We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury never felt so good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luxury never felt so good!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Dorado Beach Ritz Carlton Reserve, if given the opportunity, do it! I would definitely recommend a ground floor becuase you have ample room to relax on your terrace with a perfect view, soak in your luxury tub, private open air shower from the bathroom, lounge in your personal plunge pool, or just take a few steps to spend a little beach and surf time. It was a most relaxing and romantic weekend I can recall. The accomodations were beyond comfort, and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud.

Beyond the room, the pools were intricate and unqiue. It was fun to explore them. The staff were friendly and bent over backwards to assist. The food was amazing, and the drinks were all top shelf.

Dorado Beach Ritz Carlton Reserve is a treat you shouldn't miss.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room. It's well worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MRG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    117
    36
    19
    13
See reviews for
255
403
7
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Words won't due the Dorado justice, maybe that is why we took so many pictures! Spectacular rooms with gorgeous ocean view, private plunge pool that we never wanted to leave and loved the outdoor shower. Food was amazing and enough of a variety with the three restaurants on property. The Mi Casa bartenders were fantastic and even came up with some special drinks for us. The spa was very relaxing and the staff were attentive and professional for all our treatments. We played golf on the east course- hard to concentrate with several holes along the ocean. Ask for bikes when you check in and then you have them for your stay. Easy to arrange transportation to and from the airport through the hotel. Agree with some of the other reviewers that there were a few minor issues with the slow beach service, but several staff members went out of their way to make our stay even more memorable. Already planning when we can go back!

Room Tip: The private pool for your room was worth the splurge. We liked being on the su casa side of the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Golfer2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel is amazing! This was by far the best experience that we have ever had in the Caribbean. The hotel facilities are extremely beautiful. The common areas, the pools, the beach are all among the best we have seen anywhere. The service was also generally fantastic. Friendly and positive attitude by almost all.

A couple of things that were special:
1) The beach was beautiful and protected by rocks creating a very pleasant beach environment for the whole family
2) The food was very good at all the restaurants. The food at Mi Casa was excellent. Good food is hard to find in the Caribbean.
3) The waterpark (open weekends only) was a great treat for the kids and has a great lazy river and two large slides. Great design and no lines.
4) Ambassadors of the Environment kids program was great! My kids wanted to go back everyday (unfortunately they don't offer classes everyday)
5) The service (except the pool and beach - see below) was exceptionally good.

One area that could be improved would be the pool and beach service. Here, the service at the Ritz Dorado significantly lags other top resorts. We were there for a week, always set up our own chairs and had to actively seek out waiters for food and drinks. The service at Positivo, (the pool restaurant) was spotty. This was not a big deal to us, but it does not match the level of service throughout the rest of the resort. My advice to management would be to re-evaluate what they are doing in that area.

Overall, we had a fantastic experience. This is a special resort and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twosquares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Spectacular property-every room is beach front- with beautiful beaches and golf courses. We had one of the best vacations. The service is elite. Our 2 year old daughter landed with pink eye and the resort arranged for doctor to come to room to provide care. The hotel ordered and picked up prescriptions. Just wonderful!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Borijay51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Puerto Rico is not exactly St Kitts or Bora Bora, so my expectations were low, but the flights were convenient and we decided to chance it for a quick family spring break vacation. We were not disappointed. The hotel is a brand-new low-rise "Reserve" concept--new for Ritz Carlton--with no club lounge or any of the usual Ritz amenities. But what it lacked in predictability, the hotel more than made up for in unique assets. First, the property: situated on a sandy beach in a 1700 acre resort with several golf courses, an amazing spa and a private water park complete with slides and lazy river, free use of bikes to get around. Second, the service: great, personalized, attentive but not obsequious. Third, the food: not a bad meal the whole five days. Fourth, the rooms: lovely, ergonomically pleasing, ample. This must be the finest property in PR and one of the top 5 in the whole Caribbean. Highly recommend. TIP: rent a car. It's cheap and fairly easy to get here from the SJU airport (45 min), plus then you can drive around a bit.

Room Tip: Buildings 3 and 4 are mid-beach and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WrldtrvlrBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Paul, MN.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This resort was a true thrill to experience. The beauty cannot be captured adequately in photos, the grounds, the pools (2 to choose from), the spa, the beach with breakwater rocks to insure leisurely floats in the ocean all were meticulously designed to provide guests with the utmost sensory experience. Forbes magazine named it the 'must see resort' of 2013. I have to say I agree, go, put it on a bucket list. Treat yourself to some of the best food, service, comfort and ambiance a resort can offer. We really found none of the problems the other reviewers mentioned. It was a trip of a lifetime - even though it lasted only 4 days!

Room Tip: Ground floor ocean front, private plunge pool and outdoor shower was heaven and the waves crashing i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GigiSt_Paul_MN_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I figured out that I can spend every night of the rest of my life here - I'm about $15m short, but committed to working on it! You have to see the rooms to believe them. The beach is flawless, the dining options varied and less ludicrously overpriced than I feared prior to arrival.

I found the service quite excellent - I'm not really sure what people expect who have dinged it. Still, for up to $1700 a night, I guess you can expect whatever you like. The Spa is pretentiously over the top - possibly more appealing as a sort of excessively earnest comedic interlude. "Your masseur awaits you in the pineapple garden" - seriously?

Anyway, if money isn't an issue I don't know how you'd do better on PR. I won my trip here, so the $8k price tag for the 4 nights with incidentals wasn't my problem, but I'd be lying if I said I'd pay it myself ;-)

oddly, theBed was made of marshmallow and fluff - too soft for me....probably priceless and made of unicorn mane and otter fur.

My Top Tip - eat a dinner at Mi Casa - really interesting and well executed tapas on the grandest of scales - a definite high point!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank p9jxh6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorado
14.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
31.9 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
19.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 48 in San Juan
2,690 reviews
59.1 mi away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,797 reviews
14.9 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve

Property: Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Address: 100 Dorado Beach Drive, Dorado 00646-2058, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Dorado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somewhere between idyllic and perfection sits a Puerto Rico resort of such intimate luxury and rare character, it calls to those who believe every journey should be a voyage of discovery. Once a 1,400-acre sugar plantation owned by the Livingston family, Dorado Beach caught the eye of conservationist visionary Laurance S. Rockefeller, who in the 1950s transformed the lush landscape into one of Puerto Rico’s most exclusive luxury resorts. With its serene coastline, private residences, spa sanctuary, golf courses and a harmonious sense of place that blends masterfully into the natural surroundings, Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve invites guests to arrive spellbound – and depart speechless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing