We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Certificate of Excellence
Hubbardston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing Family Vacation”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I was a little skeptical after reading the reviews on the Hacienda, but was pleasantly suprised. My family and I (wife and 3 children) have just returned after a week at the resort (1/19-1/26) and I do agree that it is a little older, but it was well kept. Our family has travelled to many destinations in the carribean and have never experienced a staff that was as helpful as those at the Hacienda.
I had read that the pool closes early, but this wasn't the case on our trip. We enjoyed the pool well into the evening without any problems ( We did ensure our children behaved appropriately). I also found in these posts that the pool and hot tubs were not clean, but again this wasn;t an issue on our trip, The pool and beach (beautiful) area were always clean and I personally witnessed staff patrolling and cleaning the area.
In closing, if you're looking for a relaxing vacation resort than the Hacienda is definitely worth looking into. It may not be as glamorous as some of the others, but the front desk staff go out of their way to ensure you get the same personalized service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jnason70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    247
    100
    49
    33
See reviews for
264
186
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

HACIENDA DEL MAR JANUARY 12-19, 2013

Before beginning the review of the Hyatt Hacienda del Mar, I must urge any visitors who are going to be renting cars in Puerto Rico to PLEASE rent the electronic highway transponders (similar to EazyPass) from your car rental agency. This is because there are toll highways in Puerto Rico, on which some routes ONLY allow transponder equipped vehicles to pass. And it looks like Puerto Rico is moving towards having all its toll roads being completely cashless in the next few years. So be warned.

Based on the many reviews of the Hacienda Del Mar (HDM) and having stayed there now, I feel there is one important distinction to make: the Hacienda del Mar is NOT a hotel as some people have called it and seem to expect it to be. It IS a time share resort working with Interval International. That means that the resort is NOT equipped with standard hotel features such as multiple restaurants and room service. So do not expect these types of services from this establishment.

The HDM has efficiencies with a mini-kitchen, and 1 and 2 bedroom units with full kitchens. The rooms are clean but, as others have said, they are showing wear. In our unit, there was some minor fixture issues, and one dripping shower head. The mattresses were great. The soda and ice machines, located on the second floor, did not all work. The internet access is now free (but I assume it is included in the $20/day "resort fee"). Two computers are available in the lobby with a shared laser printer. Each unit has access to a washer and dryer in the shared foyer.

The property is nicely laid out. Manicured lawns, lots of palm trees and numerous flowering bushes fill the property. While seemingly well kept, I feel that more can be done to add to the beauty of the location.

The beach, while gorgeous, has a bowl shape that lends itself to a strong undertow and there are no lifeguards. Whether on the beach or at the pool, there are numerous beach lounge chairs. The pool is nicely sized and is cleaned every morning (I watched).
The only restaurant at the HDM is the Bohio which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. It is a outdoor shack that serves good food but has a limited menu. When ordering, relax because each order takes about 10 minutes (unless you do the more expensive breakfast buffet). We liked placing our own orders because it allowed us to enjoy the breaking of the waves on the beach as we sat in the bar chairs.

All the staff are friendly and helpful. Knowing some Spanish helps.

Hotel surprises: The "green monster" fence separating the two properties gave us more privacy, fewer people with whom to deal with and a great wind break from the daily trade winds. Being on the ground floor was a happy surprise as it allowed us to go from our room straight to the beach, the pool, and Bohio's. And the view was just fine. To get beach towels, you have to go to the front desk to get wrist bands, then go to the towel shack and sign a room receipt. Losing a towel can incur a $25 fee.

We ate at Morena's (great food and service), Pika's (friendly neighborhood spot), Alberto's (wonderful menu and wait staff), the ChopHouse, Maná, Faccio's Pizza (hey, you've gotta feed the pizza monster once in a while!)(good pizza, btw!), and Mi Casa at the newly opened Ritz Carlton (very expensive but incredible!). There are plenty of eating establishments throughout the Dorado area. Breakfast is the hardest meal to "go out" for without going to the local McDonalds/Burger King/etc. This is where having your own refrigerator, toaster and coffee maker in your room allows you to make your own breakfasts using supplies from the local supermarkets (Amigo and Supermax).

Island surprises: you buy beer, wine and hard liquor at the local grocery stores (and even at CVS pharmacy!). Some liquor brands are not available anywhere on Puerto Rico (Canadian Club is an example) "Pan de agua" (literally "water bread"), used in many great sandwiches. Read up on it. Highway distances are measured in kilometers, but speed limits are in miles per hour. Go figure. Motorcycles WILL use the "open" lane between cars (what we call "the dividing lines"). And if you're at a toll booth, they WILL CUT to the front of the line. If more motorcycles arrive, they too will advance to the front of the line along with the other motorcycles. Very annoying.

So, in the end, and despite what you may think, we both found that the Hacienda Del Mar is a decent place to spend a vacation. We both think that 3.5 stars is a fair assessment of the property and services, even as a time share. We both know that at the price, it is a good place to vacation. And we hope to go there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeWiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Thank god the beach was gorgeous and thats all I can say. I mean where do I start? Oh yea, when booking your trip here, DONT LET THE WEBSITE FOOL YOU! Me and my family thought it would be beautiful with lots of amenities (slides, pools, restaurants etc.), your typical resort, right? WRONG! we got there and were sadly disappointed. There was one pool that was ice cold and had seaweed at the bottom, we weren't allowed on the beach, and the only restaurant on the property was a snack bar. I basically had to get my stomach pumped after eating the most chicken fingers I ever had in my life. For the next eight days, all I ate was chicken, pizza from applebees, and steak from a steakhouse, which was pretty good, except there was this creepy guy who kept coming up to our table and talking to us, and the staff didn't care. PLUS, the service at the hotel was awful. We complained about the lack of amenities and the concierge clerk shrugged his shoulders. 0 effort! Me and my family were so desperate to leave that we started gathering sticks to build a raft! never stay here! great potential but needs SERIOUS TLC!!! TAKE MY ADVICE!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolinesmith5823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2013

A friend and I went to the Hacienda Del Mar for the long MLK weekend. We loved the beautiful beach and comfortable room but the staff might as well have stayed home. We arrived after a long day of travelling very hungry and went to the bar and grill where we waited for over an hour for a steak and found out that the woman we ordered from thought we were ordering to go and made no effort whatsoever to find us. Overall the staff at the grill was lethargic at best and hostile at worst.

With one exception, Isis, the people at the front desk kept up the grill's claim to fame. No one at the front desk bothered to warn us that there was a festival in San Juan (we spent hours in traffic), bothered to tell us to book a tour in advance though we expressed interest, or even bothered to tell us that there would not be a person at the front desk until 7 am.

Essentially, staying at this facility was like having a very nice apartment. We were left to our own resources for the entire trip. The hotel phone line states "be prepared to be pampered." I'd recommend you be prepared to be on your own. This facility may be useful to someone visiting for an extended period who was very familiar with the area. I would, otherwise, not recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the fact that they had large rooms to accomodate more guests. I travelled with my wife, two sons, and sister-in law and needed some space. The hotel was a time-share facility, so the rooms are like small apartments. You have the option of having the entire unit which is split in two: one efficiency unit and one suite. All the rooms have a view of the beach. The facility is not used as much because the casino is closed and the water park is under renovation. This was fantastic for us because we went in December and had the whole beach to ourselves. Even the pools were hardly used during our stay. We spent an entire week there. The service and cleanliness was amazing. The location is far from most sites and therefore requires a bit more driving than if you stayed at a hotel in San Juan; however, we enjoyed the privacy. The hotel actually consists of several buildings and is on a large property that has plenty of activities such as an arcade, pool side bar and grill, tennis courts, basketball courts, etc. There was a fantastic restaurant across the street from the facility grounds that we also very much enjoyed. We definitely plan on re-visiting this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms in the center area have a bit of an obstructed view of the beach due to the palm trees. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and were very pleased. While it's not a super luxurious place, the amenities are great, staff is courteous and the pool and beach are wonderful. It wasn't crowded at all when we stayed here in September of 2011 which was great because there was always a good spot on the beach. The ocean was blue and clean and lovely and the hotel provides beach towels. There is an outdoor bar/restaurant between the pool area and beach that serves "bar food" (i.e. chicken wings, tenders, cheeseburgers, wraps, etc.). Nothing special about the food but certainly not bad at all. There are no shuttles here (that I remember anyway) so you would have to rent a car but we had no trouble getting around in a rental car. Noteworthy is that the hotel is not in walking distance to any restaurants or bars - in the car it's fine though. There are a couple of strip malls nearby with bakeries and fast food places but if you're looking for authentic Puerto Rican food you have to drive a few miles down the road to Terraza which has great food. Also noteworthy is that the hotel is directly next door to an abandoned hotel but that didn't bother us as we are not picky. There are green tarps all around the perimeter to mask the abandoned building. I may be mistaken but the abandoned hotel may be pictured on the left in the main photo of the hotel's Trip Advisor page. Again, I could be wrong but that may be an old picture. Once again though, not a big deal as the Hacienda del Mar is lovely and we had a great stay (even in the middle or Hurricane Irene we had no complaints).

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for an ocean view if that's what you want as not all are ocean view. We had to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancarina99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here for ten days and it was the longest ten days of my life. There was nothing to do but go to the beach and back to room. "boring"!! The website shows alot of accomadations that look really good viewing, but when you get their and ask about them they have closed. Sounds like false advertising to me. Save your money go somewhere else!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorado
3.6 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
3.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
12.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
12.8 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
33.8 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar

Property: Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar
Address: 301 Carr 693, Dorado 00646-2205, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Dorado
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty and charm of Dorado, Puerto Rico in luxury. Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar, A Hyatt Residence Club invites you to experience paradise and true serenity at this beachfront resort, located just 25 miles from San Juan and situated on the famed Dorado Beach. Your worries and cares will drift out to sea with the warm tropical breezes as you soak up the sun on our private beach or poolside. Play a round of golf at one of the nearby championship golf courses or rejuvenate with a spa treatment at the Spa Del Sol. Plan a day trip to the El Yunque Rainforest or soar through the skies like an eagle hang gliding. Fun in the sun awaits with nearby water sports including windsurfing, jet skiing, snorkeling, kayaking, catamarans, deep-sea fishing and horseback riding. Visit historic Old San Juan founded in 1591, explore the Camuy Caverns–third largest cave system in the western hemisphere–or take a free tour of the Bacardi Rum Distillery. Let our friendly, professional staff take care of arranging your activities both near and far. Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar features spacious studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom beachfront accommodations, some of which include full kitchens and jetted spa tubs. Enjoy on-site amenities like tennis, mini-golf, basketball court, sand volleyball court, game room and a state-of-the-art fitness center featuring LifeFitness equipment, free weights, exercise cycles, and treadmills. Enjoy lunch and your favorite tropical drink at the Blu Bohio Bar and Grill or take it surfside if you wish. At the Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar on Dorado Beach, you'll discover all the fun, sun and excitement that have made Puerto Rico a legendary getaway. Please contact the resort directly to reconfirm your reservations if necessary. This is a non-smoking resort. Guests must be at least 21 years of age to check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar Hotel Dorado
Hyatt Hotel Dorado
Hyatt Resort Dorado
Hyatt Dorado
Hyatt Cerromar
Dorado Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing