We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    127
    83
    41
    19
See reviews for
114
95
15
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TOA BAJA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel is good, the rooms are tropical style,the service is good and the location is what i need for my type of bususnes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank LUIS F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

i went there to the cafe they have in the lobby. the employees had the worst attitude and customer care I have ever seen, dont recommend Stoa's (the cafe). Considering the mayaguez town is really unsafe, and the hotel is in the center of it, I reccomend you to stay in other hotels such as the Mayaguez Resort and Casino or the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Analaida P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mayaguez hotels

Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were a party of 7 adults with a 2 room, 2 queen size beds. The rooms were clean, AC was A++ and beds were very comfortable. Although the ringing of the church bells every morning was annoying at first, you quickly got use to them. The staff was VERY friendly, helpful and truly went above and beyond. The best thing about this hotel is it's location. It's right across from 1 of Puerto Rico's best bakeries, Ricomini, it's a must for ALL travelers. In all, we were very happy and will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcuevas915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

My sister and I stayed for a week. Hotel was OK. It is located at downtown Mayaguez and close to everything. The trolley stops in front of the lobby. The room were clean and comfortable. There were a coffee maker, free coffee, iron, blower, shampoo, creams, hand cream etc as complimentary. Continental breakfast was free and OK. The front desk staffs were friendly specially Waldemar (front desk staff) that was always friendly, polite, had great knowledge since he answered all our questions and was always there willing to help us with a great smile. The restaurant food was good and the price of the food were Ok. Yamil and Danny cooked at the hotel's restaurant, they were friendly and polite also. There were music at the lobby on Friday and we enjoyed it. Finally, my sister and I enjoyed our one week stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

For the 20th anniversary of our family we selected west Puerto Rico for internal tourism and ecotourism. HJ gave us an additional gain: STAIRS. Elevators are nice, but We used the staircase for additional physical activity; penthouse rooms are comfortable and have a good view of the town; is close to everything and the trolley stops in front of the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Losvegacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayaguez
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
0.0 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#2 of 4 in Mayaguez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mayaguez Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cabo Rojo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
12.5 mi away
Aquarius Vacation Club
Aquarius Vacation Club
#1 of 5 in Boqueron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
11.5 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR
Address: Calle Mendez Vigo 70 Este, Mayaguez 00680, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Mayaguez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Downtown Mayaguez Hotel Mayaguez
Howard Johnson Mayaguez
Mayaguez Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing