We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican food in PR? Do not think it twice.”
Review of Cielito Lindo

Cielito Lindo
Ranked #241 of 1,025 Restaurants in San Juan
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mexican food in PR? Do not think it twice.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Mexican food in PR? Do not think it twice. It is the best deal you will find.
Although this place should be the most expensive mexican restaurant in the area, its not. Waiters are nice and accomodating.
Excellent fresh food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cargusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    68
    28
    15
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not bad not great, but have their Ritas”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Cielito quite a few times over the past three years, this last Cinco de Mayo was no exception...

The food is good but nor authentic nor creative, so I really wish they would change the menu once in a while to stir up things. This will not matter to tourists but for us locals it does. The Queso Fundido is the one exception, it is as good as any I have had in Mexico and the best in all of PR. The classic Carnitas is blend at best, the Tacos al Pastor and burritos just ok, you will do well with the Fajitas but avoid the fish tacos at all costs.

The Margaritas are the restaurant's saving grace! Homemade lime sugar mix and perfect dosage is a winning combination. While you can find better mexican food in San Juan, you will not find better ritas. Pricing is not exaggerated but not cheap either.

The staff is friendly and will remember you if you vist regularly, but do not count on a once in awhile perk thrown your way!

Overall it feels as though Cielito relies on their prime Condado location for foot traffic rather than work to achieve more than commercial success, some would say why should they try? I will let you answer that yourselves...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeorgesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, average food”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Lets start with positives. The atmosphere was decidedly Mexican with nice decor and good Mexican music. The food was very average. I ordered at dinnertime and had the Bistec tacos. The steak was very tough and chewy. The other components of the dish were acceptable but nothing that spectacular. If you want a good cheap lunch though they do offer an $8.95 lunch. that seems popular. Regrettably Chipotles surpasses this restaurant on food quality.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frederick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent Mexican food”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went here for a late lunch. It was a short walk from La Concha, where we stayed. They have lunch specials for $8.95. You get two tacos, two enchiladas, etc with two sides which include pico de gallo, rice and beans. Honestly, for how cheap the food is, they should just give you all 3 sides, IMHO.

Our enchiladas and tacos were both good. Nothing amazing but enjoyable. If you are craving some Mexican food in PR, go here. But you're not missing anything if you don't.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good dinner”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were recommend by a local to eat here when I said I felt like mexican. Staff was very attentive and kind. I would not say it was the best mexican I have ever had but still was tasty. Prices are average for the area. We went on a saturday evening and place was pretty busy. Drinks were good. I would eat here again. Right across the street from La concha.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monkeytoez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cielito Lindo also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Cielito Lindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing