We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very nice hotel even though it has a lot of age” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Alabama
Level Contributor
153 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel even though it has a lot of age”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed there for only one night while working nearby in Aguadilla. I had a good dinner in the hotel restaurant and the breakfast the next morning was surprisingly very good and consisted of a lot of different items on the buffet-style bar. Even though I didn't go to the casino, it seemed the people were having a good time inside, too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayaruinsonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    87
    54
    13
    13
See reviews for
74
62
13
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moca, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Wonderful place for vacation. Beautiful island. The staff at the hotel are very friendly & professional. The hotel has a nice pool & a nice dancing place. Good food, very clean. A nice casino. They have very nice area for business & family activities. The hotel is located close to lots of stores, attractions, restaurants, beaches,

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Except for the bad odor of the carpet at the dancing room, everything very good. We have a very nice stay. Prices very good, employees are so kind, rooms are clean and the hotel is very well located.
In the area you can find shopping centers, restaurants, and a golf course.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

No surprises....typical hotel/casino with a Fat Tuesday's bar in the lobby. The room was nice and big, bathrooms spacious and A/C was COLD.

The bathtub was unusually slippery and did not have any grips. My guest slipped and fell out of the shower. No injuries, but scary nonetheless.

Free Wi-Fi, located right off the interstate, live band in the casino and lots of slot machines.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frndlychat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
741 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 486 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is typical of any Holiday Inn Hotel. As a Priority CLub member, I always book as much as possible with Holiday Inn. The rooms are spacious and clean. However the location of this hotel seems to be in an area where you have nowhere else to go to but the casino in this hotel. I am staying only in this hotel due to a client call around this area.Otherwise I wont even think of booking in this area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

At least once a year I get to work in the west part of the island, and usually stay at the Holiday Inn in Mayaguez because is within per diem. I have been doing this for the last 6 years, and I have seen this hotel decaying over time. The last time I stayed there I got a room that smelled moldy, and was very humid. I talked to the front desk person, and she was kind enough to move me to another room, which smell was much better, but the place felt humid. I would say the room was clean, and if you do not plan to stay there all day long, it is OK. I would not recommend this hotel for honeymooners or for a family vacation unless you pay the extras for an upgraded room (which I have not seen, but I would think are better kept).

Pros: parking is free, as well as WI-FI.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viajera_reston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearny, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Came here for spring break back in 2008 and didn't realize how far it was from the nightlife and the beach! We had to take a cab everywhere we went. The hotel itself is nice and has a nice pool area and delicious food at the restaurant. We spent most fo our time driving to Rincon beaches which were about 20-30 minutes away. Beautiful area of Puerto Rico and a great surfing location.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't spend all your money at the casino on the main floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayaguez
1.3 mi away
Mayaguez Resort & Casino
36.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#1 of 4 in Mayaguez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
9.2 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
8.7 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino

Property: Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
Address: 2701 Hwy 2, Mayaguez 00680, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Mayaguez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located, with all the spectacular attractions of Porta Del Sol within easy reach, Holiday Inn & Tropical Casino Mayaguez, is the ideal place to stay when your vacation or business trip takes you to the city of Mayaguez and Puerto Rico's stunning west coast. From Holiday Inn & Tropical Casino Mayaguez you can drive to an incredible water park, bowling alleys, golf courses and some of the most beautiful beaches in the Caribbean. Puerto Rico's only zoo is minutes away from the comfort of your room. Holiday Inn & El Tropical Casino welcomes you! Book your Mayaguez hotel reservations today for the upcoming events, Mayaguez University Graduation, RUM Mayaguez University Job Fair, Punta Borinquen Golf Club and Club Deportivo Del Oeste Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Hotel Mayaguez
Holiday Inn Mayaquez And Tropical Casino
Holiday Inn Mayaguez
Mayaguez Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing