We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, very clean, too much street noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My GPS got me lost so I had to call hotel for direction. The staff was very patient to guide me to find the hotel. He even waited for me outside the hotel to guide me to the parking lot.

It is right at the downtown of Mayaguez. The high balcony has great view of the surrounding area. The hotel and room is very clean.

I stayed at the 4th floor but the noisy level is too high, being in the downtown. It was around Christmas time. The town center has a music event that lasted past midnight. The music was very loud and poured all the way in. Around 6 AM in the morning, the street noise, mostly from the cars, stopped my sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWAN001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 386 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a very nice and cozy hotel. It is small and quiet. I love staying here. It is very convenient as it is in the heart of downtown Mayaguez. The sorrounding balcony on each floor is very nice. I love just standing there while having a cup of coffee. Everytime I go to Mayaguez to visit Mom and Dad, I stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank MATOSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Jayonline
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
2  Thank JOSE M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a very nice hotel with an excellent location. Parking is available at an open lot one block away for $10/day. Breakfast was very poor but, otherwise, we were quite pleased with this hotel as the quality and cleanliness of the room were a notch above what we found elsewhere in Puerto Rico. Another bonus is that Café Ricomini, with its excelent Brazo Gitano, is across the street

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrotamundosBetis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you are looking for a place in the heart of Mayaguez city, this is the perfect place. It's has a great feeling, the rooms are clean and they have a little place in the lobby area to have something to eat. But they are near the Ricominni (a great bakery & cafeteria) and a couples of good restaurant. A good hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank ANGELA I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank STACY T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayaguez
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#2 of 4 in Mayaguez
135 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
1.6 mi away
Mayaguez Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
803 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hotel Colombus
Hotel Colombus
#1 of 2 in Aguada
138 reviews
16.2 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Cabo Rojo
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR

Address: Calle Mendez Vigo 70 Este, Mayaguez 00680, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Mayaguez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Price Range: $103 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Downtown Mayaguez Hotel Mayaguez
Howard Johnson Mayaguez
Mayaguez Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing