We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute place”
Review of Cafe Berlin

Cafe Berlin
Ranked #58 of 1,025 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“cute place”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

its a cute place. if you want to eat here for lunch, you get a great view of the city and nice meals.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank anya a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    242
    100
    54
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Terrible service. This place does not like tourists. Don't waste your time here.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Although the food looks great, we wouldn't know how it tastes because it took 30 minutes to get a coffee. On a Saturday. At 11AM. With 8 of the 20 tables filled. If there was a zero rating for service, it would be a negative one. I think they don't like tourists here, so if you're a newlywed couple from California, or a family looking for a good Puerto Rican meal. Don't even waste your time here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent vegetarian food”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Excellent place if you want vegetarian food in San Juan! It is right on Plaza de Colon so make sure you sit outside and enjoy the view and hustle-bustle of the plaza. Try the Criollo Tofu.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KMM2013_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, NM
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Add this to you Must-visit list!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit here. On our first night in Puerto Rio, our children were tired, hungry, and wanted to relax. We're not pushy diners, so a slow and laid-back attitude was one reason we sought ought this restaurant. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable, both about the menu and about the island. She made excellent suggestions, (the mofongo and the fries were both mouth-watering.) We'd certainly return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Momma_cupKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“huh?”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Not sure why people rave about this place.... I had a tasteless chicken sandwich. Can't even remember what my husband had. Service was slow and they were not that busy. Don't understand the draw at all. There must be much better places.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelerdebBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Berlin also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Cafe Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing