We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$289
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$263
$199
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
CasaBlanca Hotel(San Juan)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tres Palmas Inn(San Juan)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$339
$319
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveler rating
64
112
75
42
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
112
75
42
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hotelold san juancondado beachwould stay here againqueen sizebring earplugssmall poolsofa bedashford avefourth floorcoffee makercruise shiplight sleeperrestaurants and barsbottled waterpuerto ricola concha
Filter
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 325 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2009

I booked this hotel several months in advance and without having any photos to see of it. But it offered one room for the 4 of us (Mom, Dad, 22 yr old Daughter and 19 yr old son) to stay in. Son took sofa bed.
Only complaint here is the bed didn't have any sheets. We improvised by using the comforters from both queen size beds.

We stayed the night before our cruise. The area has lots of restaurants and is about 2-3 blocks from the sea.

Room was clean and farily spacious, when the sofa bed was closed. No complaints on cleanliness.

The breakfast, which I had already known was small, was actually more than I thought. You can get danish, pastry, 2 croquettes or 2 pasties, a bowl of oatmeal, or toast with butter. And you can have coffee, juice, water, or hot chocolate. And they have more you can buy.

And the service gets an A+ because I lost my wallet in the taxi that brought us from the hotel to the cruise pier. A call to the hotel desk got the clerk to call the taxi and arrange to drop it off back at the pier. Due to some communication issues and being swept up in the boarding procedure, the taxi driver had to make 2 trips back as I wasn't down front the first time. Both the clerk and the driver went out of their way to help keep my vacation from being ruined by my inattentiveness.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaptain_Morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

Room had used Q tips on the floor, hair on the floor in the bathroom, no towel bar, no soap dish, no hot water, broken pool, no on site continental breakfast (had to walk to a restaurant with a chit for a very basic "choose two-one from each column", no place for luggage... no delayed checkout or offer of place to put luggage until time to go to cruise.
Not an easy walk to better hotels except for Marriot. NO LONGER PART OF CLARION... it is now independent...no place ot complain!

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrezando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

We booked this hotel for one night pre and one night post cruise and booked it based on the TripAdvisor reviews. This is a very small, very basic hotel, that only has a bed, night stands, TV and one chair. No dresser, no mirrors except the one in the bathroom and a large close up mirror in the bathroom that was rusty. Very disorganized on check out mornings on weekends before a cruise, and when cruisers are returning post cruise. Check out time is 11AM and they would not give an extension for another hour, so you have everyone in an 8 ft. x 8 ft. lobby trying to check out and those coming from a cruise trying to check in all at the same time, and luggage everywhere and no secure place to store it. On the return post cruise, we arrived at 10:30AM and no rooms are available until 3pm. They opened a room for everyone to store their luggage but it was not secure, and my husband ended up having to carry a HUGE camera bag and all of his camera equipment around with him into Old San Juan because of not having a secure storage place. It is very convenient to get the bus for 75 cents into Old San Juan. Make sure you have coins only. Wendy's and Walgreens right around the corner, and staff was helpful. When taking taxis from the hotel to the port and from the hotel to the airport, the hotel staff called the taxis for us and they were prompt; however, since the rates were not regulated by the taxi stands and we were not given a paper with the written price, both taxi drivers charged $5 to $8 more from the start as they made up their prices as they went along, so be prepared.....many taxi drivers did not know the location of the hotel, but just tell them on Magdelena Ave, right around the corner from La Concha hotel. I agree with a previous post that the rates should be in the $80 price range for such a basic hotel. Two small plastic cups provided in the room and ice located only on the first floor. Not many amenities and we skipped the "breakfast" because of the bad reviews it received. I would stay at this hotel again since it seems to have a good price for the location. It would be a lot better if they allowed for a 12 Noon or 1PM check out and at least have a secure place for luggage to be stored when coming or going. I would recommend the hotel only if you know in advance and are OK with a place that is VERY small and VERY, VERY basic. Another note: the designer stores in the area on Ashford Avenue such as Louis Vuitton, Cartier, etc. are all closed on Sundays. The shops in Old San Juan are open from 11AM to 5PM on Sundays. Another note: The queen beds are very small and if possible try to get a bed with two queens; they do not have king size beds.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRUISERTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2009

Based on continuing favorable Trip Advisor reveiws and the desire for high season, affordable accommodation we selected Le Consulat and were not disappointed. Our room, 310 included 2 very comfortable queen size beds with impecalbe linens, a pull out couch, 2 windows, each w/a different view since our room was a corner one, a spacious tile shower and flat screen TV. The experience when phoning was excellent with great information provided not only about the property itself but the surrounding area. We had 3 rooms occupied by our group and I recommended it to a colleague who also had several rooms booked for the same pre cruise time and several more colleagues happily made pre cruise reservations for their guests the following week. I wish though, I could have stayed longer to experience lunch at the local spot where the morning continental breakfast was provided. The fresh baked items were displayed attractively and the lunch/dinner deli items had promise although not of interest during breakfast timeframe. . The property is new and wll located a short walk from the quickie 75 cent (exact change) bus ride to Old San Juan. Kudos to Natalie and the entire staff. We will be back.

Stayed: January 2009
3  Thank AquaBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

Very clean nice little hotel. Affordable. Restaurants, convenience stores and Wallgreen within a 5 minute walk. Very convenient for pre- and post-cruising. Well located, right between the Cruise Ship Terminal and Airport. The staff is fantastic FROM THE FRONT DESK TO MAID AND POOL ATTENDANT). Polite, helpful and welcoming. WOW!

Honestly, we were sad to leave. We loved the pool area. Feeling at home. Quiet and peaceful.

Wish we could speak Spanish as well as they speak English and a litlle French. We loved the place and those extremely nice people.

From the Hotel, it's easy to get to Old San Juan by bus for 0.75 (exact change). Bus stop nearby. Taxi with 3 or 4 luggages is about $20 from Cruiseship to hotel or from Airport to Hotel and vice versa. It varied from $19 to $21 with Turistico Taxis. A two dollar tip is very much appreciated, but they are not waiting for it.

This hotel is not a Resort with numerous facilities, but it's the best you can get considering the price, location and friendly service.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank southguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews