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Address: 100 Dorado Beach Drive, Dorado 00646-2058, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Dorado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somewhere between idyllic and perfection sits a Puerto Rico resort of such intimate luxury and rare character, it calls to those who believe every journey should be a voyage of discovery. Once a 1,400-acre sugar plantation owned by the Livingston family, Dorado Beach caught the eye of conservationist visionary Laurance S. Rockefeller, who in the 1950s transformed the lush landscape into one of Puerto Rico’s most exclusive luxury resorts. With its serene coastline, private residences, spa sanctuary, golf courses and a harmonious sense of place that blends masterfully into the natural surroundings, Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve invites guests to arrive spellbound – and depart speechless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Prestigia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing