We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelente!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excelente!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here with both of my children. Staff eagerly helpful and the beach on site was amazing. Very relaxing environment. We rented a car to go around town. Went to el Yunque, Culebra island, did the Bacardi tour and took ferry to old San Juan. The best part was watching our spurs games in our room. Our kids loved it and would highly recommend this hyatt to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for 5th floor and higher... From 3 rd floor could not see ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    234
    98
    47
    33
See reviews for
248
178
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Fran
Level Contributor
120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Two of the resort buildings are being renovated. When I read that comment I was worried. No need to worry. The renovations are completely separate from the renovated buildings and the construction is behind a fence.

Dollar to value is very high! The resort is gorgeous. They have two pools and two hot tubs. The pools look brand new and the staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The beach is right out your front door and the water is always warm.

The basic rooms have a small sink and refrigerator with tons of utensils for opening drinks or food.

The exercise room is included and the food is good for simple resort fare. The restaurant is not a highlight, but passable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank semimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

The beach was lovely, private and satisfied our desire for ocean breezes, sun and palm trees. We had a relaxing week - yes the decor was dated just like the reviews said. It was very clean, the beds comfortable and the grounds were beautiful and also well maintained. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

We enjoyed having the restaurant on site. Yummy burgers or wraps for lunch, eggs for a beachside breakfast and drinks for happy hour. A real plus!!

Certainly a car is needed for getting to and from local restaurants and to the grocery store. Overall a very positive experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank girlsbeachclubest05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Despite the fact that hte Hyatt Cerromar is closed, the Hacienda del Mar Hyatt timeshare is still a great place to visit. The beach is still great and the staff are very friendly. Best of all, the staff gave us great recommendations for local restaurants of all different types of food. And golf at the Plantation golf courses is still very nice. Rooms ast the first building are supposed to be getting new furniture later this year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I read the reviews and all I can say is we enjoyed the Hacienda del Mar and that some people either are impossible to please or they don't do their homework before they leave home.
Bad news first: the bedspreads are ugly. The decor needs an update. That's it on the negative side.
Good news: right on the beach. Scrupulously clean rooms and pool. Grounds are lovely. The staff is wonderful! They are completely bilingual, and they know Dorado and many PR attractions well. We got terrific restaurant recommendations every night and spot-on directions for going into Old San Juan (follow their advice and use the ferry to avoid driving in OSJ) and el Yunque.
If you do your homework you can avoid the cost of sky high taxi service. Car rental for a nice Nissan Sentra was $19/day, free parking at the Hacienda del Mar. Also, this is NOT a hotel, it is a time share, so there is no room service nor daily maid service. With a full kitchen you can prepare meals if you like, or just keep your beverages cold. If you do your homework ahead of time you won't be disappointed.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Dee52NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
153 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

If and foremost, you need to rent a car at the airport. Shame on me for not investigating more before our trip. The cab ride is $62 to the Hyatt and $75 back to the airport. The Hyatt has nice grounds, landscaping, beach and pool. They only have one restaurant on the premises and that is a shame since they have a nice building that could have a great restaurant location but instead they have pool tables in there. The closest other restaurants are 5 miles away. An $8 cab ride or again, rent a car. The staff was very accommodating and polite. We did have to wait to check in (4 pm check in) and we are not sure why since there were only about 20 families at this huge resort. The rooms are tired. The furniture needs updated and is not very comfortable. The beds are some of the worst I have slept on and I travel over 100 nights a year with my job. The TV's are old and reception is bad. Water stains on the ceiling, plumbing needs attention and bed linens need to be replaced. Needless to say, I doubt we will go back. The highlight of the trip was a trip to Old San Juan. If you go, take a rental to Catano and take the ferry, .50 each person each way. Once you land in OSJ, you can jump on a free trolly and tour the city. Jump on an off as much as you like. You must see the Forts, they are very impressive and full of history. Back to the Hyatt, there is an abandoned hotel next door, (the Marriott has purchased and will start to rebuild over this summer) You really do not notice it since there is a green fence around it. If you go and want to eat local, try the Metropol adn Fracco Pizza. Both places have good food and are welcoming. Bypass the Greenhouse in Dorado. We ordered a few drinks and apps at the Greenhouse and since we did not order an entree, we were treated in return with poor service. We noticed that with some other customers as well. The Greenhouse was playing a music video of Marc Anthony on all 4 TV's and that was very nauseating..
Overall, the trip was OK but considering that we pay close to 1k for our maintenance fee annually at the Hyatt, I equate this trip costing me 1k, which in my opinion is not worth it. Puerto Rico is a great destination with great people that welcome tourist. I do not believe that we would return to the Hyatt in the near future..Since I am a Marriott Platinum Member, we may visit the "New" Marriott in the coming years..

PS When you are at the airport leaving for home, make sure you get your bags scanned at the USDA Agricultural before you head to the Ticket Check in counter, otherwise you will be in lines longer than you want.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was a great trip!!! The hotel was a fine hotel. It's on the beach that is uncrowded with lounge chairs and tables for the taking. There are snorkel areas right there, jet ski rentals, beach toys or just soaking up the sun. Nice water and nice beach that is easy on the feet, no shells. It's a great beach resort. Hotel bar and grill steps away from the pool or beach that served a diverse menu. Not a wide menu but something for everyone. I'm not a fan of 'bar food' and there were some tasty dishes for me. Good drinks and the staff was wonderful. We especially liked Erica. The rooms were very comfortable with a balcony in each suite. Good water pressure int he shower which is important for us. We had a 2 bedroom lock out which was perfect. View of the ocean, yes obstructed by palm trees, oh darn, but right there. Very tropical, very nice, we loved it and would recommend to anyone. Close to local grocery stores, restaurants. Even a local person we met would recommend the area.

Room Tip: If you like to be on a hgh floor, go for that if you can get it. Better view of the ocean. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorado
1.3 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
16.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
16.2 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
37.6 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar

Property: Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar
Address: 301 Carr 693, Dorado 00646-2205, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Dorado
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty and charm of Dorado, Puerto Rico in luxury. Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar, A Hyatt Residence Club invites you to experience paradise and true serenity at this beachfront resort, located just 25 miles from San Juan and situated on the famed Dorado Beach. Your worries and cares will drift out to sea with the warm tropical breezes as you soak up the sun on our private beach or poolside. Play a round of golf at one of the nearby championship golf courses or rejuvenate with a spa treatment at the Spa Del Sol. Plan a day trip to the El Yunque Rainforest or soar through the skies like an eagle hang gliding. Fun in the sun awaits with nearby water sports including windsurfing, jet skiing, snorkeling, kayaking, catamarans, deep-sea fishing and horseback riding. Visit historic Old San Juan founded in 1591, explore the Camuy Caverns–third largest cave system in the western hemisphere–or take a free tour of the Bacardi Rum Distillery. Let our friendly, professional staff take care of arranging your activities both near and far. Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar features spacious studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom beachfront accommodations, some of which include full kitchens and jetted spa tubs. Enjoy on-site amenities like tennis, mini-golf, basketball court, sand volleyball court, game room and a state-of-the-art fitness center featuring LifeFitness equipment, free weights, exercise cycles, and treadmills. Enjoy lunch and your favorite tropical drink at the Blu Bohio Bar and Grill or take it surfside if you wish. At the Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar on Dorado Beach, you'll discover all the fun, sun and excitement that have made Puerto Rico a legendary getaway. Please contact the resort directly to reconfirm your reservations if necessary. This is a non-smoking resort. Guests must be at least 21 years of age to check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar Hotel Dorado
Hyatt Hotel Dorado
Hyatt Resort Dorado
Hyatt Dorado
Hyatt Cerromar
Dorado Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing