We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    119
    79
    32
    18
See reviews for
105
86
15
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was in town to attend my Aunt and Uncle's 50th Anniversary and chose this hotel for its proximity to the event. I tried to check in early but was not allowed in the room until about 2:30. I needed the time to get ready for the event at 4:30. It is an old bldg that has been remodeled to be a hotel and the rooms are a bit small. However, it was clean and the hot water worked and we slept great. I only wish the hotels in PR where more like the hotels in the continental US. I stayed in 4 different hotels during the week and none had a refrigerator or microwave. This one did have the ice holder and a safe which was nice to put your valuables. I would rent a house if staying in place while visiting just to have ability to bring home left overs and refrigerant things. If you don't mind not having a microwave and fridge then this hotel will work. Over all I the location is great fro access to downtown Mayaguez, it is clean and economical. I would stay here again for short stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Canela38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hector c, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We want to thank you for your feedback and for choosing Howard Johnson for your recent stay.

The check in time is at 3:00pm, but if we have the rooms available before that, we gladly give the rooms to our early arrivals. One thing I recommend if you are planning to arrive early, is to call before arriving the hotel to make sure we have a room available to avoid any wait time.

We suggest our guests to notify of any special request to our reservations agents or front desk clerks. This way we can provide our guests with all the services and amenities they need to make their stay more pleasant.

We hope to see you in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel does not come up on Google or Apple's maps and the address does not come up either. Maybe there is a reason? The hotel lobby is muggy and the front desk person charged us additional $13 for parking and a "hotel fee" of $3 for each of us in addition to the hotwire rate of $72. The rooms we got were on the first floor which were basically open like an outside area. All tile and very loud and we were next to a compressor that came on every minute and ran for 10 seconds. Mold on the ceiling in multiple areas. Hair on the sheets, bugs in the bathroom, no remote for the TV. I woke up at 12PM, 2AM, 3AM, and 5AM. Then again at 6AM to a church bell performance that we were not warned about. Same at 6:30AM. Breakfast was bread, bagels, and apples. No one asked how it was and I got a huge mosquito bite in the breakfast line. Parking cost us $10 and was a walk across the street in the rain. If we hadn't spent 20 minutes to find it and it wasn't 10PM, we would have left. This place was awful and not even worth half of what we spent. The internet worked well and that's about it. I know it is a 2 star place and we tried to account for that but this was below a 1 star. Very uncomfortable and dirty and not really safe considering where our rooms were.

Room Tip: For the best room at this hotel, stay in a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMorrison2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hector c, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
First of all, we would like to thank you for your input and apologize for every inconvenient you had during your stay.

About the Hotel fee and Parking fee, when you book a reservation through a third party company like Hotwire, they can not charge you those two fees for they are local charges. Also these fees are listed and specified on Hotwire's “hotel amenities” section as parking $4.82 per day and hotel fee $3.27 per accommodation, per night, not per person.

Our hotel is located right next to the main historical cathedral and the bell chiming is part of our catholic culture, unfortunately we have no control over that.

It is very important to mention that our continental breakfast include coffee, juice, bread (white or wheat), bagels, muffins, a variety of cereals, yogurts and fruit. On weekends, we add oatmeal or cream of wheat at no extra cost. We also have other breakfast options available by special order.

Even though our hotel is located in the center of Mayagüez, we have never had any security problem, for our priority is to keep our guests safe and happy during their stay.

Please accept our apologies and reconsider our hotel for your next stay. Our agents are available 24/7 to answer all your questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mayaguez hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayaguez
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
0.0 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#1 of 4 in Mayaguez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mayaguez Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 4 in Cabo Rojo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
12.0 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
16.8 mi away
Parguera Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR
Address: Calle Mendez Vigo 70 Este, Mayaguez 00680, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Mayaguez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Downtown Mayaguez Hotel Mayaguez
Howard Johnson Mayaguez
Mayaguez Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing