We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good asian food......”
Review of ChopHouse Restaurant - CLOSED

ChopHouse Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $39
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: This restaurant is now relocated to San Patricio.
Warren, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“good asian food......”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

always wanted to come here & finally made it--it's in the newer
shopping center near the amigo store--they have regular dining
& food cooked in front of you--looks like a popular place as it was
busy--the owner is very friendly with the guests which is good--
I liked the sesame chicken for $20--we also had 2 pork chops for
$20 which was good--beautiful decor--friendly staff--glad we went
here & will be back.....

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank al-diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    17
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great dinner!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Visited this restaurant for a nice dinner with the family. The service was good and the food was incredible. It's not so far from San Juan. Try the Teppanyaki, you will not regret.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SanJuanIcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The ChopHouse Restaurant serves wonderful food! The staff is friendly and the atmosphere is very inviting. We've never had sushi with salted fish before and highly recommend it to anyone who visits the restaurant. If you have never tried having a Tappanyaki meal before, this is the place to go - the chef is amazing! It's well worth the drive to Dorado for this culinary experience. The owner, Sam, really knows his food and drinks and we were very impressed overall.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fajardo
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Still my favorite”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We used to go to Sam's all the time when they were at the Hyatt. Went only once to his new place over a year ago after we moved from Dorado and we miss it. Went last week and it was as good as it gets. We had wonderful sushi, and the sesame chicken is the best you can get anywhere. Try their hot and sour soup, we also think they have the best. Went to another Chinese restaurant at the Embassy Suite last time because of business and my colleagues believed in the Tripadvisor rating, it ended up a very bad experience. So there you have it. Chophouse is still our favorite, just a bit out of the way for us. But if you are in the neighborhood, this one restaurant is better than most.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We've been vacationing in Puerto Rico for the last 15 years and ChopHouse is always high on our list. This past trip, in addition to some of the best restaurants in San Juan and Dorado, such as Marmalade and Grappa, we had three excellent meals at ChopHouse. We find the Tapaneki table great fun for people of all ages. Not only is the food good but the Teppanyaki table show is always entertaining. The Chinese food is excellent. We especially enjoy the lettuce wraps that come with either meat or in vegetarian style, as well as the sushi rolls. Sam is always a gracious host and we enjoy seeing him and eating in his fine restaurant on all our trips to Dorado.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LovePR14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ChopHouse Restaurant also viewed

Dorado, Puerto Rico
Dorado, Puerto Rico
 
Dorado, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing