We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't as bad as reviews made me fear”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wasn't as bad as reviews made me fear”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I was in Mayaguez for three nights on business. My room was clean and served me well for working and sleeping. The management should cut back on the perfume. It was horrible when I checked in, then I requested that housekeeping not add more while I was there, so it got better (the window opened slightly). I had an upgraded or executive floor room (something like that). I liked the view of the ocean far off and the roosters close by. Although the hotel web site said there were complimentary beverages/snacks in the evening, there was no such thing, so be prepared for plan B. When I asked about it, they simply said there was nothing, but that evening I found two delicious cookies in my room (I guess that made up for it or was to be seen as a bribe). The service was friendly and helpful. I prepaid, but they tried to charge me again anyway. The lady at the desk made that disappear immediately and grimaced a bit, as if someone in accounting was making mistakes that she had to mop up. I had breakfast in the restaurant twice; the waiters were friendly and accommodating, including when I was in a big hurry. The fitness center is old, but it works and is certainly better than nothing--I used one of two treadmills. I think there was also a bike and some free weights in there. Parking is a problem, because although they will tell you to park anywhere, the casino fills up with locals and you may have to park far away from the lobby if you come back after 9 pm. Not cool for a woman alone, though the exterior is well lit -- I felt safe. Having been to Mayaguez before, I was satisfied with the hotel for a business trip.

Room Tip: Upgrade for view and better room. It's not much $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeakyB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    94
    55
    13
    13
See reviews for
83
67
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We arrived a little early and were allowed to check in early which I appreciated. The staff was very friendly and guest parking is free.
I specifically reserved a non-smoking. Upon entering the room, it smelled like stale cigarettes and wet dog. I asked the front desk if the room was a non-smoking room and was told yes. I later found out that the room was CONVERTED into a non-smoking room and was previously a smoking room. Fine convert a room but paint the walls, replace the carpeting, etc. You can't just suddenly say it's a non-smoking room.....Anyway, I turned the air off in the room and opened the sliding window to let fresh air into the room.
Since we arrived early we decided to use the fitness center while we let the room air out. A fitness center is an important amenity to us and we are happy to pay extra for a hotel that has one. The "fitness center" here consisted of two treadmills, (only one worked and not very well, kept shutting off) and some free weights. Most of the weights were missing and there was no bench or space to even use them.
The next morning we ate at the hotel restaurant. Please skip the breakfast buffet, not worth it. The buffet was WAY over priced. The fruit was not ripe and the selection was terrible. One more nail in the coffin - the WIFI does not extend to the rooms, we had to sit in the lobby for it to work.

Very disappointed in this place over all.

If non-smoking rooms and a fitness center are important to you then I would suggest that you drive 15 minutes north and stay at the Marriott in Aguadilla, like we did the next day. The fitness facility at the Aguadilla Marriott was top notch, great pool and nice restaurant. It's worth the extra 15 minute drive. Seriously, don't waste your time at the Holiday Inn. I feel bad because the staff was nice but if you want a clean room, that smells fresh and a fitness center, don't waste your time/money at the Holiday Inn in Mayaguez.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and the entire floor smelled like wet dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RebeccaMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear RebeccaMinneapolis,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what feel below your expectations. I'm deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, Please do not hesitate to let us know.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

PROS
- Great Hotel Location! Right out of the main highway #2
- Close to beaches if you are traveling for leisure
- Close to the University area
- Rooms are larger than usual to Puerto Rico standards
- Good free Parking

CONS
- A rate of over $80.00 is overrated for this property. Yo will find better rates in the area if you do not mind driving inn further from the road speacially in the Aguadilla and Rincon area without casinos.
- Small lobby as most is taken by casino area.
- Noisy in second floor dur to casino.
- restaurant on premise is more of a bar. Lots of options to eat outside the property area.

Overall
- I like the property, not so much the price. But as long as you are traveling for business is a good option. As for traveling for pleasure or vacation there are much better properties in the area.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators and face the back of the building (facing west)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiveraSanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The hotel is an older Holiday Inn but is well maintained. The room was clean and quite except for the AC unit. It was noisy. We upgraded to an Executive room and it was worth the money but still was small. The front desk staff was polite and effective. Good hotel and grounds security. The only thing that should be added to enhance security is an in-room safe. I have stayed at all the chain hotels in Mayaguez PR and this is the best one for the value. We didn’t eat in the restaurant and the casino was closed due to be Good Friday.
We would stay there again.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for but ifyou want to pay more and travel further for a better hotel go to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NavyAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
NavyAllan,

Thank you for your comments, and recent stay. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We have been traveling to Añasco to visit my Dad for years and we have stayed at this hotel many times with no problem. We went to visit my dad and had a reservation for 8 days, my dad had a stroke and he passed away Palm Sunday, we had a wake in Añasco but my dad always wanted to be buried in Caguas where my mom is buried. When we informed the hotel we would not use the last 2 days of our reservation because we would be in the other side of the island, we were shocked to find out they do not reimburse you for the days not used, not even if there is a death in the family. Expedia would not fight our case for us, but they gave us a credit to use in any future travel. We are so disgusted with what happened to us, never again will we stay at this hotel when we go to visit our family. The hotel managers we spoke to were very rude even after knowing the situation we were in. If we wanted to cancel for any other reason I would not complain, but a death in the family? they have no shame.

Room Tip: Higher rooms will not have internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityGirl94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear CityGirl94,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay with us. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message.

We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Mayaguez.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27697653
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I only stayed at the hotel room to sleep, but it was a fantastic experience. The room was great and the bathroom was extremely clean. The people was very friendly and informative. The breakfast buffet was delicious. I look forward to staying there again. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Check TRIP ADVISOR to read some review about the selected location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Profesora5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We had a two night reservation while traveling between Ponce and Isla Verdi. The desk clerk was very helpful. They had already upgraded us because of platnum priority clup status, but he went one step further and upgraded us again to a two room suite. Very nice. The room did have a slight musty odor to it. I have come to expect that in this climate. I think the hotels in this area exist for the sake of the casinos. I am not much of a gambler so we spent the afternoon getting to know the area. We traveled to Rincon beach, Rincon light house, and Sandy Beach. None of which were very impressive. In fact we decided that we were wasting vacation time on this end of the island. We decided to add a night to our next reservation at the Intercontinental, and leave Mayaguez early. I booked this hotel with points and thought I would rather loose them than the day wasted with little to do. I talked to the desk clerk and let them know that we would not need the room for the next night and they were very pleasant about it. They even suggested that if I called Priority Club that I might be able to get the points credited back to my account. I did call and it worked out fine. The points for the next night were credited back to my account. Overall the hotel is nice enough. If you are entertained by gambling this would be a good place to stay. If you like the beach, don't waste time with anything but the north east end of Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: Room 400 is a nice two room suite. I would imagine that is also true for 500 and 600. Be nice to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandsculptureman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayaguez
1.3 mi away
Mayaguez Resort & Casino
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR
36.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#2 of 4 in Mayaguez
126 reviews
8.6 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
754 reviews
18.2 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cabo Rojo
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino

Property: Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
Address: 2701 Hwy 2, Mayaguez 00680, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Mayaguez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located, with all the spectacular attractions of Porta Del Sol within easy reach, Holiday Inn & Tropical Casino Mayaguez, is the ideal place to stay when your vacation or business trip takes you to the city of Mayaguez and Puerto Rico's stunning west coast. From Holiday Inn & Tropical Casino Mayaguez you can drive to an incredible water park, bowling alleys, golf courses and some of the most beautiful beaches in the Caribbean. Puerto Rico's only zoo is minutes away from the comfort of your room. Holiday Inn & El Tropical Casino welcomes you! Book your Mayaguez hotel reservations today for the upcoming events, Mayaguez University Graduation, RUM Mayaguez University Job Fair, Punta Borinquen Golf Club and Club Deportivo Del Oeste Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Hotel Mayaguez
Holiday Inn Mayaquez And Tropical Casino
Holiday Inn Mayaguez
Mayaguez Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing