We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great service for loyal members.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service for loyal members.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

stayed 3 Nights using points. Was given Free breakfast due to my platinum status really appreated this. Nearby beach in Anasco and Rincon are beautiful. Did not use the pool area but it seemed clean. If youre looking for a hotel in a West coast I would recommend it and if youre a priority club they will assure that you have a great time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jzrtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    85
    53
    12
    12
See reviews for
72
57
10
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed with my family at the end of the Constitution of Puerto Rico weekend. The first thing that surprised me was that hotel stay stuck to some houses of residents living near the street. Parking is confusing, but the people who work in the valet parking was very friendly, as are the people of the nearby houses. Very typical Puerto Rican, on which is a polite host.

As soon as we received, the staff was friendly, but I was not focused on some of the amenities that supposed to have the package. But Ruben, the manager did everything possible to:
1. Locate my whole family on one floor
2. Extended check-out times for the inconvenience happened

Breakfast: whole buffet. They had things very local, traditional foods of the same. Everything for everyone!

The pool is striking and rest area a tropical dream.

The maid service was excellent. The room was cleaned every time.

The sea view of Mayagüez is beautiful. Make sure you touch the 5th floor so you can appreciate it.

Only one person called the front desk Karen we have trouble. It was not friendly and was on the defensive.

The hotel has potential, but the area west of the island needs rich. They have everything to shine, just depends on promoting tourism and making these hotels one attractive.

Room Tip: Ocean view with mountains is great!!!! Make sure you touch the 5th floor so you can appreciate it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles17887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Charles17887,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is very pleasing to know that you were satisfied with the maid services. However, I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectations on some aspects of your stay. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is. We will surely use your comments to improve our efforts.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My only complain will be the rugs in the room, it smelled like they're old and wet and the breakfast buffet was a little dull. The rugs should be remove. Everything else was very good and clean. The bathroom recently renovated. The personnel was the best.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel staff are very friendly but there's only so much they can do. During my 8-night stay, the wireless internet was always sub-par, frequently losing connection and always lacking any decent speed. On four separate occasions, a note was placed under my door mentioning repairs to the water system or pool. The elevators are horrendously slow. Free breakfast was nice, but the selection is limited and repetitive. Guess you can't beat free though. Casino is min-manned during the day and craps table is only open after dinner. Parking is always a mess due to the casino crowd at night. Room air conditioners are loud, but effective.

Room Tip: 6th floor rooms on the west side of the building have a decent ocean view but 2nd floor rooms can av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpicyBigMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear SpicyBigMac,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I apologize our hotel was not able to live up to your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and rest assured that it will be used for future improvements. We look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay if you need to be in the Mayaguez area. Rooms are confortable, clean and have high speed internet. Service is A+ from the Front Desk to all other areas. Food is below average, but there are many options in the area. It was a business trip so did not expected or look for entertainment. I will be back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carlos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

this hotel is nice, from the beginning of your trip to the end. Only problem is the restaurant, they are so SLOW....your order lunch by the time it get there it's dinner. I mean we ordered and it would take at least 25 minutes to get your food. And the place is not even crowded. There was one couple in the place and we were there for an hour and a half. It took 40 minutes to get our food. The food is great, employees are super, but who ever does the cooking needs to be replaced. So my advise go somewhere to eat. There is alot of places one block away to eat.........

Room Tip: all rooms are good.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Enjoyed staying at the HI Mayaguez. Easy acess to the main highway, close to restaurants ( fast foods) and to the Puerto Rico Zoo. Other than the Zoo, not much to do in the area ( bowling alley 10 min from the hotel).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajero736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayaguez
1.3 mi away
Mayaguez Resort & Casino
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Downtown Mayaguez
2.9 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#1 of 4 in Mayaguez
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
18.2 mi away
Parador Combate Beach
Parador Combate Beach
#1 of 4 in Cabo Rojo
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
8.7 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino

Property: Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
Address: 2701 Hwy 2, Mayaguez 00680, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Mayaguez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located, with all the spectacular attractions of Porta Del Sol within easy reach, Holiday Inn & Tropical Casino Mayaguez, is the ideal place to stay when your vacation or business trip takes you to the city of Mayaguez and Puerto Rico's stunning west coast. From Holiday Inn & Tropical Casino Mayaguez you can drive to an incredible water park, bowling alleys, golf courses and some of the most beautiful beaches in the Caribbean. Puerto Rico's only zoo is minutes away from the comfort of your room. Holiday Inn & El Tropical Casino welcomes you! Book your Mayaguez hotel reservations today for the upcoming events, Mayaguez University Graduation, RUM Mayaguez University Job Fair, Punta Borinquen Golf Club and Club Deportivo Del Oeste Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mayaquez And Tropical Casino
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Hotel Mayaguez
Holiday Inn Mayaguez
Mayaguez Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing