We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value, clean hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #41 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
St. Thomas, Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, good value, clean hotel.”
Reviewed May 15, 2009

If you want a small intimate feel to a hotel, and not the sterile cookie cutter approach, then Le Consulat might be the one for you. I opted to stay there this week right after I had surgery on my elbow and my stay was quite pleasant. The staff at the front desk was helpful and pleasant. My room, #108, right next to the pool, was a suite with a couch and chairs, as well as two queen sized comfortable beds. The little patio outside the room was private and cute. I loved the location, as we were right in the Condado, among all the happenings of the larger hotels, on a busline, important if you want an inexpensive ($.75) way to get around, and close to restaurants and 24/7 Walgreen's. The area is safe, well lit, and neither my adult daughter (29) nor I (63) were afraid walking real early in the morning nor after 10pm at night. The voucher given for breakfast, a three minute walk away at a local bakery/restaurant, was quite nice. You had your choice of yummy spiced oatmeal, Danish pastries, local toasted bread, and a choice of coffee, hot chocolate, bottled water, or juice. We returned there in the evening for sandwiches........try the Media Noche, or if you are super hungry, the Cubano. We had both and we enjoyed them very much.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tropicalteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    105
    72
    39
    31
See reviews for
48
158
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2009

Overall, very satisfied with Le Consulat. Upon arrival, seeing that we had brought our daughter with us, the desk clerk upgraded us to a larger room (two queens and sofa sleeper) for the first three nights of our four night stay at the same price. Nice! This was Room #314 and we liked it very much. The final night was in #310, which was still nice but definitely smaller. Regarding previous postings about noise, we had no problems with noise on the third floor. Also, the hotel is located on more of a side street which reduces overall noise.

Pool was a huge plus for our young daughter -- it is a small pool but nice and clean.

I felt very comfortable walking around the area at night -- going to Walgreens or nearby Internet cafe. My wife did not feel comfortable alone, however.

The breakfast at a local restaurant is good, though we always supplemented it with additional food -- was still a good deal.

As other posters have mentioned, staff was very good and helpful. If the staff is inviting friends to hang out in the evenings, as noted in previous reviews, I hope that stops. We did not notice anything like that, however.

Parking is do-able, but you may have to search nearby streets for a space. Sometime you get lucky and get a spot on the same street as hotel and sometimes you don't. Rent a small car and brush up on your parallel parking!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BikeArlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, KS
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

Stayed there one night pre-cruise. Price was right as we didn't need a resort coming in late afternoon on rainy day. Location is great, near beach, Walgreens, shopping and several restaurants (we went to Buenes Ayres down block for drinks).

I would agree with previous posters abour our room, #112, right off lobby. Does get noisy in evening, with people and computer TV. Door to patio has no glass or screen, one window in bath does give it a cell-like feel. It was very clean and bedding was good. Spent most of evening out on patio or by pool to be out of room. Area was safe as far as I could tell and we did some walking after dark. Some residences and another hotel several doors down.

Ice is down hall, no mini fridge. Maria? at front desk was very helpful calling taxis and sending us in right direction to stores/food. Okay for 1-2 nights, just specify room other than #112 if you are light sleeper.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hemea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

This hotel was clean and the staff friendly. The area around the hotel didn't seem clean or particularly safe.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomsgirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2009

We stayed one night pre-cruise. Hotel was very clean, staff helpful. We had a room on the 1st floor which had no window- but did have a lovely private patio. Unfortunately, the patio doors had no way to let in light unless they were open. The room was small, but had a nice flat screen TV. The cafe for breakfast was delightful. The pool area looked very pleasant. It is in a convenient location- we had dinner at Miro, a block away, and enjoyed it. It was a good choice for our purposes, even though it was quite basic.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knitter06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, PA
1 review
Reviewed April 30, 2009

On our second trip to the Condado we selected Le Consulat becasue of location and price. We were not disappointed. Suzette, Janet and Nadia were FANTASTIC...helpful, friendly and professonal. The hotel is CLEAN and chic. It is simple and basic but really charming. We enjoyed the pool, had our own private patio. Room decor is charming. Location could not be better...tons of great restaurants nearby...beach is two blocks away where you can rent a chair for $3.00! (near the Marriott -can also rent at La Conch for $5 for the whole day) Breakfast was really cool because they now send you down the street to Panaderia Pelaya, a hip little local bakery-cafe-restaurant with an outside deck on which to enjoy your cafe con leche and people watch! Each morning we then took a little stroll down the street and around the Condado lagoon. Couldn't have been nicer. If you go, don't miss the mojitos and salsa music at Yerba Buena just down the street.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gimikgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2009

I agree with the recent 2009 reviews. This is indeed a fantastic "boutique hotel" in a very convenient, safe and comfortable section of the Condado (halfway between the International airport and Old San Juan). As the other reviewers have stated, a 24- hour Walgreens is no more than two blocks away (around the corner) and there are many decent walking-distance (i.e. 1-3 blocks) restaurants in the neighborhood. The beach is no more than three blocks away.

Rooms were charmingly appointed with tasteful tile floors and a flat-screen T.V.
Coffee maker in the room as well as a hair dryer.

The staff was extremely responsive and caring ...both day and night shifts! We had a small problem with an air conditioner and we were shifted to a different room within minutes. They exhibit great pride in their property and value their customers.

A great value. I can now see why both business and leisure travelers were impressed wit this hotel; it "earns" the positive reviews.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 48 in San Juan
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Condado Hotel
Casa Condado Hotel
#34 of 48 in San Juan
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#14 of 48 in San Juan
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#32 of 48 in San Juan
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#37 of 48 in San Juan
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel

Property: Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
Address: 1149 Magdalena Ave Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Le Consulat
Ascend Collection San Juan
Clarion San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing