We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average rooms/facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Hyatt needs a major renovation. The rooms are musty and outdated, but who's coming to Puerto Rico to hang out in a hotel room? Fortunately, the beach makes up for it. Beautiful, sandy beach - great for swimming. The pool area was nice but we didn't swim in the pool with the beautiful ocean right there. Not sure what the beach bar/restaurant was like - we made food in our kitchenette or ate out in Dorado.

The adjacent eyesore (old Cerro Mar hotel) is a little creepy. It's a pity they haven't done anything with the property, as it was a beautiful hotel in its heyday.

The staff were very friendly and attentive. My mom accidentally left her swimsuit at the hotel and the staff called us the next day to say they had found it and would mail it to her. They also had great restaurant recommendations.

All in all, we were glad we only spent two days here before moving on to another part of the island. The beach was nice, but expect bare bones accommodations. Not sure where our $20 per day resort fee (on top of room rate) was going - not much of a "resort."

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank MagKatCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 639 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

My review of Hyatt Residence Club Hacienda del Mar in Dorado, Puerto Rico is very mixed. First the good: beach, weather, beach, weather, beach, etc. You get the picture. If location is important in real estate, then this resort has it in spades!

Unfortunately, the physical property seems to be one of the most rundown timeshares at which I have stayed (I stay mostly at Marriott, Disney, Hilton, Four Seasons, and other Hyatt's). The pool is quite nice, but it is evident from the debris, hair, and floating scum in the southeast corner of the pool that it is not maintained at its best. The beach towel stand and the beach restaurant look as if they were meant to be temporary structures and are well past their prime. The two barbecue grills were dirty and broken, but were still usable.

The decor in the unit reminds me of the Miami Beach motels in the early sixties! And I don't mean Art Deco stylish. The kitchen cabinets and wood furniture in the unit look dated and are well worn, way past what I would consider acceptable by Hyatt standards. A small 32 inch flat panel TV is in the living room (seemed like analog reception, not digital), but the bedroom still had a tube TV. The bed linen shows wear with holes evident. The kitchen stove has four coil burners and a much stained front panel. The fridge does not have an ice maker, but ice is available down the hall. The coffee maker, blender and toaster all looked new. Worst of all is the shower area. It is dark and dank and in desperate need of grout and/or tile renewal. The shower curtain in the area was clean, but I can't remember the last time I stayed at a property that used a shower curtain in the master bath shower area instead of a glass door.

I'm really surprised that Hyatt has allowed this property to deteriorate to this level. The Hyatt Residence Club properties that I have previously stayed were much more upscale. If this property ever gets the complete renovation it deserves, it could become the crown jewel of the Hyatt Residence Club properties.

Room Tip: Recommend 6th floor and higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We made our third visit to the Hyatt in Dorado on a short, rather impromptu vacation from 2/9 to 2/12. As with last time, we had 2 rooms- a studio and a one bedroom unit which were adjoining.

The weather, which is why we're so fond of this location, was fine, with a day of partial rain and sunny/low 80s the rest of the time.

As far as the hotel and grounds, not much has changed since my last two reviews (see links below). Our last visit was 2 years ago, so since then they've added some playground equipment, which is a great idea since the weekends tend to fill up with families. They've also placed a giant inflatable slide thing in the swimming area in the ocean, which was sort of comical when we had our rainy/windy day and it beached itself.

The beach and the pool area are the major selling points for us. Although ocean swimming is allowed, not too many people take advantage of it and tend to just sunbathe. There are two hot tubs, bbq grilles, and various other amenities. The rooms are OK- not up to typical Hyatt vacation club standards, but acceptable nonetheless. The fitness center is decent, although the weight machines are getting a bit long in the tooth and the free weights are pretty limited (up to 50 lb. dumbbells, 240 lb. total barbell weights). Ample ellipticals, stationary bikes, and treadmills are available.

Overall maintenance of the property is OK- some of the rooms need updating, but the potholes we noticed last time had been repaired. We'd read some reviews that noted dirty pool water, but we think that was probably due to windy conditions blowing sand into the water. We saw the pool being cleaned daily and it looked fine to us.

Service was fine. We did have a problem with our keys, which took awhile to get fixed, but other than that the front desk and maintenance people were friendly and helpful.

The problem child of this property is still there: the decrepit 'sister hotel' just next door, literally adjacent to this hotel. It still casts an undesirable shadow over this site. The outside of the property (generally hidden with fencing, unless your balcony forces you into looking straight down toward it) is reverting to jungle state, the huge parking lot is a mess and 99.5% empty. The young guy who checked us in said that plans were in place to eliminate it, but we'd been told that two other times and it's still there.

Other than visiting the Amigo store for groceries and the local Applebee's, we didn't really venture into the surrounding areas. We come for the beach, and that's pretty much where we stayed. Previously we'd visited Old San Juan and the El Yunque rainforest, which you can see in my other reviews.

All-in-all, another nice visit. We'll be back, but we really hope that adjacent property will disappear.

Previous reviews:
http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g147322-d254380-r96416125-Hyatt_Hacienda_Del_Mar-Dorado_Puerto_Rico.html

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g147322-d254380-r56248577-Hyatt_Hacienda_Del_Mar-Dorado_Puerto_Rico.html

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was my first time at a time share hotel so this was an education, as well as a vacation. First, the setting of the pool area- with many large palm trees, a small kiddie pool, two outdoor whirlpool hot tubs, many lounge chairs and an extra-large pool - was quite wonderful and perfect for relaxation. At the other end of the pool from the hotel is a bar, where service is very slow but the food is good. Immediately beyond the bar is the beach. BE WARNED! There is a substantial current in the ocean and the beach drops off steeply, making it difficult at time to get out of the ocean. View is lovely, only three open-sided wide wood umbrellas for shade but very peaceful.

The apartments are well thought-out in terms of usage, with a Jack and Jill type toilet, shower and sink in a separate room from the bathroom with sink and tub - allowing more than one person to use it at a time in privacy. Kitchen is adequately furnished with dishes, pots and pans, etc. A very complete supermarket is just down the road so it's easy to shop for food. For those who want fast food, there are plenty of typically American choices nearby - KFC, Pizza Huts, et al.

If you like to eat out at night, there are a number of very good restaurants within a fifteen minute drive. And yes, it is very helpful to have a car while there as there is no restaurant on premises (aside from pool bar) and no evening entertainment.

The furniture in the unit is a bit tired, the tv in the bedroom has poor reception (although the one in the living room is fine), maid service is once a week (unless you arrange otherwise for additional money). A washer and dryer is in the vestibule outside each unit and that is very convenient, although they are small. Excellent, if expensive, golf is nearby.

All in all: perfect weather, lovely pool area, nice space....and I'd go back.

p.s. There is a children's activities coordinator and she comes around in the afternoon, gathering up kids at the pool for games in the community room. The kids enjoyed this and we enjoyed the quiet that settled over the pool then. Be aware that if there are lots of kids (holiday times and any times) the pool gets very noisy. There is no lifeguard and no one to shush them.

Room Tip: View of beach is best from newest buillding. Choose a higher floor so you can see ocean; otherwise...
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ChooseyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Was apprehensive before going to the Hyatt after reading all the bad reviews. Our experience was very good. The property is beautiful. Even though I had requested a unit above 5th floor which we did not get our 4th floor unit had a great view. The units are spacious and yes they are dated but that was not a problem because they were very clean and honestly we did not spend a lot of time indoors. We also had maid service midway through our stay. We are timeshare owners with Marriott and traded out through Interval for the Hyatt. Of course, Marriott timeshares are top of the line but I can honestly say this property was very nice and wouldn't hesitate to return. The staff were very polite and helpful. The beach was great! The vacant property next door did not distract us from enjoying our vacation. Yes, this is a place to just chill out. If you want night life look elsewhere. Many good restaurants nearby and you do need a car. For those who play tennis their courts are very well maintained. They do have minature golf which we did play. We had perfect weather. The food at the only bar on the property was good - had lunch there. All in all this was a great vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 936Pat71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I found the Hyatt to be a nice clean condo/hotel. The staff was freindly, especially Geraldo! The rooms were nicely decorated. You could not beat the view from our top floor, just gorgeous!!! OUtr one bedromm condo was spacious for the two of us.
The pool did have leaves and such floating in it but I would not say it was unsanitary. The tennis courts were open in the evening and lit up fine. The put put was not lit up very well.
The water slides inthe ocean were a very difficult swim to reach and very wavy ride once on the blow up slide. The water at beach is OK and the water gets deep fast with many rough waves.
The refridgerator didi not have an ice machine which would be nice. The video game room closes around 10:30.
The staff was very nice. I called to see if we would have maid service and they checked and said yes but when we returned to our room the hot tub was still a mess with soap scum. They then said cleaning the tub was not included. I thought this would be included for $240 a night plus a %20 resort fee for a total of $260 per night not counting taxes.
The hotel on the side that was not open is not that awful like other portray it but it does block the view a little. I enjoyed my stay there and would recommend it. It is just overpriced for what you get at $240 a night.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor for a wonderful view and building five has a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamamurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a resort to go relax and unwind.You will need a car because it is not in the town proper. The resort is comfortable and average in decor-needs to be updated.The beach was lovely and very enjoyable.We found the staff to be very nice and helpful.Got a great massage at the spa.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorado
3.6 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
3.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Levittown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
33.8 mi away
Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar
3.1 mi away
Aquarius Vacation Club at Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar

Address: 301 Carr 693, Dorado 00646-2205, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Dorado
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Price Range: $178 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty and charm of Dorado, Puerto Rico in luxury. Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar, A Hyatt Residence Club invites you to experience paradise and true serenity at this beachfront resort, located just 25 miles from San Juan and situated on the famed Dorado Beach. Your worries and cares will drift out to sea with the warm tropical breezes as you soak up the sun on our private beach or poolside. Play a round of golf at one of the nearby championship golf courses or rejuvenate with a spa treatment at the Spa Del Sol. Plan a day trip to the El Yunque Rainforest or soar through the skies like an eagle hang gliding. Fun in the sun awaits with nearby water sports including windsurfing, jet skiing, snorkeling, kayaking, catamarans, deep-sea fishing and horseback riding. Visit historic Old San Juan founded in 1591, explore the Camuy Caverns–third largest cave system in the western hemisphere–or take a free tour of the Bacardi Rum Distillery. Let our friendly, professional staff take care of arranging your activities both near and far. Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar features spacious studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom beachfront accommodations, some of which include full kitchens and jetted spa tubs. Enjoy on-site amenities like tennis, mini-golf, basketball court, sand volleyball court, game room and a state-of-the-art fitness center featuring LifeFitness equipment, free weights, exercise cycles, and treadmills. Enjoy lunch and your favorite tropical drink at the Blu Bohio Bar and Grill or take it surfside if you wish. At the Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar on Dorado Beach, you'll discover all the fun, sun and excitement that have made Puerto Rico a legendary getaway. Please contact the resort directly to reconfirm your reservations if necessary. This is a non-smoking resort. Guests must be at least 21 years of age to check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar Hotel Dorado
Hyatt Hotel Dorado
Hyatt Resort Dorado
Hyatt Dorado
Hyatt Cerromar
Dorado Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing