We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant setting and nice tapas”

El Picoteo de Tapas y Paellas
Ranked #139 of 1,034 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $45
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
495 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Pleasant setting and nice tapas”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Lovely setting for a meal of tapas. We enjoyed the cheese and tomato pizza, garlic mushrooms, hummus with white truffle oil, Spanish potato tortilla, and refreshing bowls of gazpacho. A few slices of pita bread were served with the hummus and 2 slices of french bread came with other dishes. No free refills on ice tea or coffee. Ice tea was unsweetened which seemed hard to find at some restaurants. Good service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeborahandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    125
    59
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic setting”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We ate here 2 years ago when we were in Old San Juan and this is the only place I really wanted to go back to. Located on the courtyard of El Convento, it really has quite the view (we were there at night both times). It is a tapas place so we sampled quite a few dishes and all the food was very good but that is almost secondary to the setting. When we were there this last time, there was a castanets dancer which was very entertaining (a bit loud but she only did about 5 numbers). Prices were also very reasonable (5 people with 4 drinks, 7 dishes and desserts was less than $200). Highly recommend this for an evening.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ABrotmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice locale but beware your food choices”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This locale is absolutely lovely on the upper patio of El Convento and central in the Old San Juan area. If you have a chance, walk down and view the interior of this structure. As for tapas, and the daughter of a Spaniard, I would say they were fair. Tortilla Espanola (tortilla de patata) needed salt, gambas al ajillo were also fairly plain; bread is not part of the table service. There are two small pieces of bread with each order and no olive oil on the table. My daughter ordered pulpo a la gallega and was ill within hours. Should have probably stuck to commonly ordered foods. Service was fair-polite but not very friendly. Perhaps stopping here for a refreshing drink would have sufficed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mgomez2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious tapas, lovely ambiance, and excellent service”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

A large group of us (8) showed up here on Christmas night without a reservation. After we had been turned away from other restaurants due to no reservation (or them being closed), they graciously found a table for us. Our servers were very kind and friendly, not at all making us feel like an inconvenience.We tried several items on the menu and everything was great. We also had a couple of pitchers of their red sangria, also delicious! Would definitely return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SLK75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Tapas and Ambiance”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Great selection of tapas and lovely service. We were told by our hotel that the restaurant was fully booked, but decided to give it a try anyway and were seated within ten minutes. The food was some of the best we had in P.R. - so much so that we went twice in 5 days.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ESH102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Picoteo de Tapas y Paellas also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to El Picoteo de Tapas y Paellas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing