We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“second honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“second honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Recently returned from a three night getaway with my wife for our 20th anniversary. We had stayed at the property 18 years ago when it was Hyatt Dorado Beach. The newly Ritz owned property is as close to paradise as you can get. The first floor private plunge pool was amazing(had a corner room with a bigger pool) as well as the outdoor shower(makes you feel like you are in the middle of a rain forest)-very unique and classy. Was VERY happy to see that Ritz Carlton has kept the Rockefeller philosphy in its "no structure higher than a palm tree" policy. Even though the resort is brand new in every way, there is still the secluded, relaxing feel, so much that you really feel that you are there by yourselves(hotel was supposedly at 94% occupancy- but rarely saw any other guests on the beach or in the ocean). Mi Casa was a great experience for dinner- even though the $70 pitcher of sangria is a little tough to swallow. Jenniffer, our Ambassador was outstanding-bringing fresh ice every morning as well as, believe it or not, actually moving a large palm that had fallen from a tree so that our path wouldn't be blocked to the beach-(they think of every detail). My wife loved the tree-house massage from Daniel. The hotel had gotten word that we were celebrating our 20th and five minutes after check-in, delivered complimentary champagne, chocolate strawberries- as well as welcome letters in our room from the GM as well as ambassador staff wishing us a happy anniversary-very nice touch all around. Being in the hotel industry for almost thirty years myself and traveling extensively- can honestly say - I would really have to go out on a limb to find any issues or dissapointments. Can't wait to return .

Room Tip: Corner room first floor-West beach with a private plunge pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    89
    31
    17
    10
See reviews for
181
302
4
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I spent the past long Columbus weekend with my family (kids 7 and 9) and another family with kids 9 and 10. We also met a few other great families. We had been to Dorado over President's weekend so the kids were so excited to come back. I was a bit anxious to see how the property matured since it first opened. No other word than "wow!" The hotel looked amazing as all the landscaping was plush and grown. The service was crisp, polished, not too obtrusive and what beachfront luxury should be like. My wife (who has traveled the world and is a big spa person) said the spa and massage were the best she has ever experienced. Our biggest fights were whether we would eat at Encanto, Positivo, Mi Casa or barlovento so we went to them all and loved them all. The kids had Foosball tournaments in the Mi Casa lounge with their friends and other families while we savored the luxury called Jose Andres' food and drink. Breakfast on the terrace was breathtaking as the kids made us get the recipes for the waffles and pancakes (it says made with olive oil and amazing). But what really did it for me was the smiles on all of our kids faces as they hustled between surf and windsurf lessons, night swimming at the pools, the unbelievable waterpark and the private zumba class that was organized for them. My friend noted that he would normally travel 15-20 hours to experience what he did at Dorado Beach and he is right. Thank you Dorado Beach - for me and my kids!

Room Tip: I read that many like the rooms by the West Beach but we found our East Beach room much more private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Upon arrival al this gorgeous property you feel like a movie star. You get a special welcome at valet parking addressed by your name and then an Ambassador meets you, shows the property and takes you to your room. The villas overlooking the ocean and with a private plunge pool are just spectacular. We spend two nights, three days and would have loved to stay the whole week. So relaxing!!
Food is good but expensive. Service was outstanding.

Room Tip: Make sure to reserve a ground floor room as they offer the plunge pool. A must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaritzaToste123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful grounds
Nice new rooms but absolutely nothing special except outdoor shower-some easily visible from outside. Indoor shower with no enclosure like a cheap European hotel ensuring a wet floor in entire bathroom.
Lots of pious environmental rhetoric
We were there for multiple days and never saw a single solitary staff member at beach or pool. Help yourself to towels.
"Ambassador"staff is a farce. Only contact a 30 second phone message.
Staff generally very pleasant if you can find any.
Resort practically empty but unable to be flexible with rooms.
Exorbitant prices PLUS $100 "resort fee ". FOR WHAT? Never told about it what it covers and what it allegedly entitles you to.
If this place survives at these prices the recession is really over.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
21 Thank Trave4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We took a room by the sand beach on the ground floor with plunge pool. Allows you to really shut off. Far enough away from bar area at night for quiet. Outdoor showers wonderful.
Room and beach stunning. Staff still a bit awkward, hope they can iron this out.
Spa was out of this world.
Food by pool could have had a few more lighter options, was a bit heavy and greasy for the hot climate.
Will be returning

Room Tip: Plunge pool, ask for the sandy bit of beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the El Conquistador for 2 nights then we went hear for 2 nights. You can say there is a difference in two. One is Waldorf property, supposedly the top in Hilton's family and the other in Marriotts. A huge difference! This place is gorgeous! the only negative was the dinner one night at Mi Casa, it was not anywhere close to being the world class restaurant it's suppose to be. Really Expensive and ehh. We arrived there and our butler- ambassador showed us to our room, they were unbelievable and each room the windows/doors slide away into the walls for an unbelievable view of the water! There was plenty of seating outside and inside. The Bathroom was the nicest bigget you can imagine! double sinks clawfoot bathtub shower, toilet room and outside shower! The food was costly as was the hotel. The other nite we had dinner at Encanto which was fantastic! The beach was okay, but the pool was great as were the drinks. A great place to stay during the expensive season if you have an extra $15000 minmum for a week. We stayed the rate was only 699 per night! What a deal?

Room Tip: Any room, the top floor has better views, but the bottom floor has the plung pools,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at a condominium home at Plantation 3 (vacationing with friends, no children). It was within walking distance of the fitness club, water park and golf club, everything else was accessible by provided golf carts.
Don't miss the Fitness club, Spa Botanico, Water Park (only open on Saturday and Sunday during September - be sure to check on dates the park is open) and saline pool near the ocean cove. A man made reef breaks all large waves for pleasant swimming in the cove. Water sports available: kite surfing, paddle boarding, jet skis, kayaking . . .
This property has to be experienced. It is impossible to convey through words the beauty that will surround you at every turn. The level of service (concierge) was spotty at times, but we chose to relax and enjoy and not get uptight about the small stuff.
Without question, I would return.

Room Tip: Loved staying at the Plantation - we had a 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom penthouse with daily housekeeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank complexions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorado
14.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
31.9 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
19.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 14 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 stars 2,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.3 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
5.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 stars 2,430 reviews
59.2 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 stars 1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve

Property: Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Address: 100 Dorado Beach Drive, Dorado 00646-2058, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Dorado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somewhere between idyllic and perfection sits a Puerto Rico resort of such intimate luxury and rare character, it calls to those who believe every journey should be a voyage of discovery. Once a 1,400-acre sugar plantation owned by the Livingston family, Dorado Beach caught the eye of conservationist visionary Laurance S. Rockefeller, who in the 1950s transformed the lush landscape into one of Puerto Rico’s most exclusive luxury resorts. With its serene coastline, private residences, spa sanctuary, golf courses and a harmonious sense of place that blends masterfully into the natural surroundings, Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve invites guests to arrive spellbound – and depart speechless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing