We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Morning Stop”
Review of Cafe Berlin

Cafe Berlin
Ranked #77 of 1,173 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: International & Puerto Rican Restaurant located in Old San Juan City facing Plaza Colón. We served a tasty and creative Menu including; Native, Caribbean, Vegan and Gluten Free options for Breakfast, Lunch ~ Brunch and Dinner every day! Enjoy our exquisite and creative bar, free wifi service and our beautiful outdoor seating terrace with the best Old San Juan view. For regular reservations or private groups parties please contact us:)
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had some time to kill after our cruise before we needed to head to the airport. After wandering Old San Juan we just wanted a place to relax and get out of the heat. We grabbed an inside table in this cute cafe and had the perfect farewell to P.R. experience. We ordered the white sangria and it was delicious. It was refreshingly fruity without being overly sweet. We also had the hummus which was wonderful.

Date of visit: May 2013
Thank AndreaM924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

676 - 680 of 942 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

After a long day of walking all over Old San Juan, we were tired and hungry. Having searched menus, we found Cafe Berlin which had Vegetarian meals as well as seafood, meats, etc. The inside of the cafe was nearly empty but we still chose to sit outside. Too cold inside. As soon as we sat down, Juan greeted us at our table, explained a few things on the menu and got us some drinks. Next we were served some fresh homemade tomato wheat bread with guava butter. Within a couple of minutes of finishing our bread, Juan cleared our plates and brought our entrees out. If you order an entree and have a coupon from the Discovery map you will get a free Manjito, like a Mojito but with mango added. The Sesame Tofu with pesto rice and veggies was wonderful. The Criollo Tofu with tomato and peppers was also very good. The service from Juan was efficient and smooth. Nothing was lacking. Great nightout.

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Derbyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

It's nice that they have many vegetarian options, but the food was underwhelming and prices are geared toward the cruise crowd, not to the average traveler.

Date of visit: May 2013
1  Thank bbFlys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Having some time to kill before my tour at the Castillo San Cristobal, I decided to have some breakfast at Café Berlin which was just down the street. My first impression was good as the staff warmly greeted me and brought a hot cup of coffee. The breakfast menu was limited but had several tempting choices.

I decided to try the Spinach Quiche which is normally a safe choice. However this is where my experience went downhill fast. It was obvious that the quiche was microwaved and not long enough to even consider it lukewarm. You might as well have taken it out of the refrigerator and serve it (which they probably did). Not wanting to waste any more time I labored through it and left.

It was a shame that they couldn't cook a simple breakfast as the atmosphere and staff were nice. Maybe they can do better hamburgers and peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My friend and I were on the hunt down for gluten free options and heard of Cafe Berlin. The gluten free vegetable pizza was AMAZING. Awesome flavors and great presentation. The service was outstanding and I felt peace when I was assured that full precaution would be taken in order to prevent cross contamination with gluten products. I can't wait to go back.

Date of visit: May 2013
Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Berlin also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Cafe Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing