We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally good but with a warning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Generally good but with a warning”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Embassy Suites Dorado is generally very nice BUT with a few STRONG warnings.

First, the good: Beautiful facility, good breakfast, great manager's reception with drinks. Inside and outside courtyards great and very nice pool. Beach is marginal for swimming (seaweed) but OK for sunbathing and is safe from large waves due to a breakwater. Rooms are large and well maintained.

Second the warnings: Breakfast stocking of food items, forks/knives/spoons often lagged the demand substantially. Marginal beach (see above) as it is artificially created and not very nice sand and not groomed well. We were there over a weekend (Sat - Wed) and never really used the pool because of excessive noise due to music and large number of kids screaming. However the worst was the Sunday afternoon pool "DJ" that played music at ear-splitting volumes (until 5 PM) that were certainly in violation of any responsible health and safety standard. The management did NOTHING when we complained except for patronizing responses that resulted in no change to the music level. Our balconies overlooked the pool/outside courtyard and were unusable due to the noise. The worst however was a party in the conference centre that spilled into the outer courtyard on Saturday night/early Sunday morning that went on with earsplitting noise until 3 AM!!! keeping us awake. If guests did this in our rooms we'd be kicked out of the hotel but since it was some hotel sanctioned "event" it went on unabated. Totally unacceptable. The last warning is for housekeeping that left us with an uncleaned room until 5:30 one day and NO towels to shower after a day at the beach until after 6:00 PM. All we got was "they're coming".

So - beware - especially on weekends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robsaw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaias R, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear robsaw2:

On behalf of the management and staff we’d like to thank you for your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your business and thank you for selecting our hotel. At the same time we are disappointed to learn of your mixed feelings, as we always like to ensure that our guests feel cared for, valued and respected, which is our brand promise. Our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority and I assure you that we will definitely take your comments into consideration so that we may find ways to improve our hotel.

Thank you again for your review and we do hope that we may welcome you again in the future.

Isaias Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    541
    302
    134
    84
See reviews for
818
419
30
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We arrived at the Embassy Suites (ES) March 15th. After staying at two "less than desirable" places, arriving at the ES was akin to stepping into a small slice of paradise. My wife and I simultaneously gave up an unrehearsed sigh of relief when the luggage handler walked us into our 7th floor suite with a partial (yet stunning) view of the ocean.

The room accomodations were, for the most, outstanding. The minifridge was not working. But it was quickly replaced when notifying the Fronr Desk. The hotel staff was prompt and attentive when informed of other minor inconveniences.

I am compelled to mention a particular day in which we asked the duty housekeeper to defer cleaning to a later time. She pleasantly and respectfully asked me to initial a form authorizing the elimination of our room from her assignment list. I initialed the form and departed. We returned 2 hours later and saw the housekeeper a few rooms away. Knowing we'd be out for the remainder of the day, we asked if she could possibly clean our room upon our departure. Despite that I had earlier refused housekeeping services, the housekeeper assured me she would add our room back onto her assignment list. We were moved by her disposition and gave her a tip which she immediately refused. She accepted it after much insistance.

Good staff rendered very good service.

Dorado Del Mar Embassy Suites is definitely on our list of "Return To" places in Puerto Rico!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor facing east. Beielive it was room 2173.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chacho_Keva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaias R, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi Chacho_Keva:

Thank you so much for your awesome review, these are the type of reviews that definitely make my day, thank you so much for sharing, I will definitely share with the staff.

Hope I can greet you upon your return to the hotel.

Have a great day!
Isaias Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We just stayed at the Embassy Suites in Dorado, PR and had a delightful time. The buffet breakfast and made to order omelets each morning were fantastic, and we must have stayed during a relatively light period, because we never had to wait in long lines for our food. One morning, we were trying to catch the ferry early to Culebra, and we were able to get some food in to go boxes even though it was about 15 minutes before the breakfast was scheduled to get started. The front desk staff were friendly and accommodating, and were very willing to share their local knowledge about places to go and things to see. The rooms were nice and clean, nothing overly fancy, but perfect for what we were looking for on this trip. The beach was nice, though there are certainly much nicer beaches to explore on the island. But it was nice to be able to enjoy a day of our trip just relaxing and not having to leave the resort. We didn't play golf, use the casino, or eat at any of the restaurants on site so we can't really speak to those aspects of the resort. The location of the resort is quite central if you want to explore both sides of the island, but we ended up doing most of our trip on the east side (Fajardo bio bay, the rain forest, Culebra, etc.) and you have to pass through San Juan traffic every time you travel east, so that was the only thing we didn't really consider about when we booked this hotel. But all in all, we left with nothing put positive things to say about our experience here.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor far away from the elevator and never heard another person. We did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSB225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaias R, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hello JSB225:

What a way to start a day, I am delighted to read that you had all positive things to say about our hotel and your recent stay with us. Thanks so much for taking the time and writing this great review.

Have a beautiful day!
Isaias Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights here in March, 2013. I was there mainly for business and had little leisure time. The room was adequate, clean and pleasant. Breakfast was good but you have to select the time when you have breakfast - 7 am being the best time with least crowds. Happy hour is fantastic - a full free bar. Very nice location, with a beautiful little beach with white sand and clear water. There is a very nice hiking trail up the cliff to the right as you approach the beach from the hotel. Very nice pool area but there were some very weird people when we were there, who quarreled all the time with their kids. The area is safe and very beautiful with a great golf course if you play. Hotel service was very good. I just might go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the pool and ocean area. We had a room that overlooked the main entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ooskus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaias R, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Ooskus:

Thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I’m happy to read from your review that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I was especially glad to read that you thought our rooms were clean and pleasant and that you enjoyed our full free bar as well as our pool area. Our main concern is for all our guests to have a welcoming stay and I am thrilled that we were able to deliver this for you. Thank you very much for your business and I do hope that next time you are in town, you stay with us again.

Isaias Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

It was our first visit to the island. We were glad we decided to rent a car, so we could explore the island. This hotel was a great home base. Busy on the weekend, with various functions at the hotel, but very family oriented during the week.The breakfast was great! The coffee even better!
We also enjoyed the cocktail hour and nearby casino at night! A great vacation!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Honestly, I was expecting "good enough" resort for my family but this place is fantastic! My kids made friends at the pool everyday, staff couldn't be nicer and breakfast was great! They also had a complimentary happy hour every day, which was great! Live music during the weekend nights and just overall good times!
If you are looking a quiet place and don't like kids, look elsewhere but for families this is a dream come true!!!
Private beach is there but it is not sand ground so we did our swimming in the pool which was amazing. they also have paddleboats for rent.
If you are going to want to see more of the area you might want to rent a car- taxis are slow to get and there is no town to walk to (especially with kids) ..
I will be back many many times!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reeta1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaias R, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello reeta1810:

WOW, "Best Family vacation ever"? That is a huge compliment, I am happy we exceeeded your expectations, Great to read that we can expect many more visits, hope I can personally greet you in your future stays.

Have a great day!!!

Isaias Rodriguez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I are currently on our honeymoon. We actually got married at a Embassy Suites in North Carolina that upheld the expectations of a Hilton property. Overall, the outside appearance off the hotel here in Dorado is lovely (minus the dirty beach), but that doesn't prepare you for what you get when you get in your room. To me on a scale from 1 to 10 I would give this hotel a 3. The room is very run down, and I have to think twice about whether or not I want to put my bare feet on the floor. In the bathroom it's dirt underneath the sink, and the shower doesn't work all the way. The lamps in the room stopped working so my husband called for someone to come and replace them. This room could use a major face lift. We ate at the hotel twice, and twice we were disappointed. Overpriced and terrible. We have been to the evening reception everyday since we have been here. The drinks are good,but we are soooo tired of popcorn and pretzels. The embassy we stayed at for our wedding night had the same, but served quality snacks. Overall if I had the opportunity to. I would leave this hotel, and go stay somewhere else for the rest of our honeymoon. The only pro is that the hotel staff is pleasant.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovedj2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaias R, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. I truly apologize if this was the case and I can assure you that I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve our in-property experience. We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize that we did not provide you with the level of quality that you are accustomed to receive from us. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure that your feedback is incredibly important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration.

Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorado
1.8 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
13.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
12.4 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
13.4 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
13.2 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
Address: 201 Dorado Del Mar Boulevard, Dorado 00646, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Dorado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all suite beachfront resort in Puerto Rico offering a peaceful alternative to bustling San Juan, our beachfront resort is located in the charming town of Dorado, and only a short drive to the capital city. This relaxing retreat offers spacious two room suites and tropical views from your balcony. This resort also offers great value with free made-to-order breakfast and an evening reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Dorado Del Mar Beach And Golf Resort
Embassy Suites Dorado Del Mar Beach & Golf Hotel Dorado
Puerto Rico Embassy Suites
Dorado Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing