We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Careful with this hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Cheshire, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Careful with this hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We arrived for a 7 day vacation with confirmation in hand only to find that the hotel overbooked. We were given a taxi ride to another hotel which was a nightmare. Learned from locals that this is not uncommon at this hotel. Found this hotel physically beautiful, however, they lack the staff to provide hospitality you would expect. Crowds were loud at night in the hallways and lobby noise travels up to the rooms. The disco with live music continues late into the night keeping everyone awake. You are isolated from the local food establishments making your daily lunch and dinner order from one of the hotels restaurants. Food is expensive and takes a good deal of patience before arriving. Please listen to me and explore other hotels in San Juan or the Hyatt in Dorodo which is recommended by the locals.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floors will help you sleep so noise does not travel up to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    518
    290
    129
    77
See reviews for
762
403
30
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I did not stay at his hotel we only visited for lunch as we were in the Dorado area as my husband wanted to show us the neighborhood ( his family has spent 2 yrs in the area for work purposes). The area in general is fairly run down. The resort is in a gated community with a golf course and residences as well as a casino. It is fairly out of the way, and the only restaurant open was the pool restaurant . The service was friendly , and the food was basic but decent. The appearance of the hotel was average. It felt very isolated compared to where we are staying in condado. There were alot of families in the pool area, so it would be fine for a large family. Not for couples. I think there are far better deals to be had around Puerto Rico. Save Dorado for a day trip to the beach only, there isn't much else there.

Room Tip: Not many dining options, hard to get to location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetotravel2070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

My family just returned from a stay at the Embassy Suites for The AABC Willie Mays World Series. What we learned is that a confirmation does not guarantee a room. They were nice enough to send a couple of our families to The Comfort Inn in Toa Baha where they were awoken to beer bottles being thrown at the hotel and someone was shot outside the hotel..nice safe area for our children to be sent. The Embassy Suites is gated and has security which is great seen as how we were told no to leave the property after dark because the area is not safe. It takes forever for any of the staff to assist you; we ordered pizza for the team and we had to bring it around the building and eat it on the beach because they would not allow us to use a banquet room. NEVER AGAIN!!!!

Room Tip: If you want to relax, get a high floor because there is always noise...not kids, Music. The elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amelia33963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Airy, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I just returned from a week there for a family reunion. The hotel was nice enough, but the room service schedule was ridiculous. We would leave in the morning and come back for lunch or in the early afternoon and find the room hadn't been touched. We would want to take a nap but had to vacate the rooms as late as 3 or 4 pm (I was told they had until 5pm!) so they could clean. There were four of us in the room but the maid service kept leaving only three towels. I got tired after the third day of calling down and asking for another towel. The pool was nice, but twice they ran out of towels for guests. I wish the menu was a bit more extensive. What was good? We enjoyed the breakfasts there, and the happy hour with free drinks every day from 5-7 was phenomenal! I enjoyed myself, but I think my kids got bored since there wasn't too much for the 10-15 year old crowd once the pool lost its luster. The elevators took forever. Don't be in a rush.

Room Tip: Make arrangements with the cleaning staff so your room is taken care of around the same time every d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlbyker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaias R, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thanks for providing your review for your stay at the Embassy Suites Dorado, first of all for the inconveniences encountered and posible misunderstanding in regards to the housekeeping service, eventhough the housekeeping service is scheduled for the hours you were informed guests do not need to leave the suite when having service done, also if a guest prefers service at a specific time of the day we would be more than happy to schedule the service at the best time for the guest. I will personally meet with the staff and share your feedback in order to improve our service in the hotel.

Once again my apologies for the inconvenience and thank you for your feedback.

Have a great day!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

this is a terrible hotel. stayed here on two different occasions for business. I thought the second time would be better. Both times I played golf and both times I was rudely ridiculed for asking the local golfers if I could play through their foursome. Both times i was "cussed" out because I asked twice if I could play through. When I asked the valet for the manager he laughed and said "the manager left" and went to the group of individuals that was ridiculing me and started laughing. When I told the manager at the hotel, she was embarrassed and said she would get back to me. Of course she never did. Generally the service was pretty crappy here and I would recommend you go elsewhere if you want to have a good time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nja0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed at the Embassy Suites in December 2011 after a carribean cruise. We had our kids, and friends stayed there as well with their kids. We really enjoyed the resort, the rooms were very nice and a good size for our family of four. We spent most of our time in the pools over swimming in the ocean as we found it to be a little rough while we were there. Our kids loved the pools and hot tub, and there were always available beach chairs. There was a managers reception nightly where guests got 2 complimentary drinks, but we found that we could go up more frequently and still receive free drinks - we just ensured we tipped the bartender well. We didn't eat at the hotel very often as we were doing sight seeing of Puerto Rico, but the meals we did have were good. The location worked well for us, as we were able to see different island highlights, but still close to San Juan for shopping and dining.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank litgirrl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
216 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

The design of an Embassy is the open atrium with rooms ringing it... this one is no exception.

When we were staying there, a large family reunion was also booked there, and they took over the hotel - kids running and screaming at midnight, and again at 7 am, delighted to hear the echo in the atrium for their high pitched screams. It was also impossible to get breakfast - even just a bowl of cereal - due to the long lines, no tables, etc. so we were not able to sample the food.

Given the prices we were paying, I would have expected security to try and keep the noise down after 11 pm on a week day or before 8 am, but they were nowhere in sight... disappointed.

Room Tip: Check to make sure there is no large group (wedding, reunion, etc.) when booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marymcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorado
1.8 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
13.0 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
12.4 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
13.2 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
13.4 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
Address: 201 Dorado Del Mar Boulevard, Dorado 00646, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Dorado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all suite beachfront resort in Puerto Rico offering a relaxed tropical atmosphere with a three form lagoon pool overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. A perfect setting for families offering a two room suite, a daily complimentary cooked to order breakfast and two hours at our evening reception daily. Recreational facilities include a fitness center, game room, laundromat and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Dorado Del Mar Beach And Golf Resort
Embassy Suites Dorado Del Mar Beach & Golf Hotel Dorado
Puerto Rico Embassy Suites
Dorado Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing