We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our 4th Visit to HHDM” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Our 4th Visit to HHDM”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

In the immortal words of Yogi Berra, it's deja vu all over again. We love to come down here in the winter, since it's relatively cheap points-wise (Hyatt timeshare), the weather is normally good, the beach is nice, and we know what we're getting into.

As with all other visits, the ugly behemoth property next door is still there (now, according to the front desk, owned by Marriott... we were also told for the 4th time it'll be torn down by end of summer- not holding my breath on that). First impressions matter, and unfortunately the first thing you see as you drive up to the Hyatt is this overgrown, empty, unmaintained mess that's about twice the size of the Hyatt property. It would be nice to just ignore it, but that's impossible.

The rooms are OK but are really in need of updates and better maintenance. For example, our room had holes in the inner curtain in the bedroom, a small tear in the cushion on the couch, and a burn hole on the plastic cover on one of the dining room chairs. Regrouting needed on tiles in shower.... DVR wasn't connected to TV, which was discovered after trying to get a movie to play for about 20 minutes. And don't get me started on the wi-fi..... very inconsistent, often had trouble getting connected and extremely slow when on. Just examples of stuff you normally don't see in a Hyatt.

On the other hand, the grounds were well maintained and the staff was friendly as usual. Some asphalt has taken care of the potholes that were prevalent last time we visited, and it looked like the tennis courts had been improved. The fitness center, which is important to me, is about the same as last visits, just older. 2 of the 3 treadmills were out of service, but the ellipticals were fine. They could use additional weight plates for the Smith machine and higher weight dumbbells. The weight machines were OK but they could use a multi-exercise unit that coule provide more flexibility.

When you visit this resort, you really do need to rent a car. There's nothing nearby and a very limited menu at the outdoor bar near the pool. We did have breakfast by the pool one morning and it was very good and reasonably priced, but you need to travel into Dorado itself, which is a few miles away, for real restaurants. We typically visit a local grocery and just fix most of our own meals in the room.

I hesitate to mention this, but.... on one of the days we were there, a gentleman apparently collapsed and died in one of the hot-tubs. Unfortunately, the medical examiner (or coroner, or whatever they call it down there) wasn't available and they couldn't move the deceased until he was examined, so they put a bunch of crime scene tape around the hot tub area and posted a policeman there. The corpse remained, though, with a bunch of towels piled on top of his body for at least 4 hours until it was released. A very strange circumstance that spooked my wife when she saw the towels with arms sticking out of the pile.

Again, we like this resort for its availability and nice weather, but I would warn visitors about the relative lack of entertainment/food options and the giant abandoned property next door.

Room Tip: The higher the better, since the lower floors get some noise from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    228
    97
    47
    33
See reviews for
243
173
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crest Hill, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

The town of Dorado, which is where Hyatt is located is an "okay" area. Most of the places of interest are at least 30min or more away. We spent much of the time driving to places to see. The staff was very friendly, but there were a few maintenance issues that were requested a few times, but were not completed. The pool area and beach is pretty nice. There is an old hotel next to the Hyatt that has been sched for demo (5+yrs or so ago) that has not been completed and a huge fence is covering it... if you look through it it seems like a scene from "Lost" with vines and trees growing out from everything.
We had a corner room with a large balcony overlooking the pool area and if you lean far enough out you could see the beach. The gym was decent, nothing fancy. Equipment and weights.
My advice would be to locate a hotel central to the places you would like to visit so you aren't spending precious time during your trip driving.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are worth the effort as the large, long windows allow for extra light and the balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

My wife has been a member for the past 30 years. When we arrived, the room was not ready. Complimantary nothing for having to wait. The excuse, dorry the hoyel is full. We were greeted eith calypso music. Not music from puerto rico. No disabled parking. The room had a strong tobacco odor that persisted during the stay. Be careful with children! Room service only once a week. No wifi. Only hbo. The "restaurant" is a kiosk with beer. The sundry pricrs are not for the fainthearyed. But wait! The day is not over yet!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rafcolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

If you like staying next to a prison, visiting with the homeless or feel the sudden urge to visit a slum while you are on vacation you are selecting the right place!

Funny how all of the photos of this property are carefully taken to NOT show the 6 foot high rusted chain link fence separating you from the abandoned and closed for 8+ years Hyatt Cerromar Hotel where hundreds of Puerto Rico's homeless now call home...

Apparently Hyatt doesn't care about its time share owners and has let the value of these time share units fall to near zero. Many of the properties were abandoned and are now sitting unoccupied and available for almost free. The units were originally selling for $18k to $60k depending which week you purchased, now you can buy a full week for $1500 or less, just remember you will be expected to pay the Hyatt Vacation Club $1500 or more annually for the right to own such a mess and those fees go up 8 to 10% annually, so 3 years from now you'll get the privilege of paying $2500 per week to watch this once very nice property fall into disrepair.

Maybe Hyatt could invest a few thousand dollars into tearing this eyesore down and restore some of the original integrity to this property.

Shame on you Hyatt for even still keeping your name on this property. This is no where close to what people expect from a Hyatt property. Do the right thing and abort this abomination!

Room Tip: Most views offer the special the abandoned hotel next door view. If you're lucky you can get a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sarayaniinbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We just finished a 5 night stay at the Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar. I read the reviews on this property before my trip and expected a very nice stay. I was surprised and dissappointed by the result. Why was my experience so different? First, I didn't fully realize that a Hyatt Vacation Club that is NOT attached to a Hyatt hotel is very ill equipped as a resort destination. Many other vacation clubs benefit from the amentities offered by the hotel -- whereas this one is not. So be careful about booking this place thinking this is a "HYATT". Our particular issues:

1. Property is very dated and need of a major renovation. Furniture is old, chipped, not in very good condition. Rooms are very small and only have queen sized (maybe even double) beds. Elevator and hallways are also in need of a clean up and update. Pool bottom seemed very dirty and we really didn't feel like swimming there.

2. Internet does not work. At all! They said it was getting fixed. But my take is that the staff is misleading its guests. It probably never worked well and they keep on saying it will get fixed soon (and hope the guests go away).

3. There is only one restaurant that is a "poolside" type place with a very limited menu and opens only at 8:30. So good luck if you need breakfast. Since there is no attached hotel and the Dorado resort is miles away from anywhere, you are literally stuck.

4. Beach is ok but water is blue and not very clear. The best beaches are on the eastern side of the island. Perhaps a good place to chill and sit but not good for swimming.

5. The resort is quite far from civilization both in a micro and macro sense. It is 30 miles from San Juan, 45 miles from Farjado and even within Dorado, its a 6 minute drive (or about 6 miles) from any restaurants. If you come here, renting a car is a MUST.

So the bottom line is this. If one is to pay $300 night for a room at peak season, it has to have something going for it! For example, a great world class beach (NOPE); a great resort complex with lots to do and good restaurants (NOPE); a great location nearby to attractions (NOPE). The Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar doesn't meet any of this criteria. But I do understand that if you are a Hyatt Vacation Cub owner and are locked into a stay, then this may be the only option. But if I were an owner, I would really push Hyatt to fix this place up.

Room Tip: Spring for a 1 bedroom suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank calgarytraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Six couples for a 50th Birthday celebration! Have been there before, and we were not disappointed. Located at the hotel is a bar beach hut that serves breakfast and lunch/dinner (same menu) There were a lot of us so service was a little slow, but the food was fresh, and served hot. Friendly staff. Showers in the rooms are in need of an update, however, the rooms were all clean. Request an upper level room so you have a view of the ocean. We had a view of the middle of the trees! The beach is beautiful, completely private. The old hotel next door is an eyesore, but we are used to it from our previous visits. The staff is more than accommodating, giving great recommendations for local restaurants and things to do in the rain! Jocelyn was especially helpful! It was a great time, and will be back again.

Room Tip: Request upper levels. You will have a nice view of the ocean. Also, try to stay in the main buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OffWeGo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

This Hyatt is a Vacation Time share property. The Hyatt hotel next door along with the lazy river pool are fenced off and have been closed for over 8 years. If you can ignore that - it's a little odd, it's still a very nice property. These are one bedroom units with full kitchen and living room and the option to add a second efficiency (bed/pull out sofa/kitchenette microwave sink dishes). These units have a common entry door and then separate locked doors in a shared foyer. So, if two couples go together you can have privacy and share the cost of the two bedroom unit.

The beach area is amazing soft sand good for a short walk on the beach. The resort is on the Atlantic side, so was rough while we were there in November. There is a large pool, kiddie pool and two spa whirlpools (one wasn't heated properly - the other one was).

You have to drive for other activities so you should rent a car if you want to stay. Grocery, fast food (Krispy Kreme/Burger King/Subway/KFC etc) and a few good restaurants are within 5 miles. San Juan is 45 minute drive with traffic. Take your GPS or use one on your smart phone - not a lot of signs. Within an hour are the Camuy Caves, Observatory, El Yunque Rainforest, other beaches. We wanted to see the Bioluminescent Bay. November is the last month, unfortunately after contacting tour operators for all three locations the week of Nov.17th they said that the organisms had inexplicable disappeared. You could still do the nighttime kayaking for half price, but they were clear that you would NOT see anything.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are best and you have to be above the 6th floor to have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorado
3.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
16.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.1 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
16.4 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
16.1 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar

Property: Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar
Address: 301 Carr 693, Dorado 00646-2205, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Dorado
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty and charm of Dorado, Puerto Rico in luxury. Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar, A Hyatt Residence Club invites you to experience paradise and true serenity at this beachfront resort, located just 25 miles from San Juan and situated on the famed Dorado Beach. Your worries and cares will drift out to sea with the warm tropical breezes as you soak up the sun on our private beach or poolside. Play a round of golf at one of the nearby championship golf courses or rejuvenate with a spa treatment at the Spa Del Sol. Plan a day trip to the El Yunque Rainforest or soar through the skies like an eagle hang gliding. Fun in the sun awaits with nearby water sports including windsurfing, jet skiing, snorkeling, kayaking, catamarans, deep-sea fishing and horseback riding. Visit historic Old San Juan founded in 1591, explore the Camuy Caverns–third largest cave system in the western hemisphere–or take a free tour of the Bacardi Rum Distillery. Let our friendly, professional staff take care of arranging your activities both near and far. Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar features spacious studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom beachfront accommodations, some of which include full kitchens and jetted spa tubs. Enjoy on-site amenities like tennis, mini-golf, basketball court, sand volleyball court, game room and a state-of-the-art fitness center featuring LifeFitness equipment, free weights, exercise cycles, and treadmills. Enjoy lunch and your favorite tropical drink at the Blu Bohio Bar and Grill or take it surfside if you wish. At the Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar on Dorado Beach, you'll discover all the fun, sun and excitement that have made Puerto Rico a legendary getaway. Please contact the resort directly to reconfirm your reservations if necessary. This is a non-smoking resort. Guests must be at least 21 years of age to check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar Hotel Dorado
Hyatt Hotel Dorado
Hyatt Resort Dorado
Hyatt Dorado
Hyatt Cerromar
Dorado Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing