We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple nights and it was a great surprise. Very clean rooms nothing fancy but is what you want if you go on a business trip. Breakfast is adequate. Service is very good. Internet is ok. Bathrooms are small but hot water is available.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank efcolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    47
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
19
47
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

As i was reading the reviews on trip advisor i got scared, i thought it was gonna be awful, and tiny. But our stay was amazing, our room was big, the bathroom was big, and had space for all our toiletries. There was a little noise that you can here in the room, but it was perfect for getting us up and ready for another amazing day in Mayaguez, PR.

The parking is a little thight, and on the weekends it got crowded but the best parking was outside. We had room service everyday, who did an amazing job for us. And everytime we went out or in the hotel there was always someone to greed us and asked us if everything was good, or we needed anything.

We needed extra space to but frozen food( we did had a mini fridge but we bought like 30 empanadillas) and without a hassle they let us use their fridge.

The best part of our stay was the price and the location. We only paid $69 for our room and the hotel is right in the middle of “downtown” mayaguez. Like a minute walking to the plaza.

I already know where i am staying when i come back for another vacation to Puerto Rico, in the hotel Colonial!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aly_garcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is an excellent hotel. The housekeeping is excellent. Wildy, administrator of housekeeping is a real asset to the hotel. The hotel is centrally located at the very heart of Mayaguez. This place is much better than the competition.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gabriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keokuk, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Centrally located just a block away from the plaza. The room is clean ,small but adequate. The bathroom is tiny, no room for toiletries. The furniture is dated but clean. Like the fact hat we have a fridge in the room and the wifi is good. Free parking is very secure. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Free breakfast had very little variety, cookies and toast. I would stay here again if I happen to be in the Area again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lunzki7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hotel is in a historic part of town so dated seemed fitting. The room was larger than I expected from the reviews. The wifi reception was good. The breakfast room was nicely set apart. The free breakfast had a little variety - cereal or toast and even cookies. The staff was especially helpful and the free parking very secure.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 662marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is my 4th stay at this hotel. This hotel used to be a convent. It is a historic and important building to the City of Mayaguez. As such it is protected by the historic society etc and the owners will never have many structural remodeling options. Yes the Furniture is somewhat outdated but in good/clean condition. The price is fair but I believe $10.00 less would be perfect. If you want to get a room with Ocean view or overlooking the mountains then this is not your hotel. If you need a clean and comfortable place at a reasonable price - then this is your Hotel. I've read the reviews here and can honestly say, The problem is not the Hotel but the expectations when staying at a little hotel like this. Yes it needs some updating, and the beds could be more comfortable. I use it to shower and sleep; Other than that I am out in the town enjoying my vacation. Ricardo, Anibal and Ivan at the front desk are very helpful and accomodating. There is also a lady that works the front desk who is just as good as them.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the street side of the building- Bring your own wash-cloth and travel essenti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IGNDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I ended up staying here last minute when other plans fell through, and they were very accommodating to me. Nice little hotel, used to be a convent I think they said, so rooms are on the smaller size, but plenty big enough for me to stay for a night. Great rates for a hotel of this quality, which I do believe was a quality hotel. Rooms had their own bathrooms, AC, was very clean, limited secured parking in the back (so make sure to ask about that if you want a spot), free breakfast, I was very happy with the hotel. The breakfast wasn't anything spectacular, just cereal and bread if memory serves me correctly, but free is free, so I had no complaints. Staff at check in was very friendly. They said they recommend you calling them and booking through them directly to save an extra few bucks. Not sure what some of the other bad experiences are based off of, I'm a pretty easy going traveler, but I didn't personally experience anything I thought I could even have been picky about if I tried. Great place, very happy I found it.

Room Tip: Call them directly for reservation to save a few bucks, and inquire about parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heribertorosas, Owner at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our continental breakfast includes fresh puertorrican premium coffee, milk, orange juice, white and integral breads, butter and jellies, oatmeal cookies and dry cereals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayaguez
0.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
72.5 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cabo Rojo
670 reviews
58.1 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
21.1 mi away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Property: Hotel Colonial
Address: 14 S Iglesia Street, Mayaguez 00681, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Mayaguez
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Colonial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial of Mayagüez is Located in historic downtown Mayaguez, it is the perfect destination for travelers looking for relaxation and comfort. Whatever you are looking for, the Hotel Colonial is the perfect hotel choice for your visit to the west coast of Puerto Rico also known as Porta del Sol. The Hotel Colonial is just steps away from some of Mayagüez finest attractions. The hotel is walking distance to fabulous restaurants, pubs, shopping, museums and the famous Mayagüez Campus of the University of Puerto Rico. It is also close to the Juan Rivero Zoo, the best zoo in the caribbean.Loaded with comforts and amenities, the Hotel Colonial is an outstanding value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing