We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed October 25, 2009

The staff were friendly and helpful in providing directions to other places on the island. It offers free parking a block away and a free breakfast at a nearby cafe. The first floor rooms were bigger than the other rooms and had a private terrace, but not for light sleepers because of the noise at the front desk and front door. We had to switch rooms the second night we were there. The rooms have air conditioning, TV and a hair dryer. There is also a pool, which we never used. We really liked the location, in Condado, which had a lot of restaurants and bars and was a block from the ocean. It was conveniently located by the highway, so we were able to get to different areas quickly. No dance clubs nearby, driving or taxi distance. Good value, less than $100 a night, and the breakfast and parking was a great bonus. We did have a problem with the showers, they were either really hot or really cold. That was the only downside. Overall, we really liked the place a lot and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stellastar78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 312 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2009

The city of Old San Juan is beautiful. The people are friendly and most speak English. The variety, quality and price of food was wonderful too. The old Fort is a must see. We loved our time there and would love to go back some day. (we went there to connect with the Deep Southern Caribbean cruises.) The surrounding suburbs are great to stay in too (we stayed at Le Consulat Hotel, Condado - a lot cheaper than OSJ) with public transport quick and cheap. Just stay out of La Perla - easy to do! If you want the best rum punches, mojitas and rum slushies (raspberry were the best) go to El Patio de Sam, #102 San Sebastian St, Old San Juan (an essential stop after walking around in the heat for a while).

1  Thank Yellowchalkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

This is a great hotel if you are someone who is not looking for a hotel with luxurious rooms and amenities. It is very simple and very clean, perfect for someone who does not spend a lot of time at the hotel. Service was great! all the ladies were very nice, the night we checked in there was an older gentleman who was grumpy but we never saw him again. Condado is a very central location, be-careful taxi drivers will try to charge you $15 but if you manage to catch one in the street you can negotiate up to $10 - $12 to go to Old San Juan. The complimentary breakfast is basic, don't expect a buffet, it is at a nearby deli type restaurant that is also very clean. The receptionists were very helpful in suggesting places to visit without having to take and expensive tour. They have a small pool in the back, it seemed clean but since the beach was only a 2 min walk away I preferred the beach instead. Walgreens is right around the corner also! They have the cheepest parking in the area! it is around the corner from the hotel. However I would suggest not to rent a car unless you are going out of the city, since it is very crowded and expensive to find parking. If I were to go to PR again I am definitely staying at Le Consulat.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaynehernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Well, we needed a place to stay for two nights prior to our Cruise on Carnival's Victory and originally booked the Ritz-Carlton but based on reviews from travel advisor I decided to change my reservation to place that wasnt as pricey as the Ritz. While the location of Consulat is pretty good it is still a decent taxi ride away from the Cruise port and Old San Juan where all the action is. Based on some of the reviews I thought it would be a lot closer.

Taxi's charge between 12-22 USD to get to Old San Juan so over the two days we ended up spending roughly $100. We would have been better served to stay in Old San Juan.

Other than the location the hotel does need a little facelift - the showers had a little mildew and the floors needed a good cleaning. The AC unit was WAY loud, normally me and wife can sleep through a storm but this AC kept us up all night. Not sure why we didnt complain until the end of our stay....

If you are looking for a cheap, no frills hotel just to sleep this would be OK

If you are looking for a pre or post cruise hotel I would look at the Sharaton in Old San Juan. It is beautiful and right on the port so you can walk to your cruise ship (Carnival anyway).

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robcamacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

My wife and I visited here in March 2008. I was reluctant to stay here based on some not so great reviews, but boy was surprised. The place was newely renovated, which felt like a new hotel. The rooms were small, but if I wanted to spend lots of time in the hotel, I'd have stayed in a resort. The best thing about this hotel was the location. It was about a 5 minute walk to the public transportation (buses) that were top notch. For 75 cent each way, you can go all over San Juan and Old San Juan safely. Another thing that was great about this hotel is the breakfast voucher to a resturant (Pelyato or something like that). This was a really nice way to start our day and made for an even greater experience. Free wifi was also a huge plus! I would most definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabulas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

My husband and teenage son stayed one night prior to our cruise. Our large room was having AC problems so the hotel had arranged for two rooms for us across the hall. The location was convenient to the beach and large hotels and casinos if we wished. The girl at the desk was very helpful in recommending a "local" spot around the corner for dinner. Although the rooms were small they were more than adequate and the AC worked without fail. They also accommodated us the next day by allowing us to move to one room for late check out and arranging a cab to the cruise ship.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We stayed here one night before embarking on a cruise. The rooms are clean, somewhat stylish and feature a flat screened TV. The staff is very warm and welcoming. A voucher for breakfast coffee and a pastry at a nearby bakery/restaurant is included in the room price. It is in a great location walking distance to the ocean and various restaurants.
To illustrate how little our room was - when we got our cabin on the cruise ship it felt downright spacious compared to the hotel room. However for one night , the room was adequate. The excellent price and kind staff make up for the small square footage.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank socaldiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#31 of 47 in San Juan
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#21 of 47 in San Juan
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#14 of 47 in San Juan
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
0.8 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#20 of 47 in San Juan
823 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#41 of 47 in San Juan
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 1149 Magdalena Ave Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: $103 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Le Consulat
Ascend Collection San Juan
Clarion San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing