We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embassy Suites Dorado, PR- excellent trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Certificate of Excellence
montclair, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Embassy Suites Dorado, PR- excellent trip”
Reviewed March 11, 2006

We returned from a week at the Embassy Suites Dorado Del Mar, Puerto Rico on MArch 7 ( flight home was a nightmare thanks to Continental, but that's another story) I can't say enough good things about the hotel and staff- it's a perfect place for anyone looking for a low key, relaxing vacation in beautiful surroundings- beach is small but more than adequate if you just like to float around and cool off, pool area was large enough that you could actually swim around without crashing into people and the hot tub in a corner of the pool secluded by plants was never that crowded.

The staff kept our room immaculate - i would say to try a room on the upper floor as the weekend entertainment can get very loud- but if you close your inner door, you won't hear it-

although there were quite a few families with young children, we must have hit a week where the hotel wasn't fully booked because we were able to find quiet areas to retreat to. Free Breakfast could be busy but that varied and we were even able to grab one of the few tables on the little balcony area overlooking the gorgeous courtyard on several mornings. If you ask the cooks to throw the lukewarm pre-cooked meats and potatoes on the grill as they cook your made to order eggs, it greatly improves the meal-

The free cocktail hour was a nice littel break after a day in the sun, sefvice was good and drinks were premium brands. Not for big drinkers though- 2 per person limit- which was plenty for us.

Everyone working there, from the front desk to the kids who helped set up chairs and give out towels, seemed to really enjoy their jobs and get along with each other and would help with anything we asked. the restaurant across from the lobby, Oregano, had a good variety, good value and the food was better than we expected. Go into town to El Ladrillo for a treat- the local art on the walls is an extra plus- a little pricey but well worth it.

There are stores close by outside the complex - no problem finding things you might need- plenty of familiar chains around.

if you go to the Bacardi plant, ask about the ferry in CAtano and take that to Old San Juan for 50 cents- don't drive! the traffic can be brutal and there's no place to park- you can grab a cab once there or walk up to El MOrro-

Just be careful if you drive not to miss the turn off as you get close to Dorado- get good directions, as there is no sign for Dorado going west from the airport once you get off the main highway- exit for Dorado is right after toll -

if you aren't looking for lots of action on the premises, this is a great place to use as either a relaxing hideout or a central location to travel to other nearby tourist sites. but we found the grounds and hotel itself to be so inviting, we didn't leave to do any sightseeing for 5 days!

Don't bother going to the Casino at the Hyatt with the free shuttle - disgusting, smelly and run down- not worth it!

Helpful?
13 Thank Bloomfield_NJPhyllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    549
    305
    137
    89
See reviews for
844
422
30
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NEW YORK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2006

Stayed 02/03-02/20. Excellent staff all around. local restaurants Mangiare,Las Pedrillas,not sure of spelling and Mare,not sure. were very good. Relaxing no wave beach,pools and hot tub great. skip the $15.00 breakfast. Had a room that was supposed to sleep 4,cant happen. Too small for 4. Went to the caves,took the ferry to old San Juan,spend the day. Bacardi rum factory. Mostly relaxed on the beach sipping adult beverages soaking in the sun. great vacation

Helpful?
7 Thank magzsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2006

This was our first trip to Puerto Rico and we Loved it. The hotel was clean and all of the staff were helpful and friendly. The complimentary breakfast is all you could want. If you like to drink you can save money between 5:30 and 7:30 free drinks!
I would recommend renting a car. You are on vacation so travel at off peak times and the traffic is fine. I golfed every day right at the hotel. The greens are terriffic and the layout is very nice. The 10th hole gives a great view of the Atlantic Ocean. I was first to tee off, if you like to golf early,7am. The course was not crowed on any day.
You have to eat at the El Ladrillo restaurant right in Dorado, it is great. The waiters and staff are wonderful, they played a guitar and sang a few songs for our anniversay. It was delightful. It used to be a train station and now a great place to eat some local food and see fine art. (-)elladrillorestaurant(-)
The rain forest El Yukai is 45 mins away but worth the trip. I would stay here again great golf, nice beach especially for kids because it is isolated and protected. 30 mins to Old San Juan, take the ferry from Catano it is local and fun. Roads are marked but directions will help.
Have agreat time and try some Mufungo!!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Lawrence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2006

Family of four with two teenage daughters stayed at Embassy Suites Dorado during Presidents week. Overall - above average experience. Great value. Well priced spacious suites. Suites are clean/fresh/well decorated. Despite of full hotel - never felt 'crowded'. Only exception - breakfast time - there could be 10 minute lines for made-to-order omelets etc.

Grounds well spaced. Nice pool. Small beach.
Extremely pleasant staff. Easy check in. Helpful front desk.
Wireless access on grounds (poolside, lobby etc.).
Parking adequate.
Two restaurants (in hotel restaurant - overpriced.
Other one - good food/well priced).
Would go back.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank agatsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2006

My husband and I have the dilemma of traveling with three kids. Most hotels will only allow four to a room, or have suites that will sleep five at outrageous prices. Embassy suites works for us because they allow five to a room. Having said that, this will probably scare away the the couples with no children who want to stay here, and it probably should. This place is loaded with children and teenagers! We spent eight days feb 20- feb 28th and we had a great time. The pools and grounds were really clean and we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The rooms could use a little sprucing up, the carpet and sofa were a little worn, but overall it was very clean, no mold or mildew etc. There really is no night life (the weekends have loud music in the center atrium you might want to ask for a high floor) or tons of things to do which is exactly what we wanted. We wanted a vacation where we could just hang out, relax and connect with our children and that is exactly what we got. I strongly suggest that anyone staying here for an extended time rent a car. Parking was never a problem for us, $7/day, we always found a spot. The walk to town (fast food, Walgreens, grande supermarket) is about a mile. We loaded up our cooler for the beach and refrigerator in our room and we bought snacks for the room and for hanging out on our terrace overlooking the ocean. By the way, the ocean is not the turquoise blue that you will see on other islands in the Carribean, not a big deal to our family but thought it was worth mentioning. Also, the ocean is more like a lagoon, very calm because of the rock jetties in front of it, which is great for younger children. If you want crashing waves, you won't get them here. There are sea urchins, I would definitely think of bringing water shoes. I felt the resort was safe, gated community, lots of friendly security staff, and we saw a lot of police presence in town(not needed, just patrolling). The complimentary breakfast was crowded but not crazy, and not horrible (how can you ruin an omelet?). The complimentary cocktails and snacks were great if you felt like winding down with a drink, you could drink them by the pool or inside the cocktail lounge. The pool grounds can get a little crazy on the weekends, the local owners come and stay with their families, but it was by no means out of control. The weekdays are just more quieter. I would definitely consider staying here again, I hope this review was helpful!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank nocake4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 27, 2006

We had a spacious one bedroom on the eighth floor of building two, with a nice balcony overlooking the ocean, pools, courtyard and mountains in the distance. Very nice to sit out there, especially since the laptop computer worked with a fast wireless internet connection - it did not work consistently inside the room itself.

The staff was quite pleasant and polite, parking was sometimes tight - once we returned and there were no spaces to be found at all, even in the employee lot. Other days it was almost full, so we found a spot right away.

Breakfast was OK, way too crowded and haphazardly organized and laid out. The breakfast staff tried but seemed overwhelmed. Perhaps it is better at 7 AM as the sign suggests.

The ocean beach is quite good for little children as the man-made breakwater keeps the water calm - keep in mind the water is only about three feet deep at the deepest and most of the bottom is rocky and a little rough on the feet.

Overall we liked it better than El Conquistador, where we stayed last year with the constantly out of service funicular driving us crazy.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester,NY
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2006

From Rob and Robby,Rochester,N.Y. My son and i stayed here the week of february recess and it never seemed crowded at all. everything from check in to check out went very smoothly . Some reviews mentioned the problems with parking and the so called cheap breakfast,but let me tell you,the parking is fine,if you rent a normal size car or a full size like we had there will be no problem at all.The ego people that rented the escalades,hummers,and luxury convertibles,like we saw ,well there you go . Each morning the fully cooked to order breakfast was one of the best i've ever had,you never went away hungry or dissapointed. The grounds are kept in top shape and the pool and beach were exceptionally clean .The crew goes out of their way to set you up with the chairs and towels and picks out the best spot to lay out. The two room suite was large,clean,updated and had a wonderful view of the ocean and pool area. No mold or bugs that people wrote of in their reviews .The woman who cleaned our room took great pride in her job ,especially cleaning up after a teenager..... The staff was very friendly and always wore a smile on their faces.If you play golf like we did all week ,you wont be dissapointed .Bring the camera for the tenth hole and the view of the ocean is breathtaking. We can't say thank you enough for the perfect vacation , and i mean absolutely no problems at all. On a final note i must say the staff,guests,and new friends we met, made this vacation one of the best,so thank you to all who stayed there through the week of february 25th. We have traveled all over the caribbean , and if we don't come back here next year ,i know we won't have the same experience somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank RobRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorado
1.8 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
13.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
12.4 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
12.1 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
13.4 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
Address: 201 Dorado Del Mar Boulevard, Dorado 00646, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Dorado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all suite beachfront resort in Puerto Rico offering a peaceful alternative to bustling San Juan, our beachfront resort is located in the charming town of Dorado, and only a short drive to the capital city. This relaxing retreat offers spacious two room suites and tropical views from your balcony. This resort also offers great value with free made-to-order breakfast and an evening reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Dorado Del Mar Beach & Golf Hotel Dorado
Embassy Suites Dorado Del Mar Beach And Golf Resort
Puerto Rico Embassy Suites
Dorado Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing