We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great relaxing week with girlfriends!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great relaxing week with girlfriends!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The beach was lovely, private and satisfied our desire for ocean breezes, sun and palm trees. We had a relaxing week - yes the decor was dated just like the reviews said. It was very clean, the beds comfortable and the grounds were beautiful and also well maintained. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

We enjoyed having the restaurant on site. Yummy burgers or wraps for lunch, eggs for a beachside breakfast and drinks for happy hour. A real plus!!

Certainly a car is needed for getting to and from local restaurants and to the grocery store. Overall a very positive experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank girlsbeachclubest05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    236
    100
    48
    33
See reviews for
252
181
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Despite the fact that hte Hyatt Cerromar is closed, the Hacienda del Mar Hyatt timeshare is still a great place to visit. The beach is still great and the staff are very friendly. Best of all, the staff gave us great recommendations for local restaurants of all different types of food. And golf at the Plantation golf courses is still very nice. Rooms ast the first building are supposed to be getting new furniture later this year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I read the reviews and all I can say is we enjoyed the Hacienda del Mar and that some people either are impossible to please or they don't do their homework before they leave home.
Bad news first: the bedspreads are ugly. The decor needs an update. That's it on the negative side.
Good news: right on the beach. Scrupulously clean rooms and pool. Grounds are lovely. The staff is wonderful! They are completely bilingual, and they know Dorado and many PR attractions well. We got terrific restaurant recommendations every night and spot-on directions for going into Old San Juan (follow their advice and use the ferry to avoid driving in OSJ) and el Yunque.
If you do your homework you can avoid the cost of sky high taxi service. Car rental for a nice Nissan Sentra was $19/day, free parking at the Hacienda del Mar. Also, this is NOT a hotel, it is a time share, so there is no room service nor daily maid service. With a full kitchen you can prepare meals if you like, or just keep your beverages cold. If you do your homework ahead of time you won't be disappointed.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Dee52NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
153 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

If and foremost, you need to rent a car at the airport. Shame on me for not investigating more before our trip. The cab ride is $62 to the Hyatt and $75 back to the airport. The Hyatt has nice grounds, landscaping, beach and pool. They only have one restaurant on the premises and that is a shame since they have a nice building that could have a great restaurant location but instead they have pool tables in there. The closest other restaurants are 5 miles away. An $8 cab ride or again, rent a car. The staff was very accommodating and polite. We did have to wait to check in (4 pm check in) and we are not sure why since there were only about 20 families at this huge resort. The rooms are tired. The furniture needs updated and is not very comfortable. The beds are some of the worst I have slept on and I travel over 100 nights a year with my job. The TV's are old and reception is bad. Water stains on the ceiling, plumbing needs attention and bed linens need to be replaced. Needless to say, I doubt we will go back. The highlight of the trip was a trip to Old San Juan. If you go, take a rental to Catano and take the ferry, .50 each person each way. Once you land in OSJ, you can jump on a free trolly and tour the city. Jump on an off as much as you like. You must see the Forts, they are very impressive and full of history. Back to the Hyatt, there is an abandoned hotel next door, (the Marriott has purchased and will start to rebuild over this summer) You really do not notice it since there is a green fence around it. If you go and want to eat local, try the Metropol adn Fracco Pizza. Both places have good food and are welcoming. Bypass the Greenhouse in Dorado. We ordered a few drinks and apps at the Greenhouse and since we did not order an entree, we were treated in return with poor service. We noticed that with some other customers as well. The Greenhouse was playing a music video of Marc Anthony on all 4 TV's and that was very nauseating..
Overall, the trip was OK but considering that we pay close to 1k for our maintenance fee annually at the Hyatt, I equate this trip costing me 1k, which in my opinion is not worth it. Puerto Rico is a great destination with great people that welcome tourist. I do not believe that we would return to the Hyatt in the near future..Since I am a Marriott Platinum Member, we may visit the "New" Marriott in the coming years..

PS When you are at the airport leaving for home, make sure you get your bags scanned at the USDA Agricultural before you head to the Ticket Check in counter, otherwise you will be in lines longer than you want.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was a great trip!!! The hotel was a fine hotel. It's on the beach that is uncrowded with lounge chairs and tables for the taking. There are snorkel areas right there, jet ski rentals, beach toys or just soaking up the sun. Nice water and nice beach that is easy on the feet, no shells. It's a great beach resort. Hotel bar and grill steps away from the pool or beach that served a diverse menu. Not a wide menu but something for everyone. I'm not a fan of 'bar food' and there were some tasty dishes for me. Good drinks and the staff was wonderful. We especially liked Erica. The rooms were very comfortable with a balcony in each suite. Good water pressure int he shower which is important for us. We had a 2 bedroom lock out which was perfect. View of the ocean, yes obstructed by palm trees, oh darn, but right there. Very tropical, very nice, we loved it and would recommend to anyone. Close to local grocery stores, restaurants. Even a local person we met would recommend the area.

Room Tip: If you like to be on a hgh floor, go for that if you can get it. Better view of the ocean. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Florida
Level Contributor
176 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Yes, it's old -- but it's still a nice place to spend your vacation! I would have no hesitation to go there again! The entire hotel was very clean and the staff is wonderful! First, let’s describe “old” – maybe early 80’s style. You can tell the plumbing is old – it’s a little noisy at times – but nothing to interrupt your sleep! BTW, we slept great every night in very comfortable beds!

The location of this hotel can’t be beat. It’s a reasonable 45-minute drive from the airport – and driving isn’t so bad in Puerto Rico – just pay attention to lane-jumpers! The hotel has a gorgeous location! We didn’t spend much time at the small beach area because we drove all over the island! However, back at the hotel, we really enjoyed our evenings sitting on the balcony, sipping our Pina Coladas, expertly concocted by my husband! We had a highly competitive game Miniature Golf one afternoon on their very nice and well maintained grass & cement course. (No, I didn’t win!)

If the hotel would “thin-out” the palm trees -- & chop a few down! -- it would allow guests to enjoy more views of the ocean. It was windy while we were there in the second week of March, so the surf was very high with huge waves -- which sounded awesome!

Gerado at the front desk was extremely helpful when our friend’s arrival was delayed by 9 hours – thanks to American Airlines! He expertly answered every question we had, helped us with restaurant suggestions -- and he gave us a wonderful tip about the outstanding coffee served in the lobby each morning. Don’t miss it!

Room Tip: Like everyone else suggests, ask for a room on the 5th floor or higher for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CushyCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were very apprehensive to be staying for 10 days at the Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar after reading all the negative reviews. Yes--there is a need for updates. Yes--the ocean is beautiful. Yes--the pools are very nice for families with children. And the hot tubs were fine. This resort's diamond in the rough is their staff. Any request we had was taken care of immediately. The front desk staff was awesome---Thank you Nancy for all of your help. Our party of 11 felt very safe here, as it is off the beaten path--which was very relaxing after Old San Juan! It was a relaxing beach trip and not as bad as so many of the reviews said---a nice surprise.

Room Tip: Higher the room the better---6th floor or above. We were on the 8th floor and the ocean view was am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SueCurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorado
1.3 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
16.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
16.2 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
37.6 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar

Property: Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar
Address: 301 Carr 693, Dorado 00646-2205, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Dorado
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty and charm of Dorado, Puerto Rico in luxury. Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar, A Hyatt Residence Club invites you to experience paradise and true serenity at this beachfront resort, located just 25 miles from San Juan and situated on the famed Dorado Beach. Your worries and cares will drift out to sea with the warm tropical breezes as you soak up the sun on our private beach or poolside. Play a round of golf at one of the nearby championship golf courses or rejuvenate with a spa treatment at the Spa Del Sol. Plan a day trip to the El Yunque Rainforest or soar through the skies like an eagle hang gliding. Fun in the sun awaits with nearby water sports including windsurfing, jet skiing, snorkeling, kayaking, catamarans, deep-sea fishing and horseback riding. Visit historic Old San Juan founded in 1591, explore the Camuy Caverns–third largest cave system in the western hemisphere–or take a free tour of the Bacardi Rum Distillery. Let our friendly, professional staff take care of arranging your activities both near and far. Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar features spacious studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom beachfront accommodations, some of which include full kitchens and jetted spa tubs. Enjoy on-site amenities like tennis, mini-golf, basketball court, sand volleyball court, game room and a state-of-the-art fitness center featuring LifeFitness equipment, free weights, exercise cycles, and treadmills. Enjoy lunch and your favorite tropical drink at the Blu Bohio Bar and Grill or take it surfside if you wish. At the Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar on Dorado Beach, you'll discover all the fun, sun and excitement that have made Puerto Rico a legendary getaway. Please contact the resort directly to reconfirm your reservations if necessary. This is a non-smoking resort. Guests must be at least 21 years of age to check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar Hotel Dorado
Hyatt Hotel Dorado
Hyatt Resort Dorado
Hyatt Dorado
Hyatt Cerromar
Dorado Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing