We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service”
Review of El Patio de Sam

El Patio de Sam
Ranked #115 of 1,006 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Latin, Bar, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful service”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stopped here during our night out in Old San Juan for a quick drink. The bartender was very helpful and recommended a local beer for my husband. When he found out it was our honeymoon, he gave us free shots and then later made sure to call a cab for us. This is a great bar!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsRSaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    118
    44
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must Come!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Ignatico was our bartender/server and was great! Very Friendly! They have Mofongo, a Puerto Rican dish that is the best on the island. We have been to Puerto Rico a few times and this place has the best food hands down.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJohnston20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
191 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Nice decor, good food.”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Good Puerto Rican food served by friendly waiter, John. He suggested the Botellos which are cheese balls dipped in guava sauce - great. I had a cuban sandwiche which was good and wife had fish which was pretty good too. Peices reasonable. would return definitely.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bankerchas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“San Juan Classic”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This place has been at its current location for decades now. If you like burgers, this place has been voted best burger in the Caribbean for 5 years in a row. Go during happy hour 5-7 you get 2 drinks for the price of 1 (mojito a must) great after a long hot walk in Old San Juan. We had 2 servers and they were fun and attentive with lots of food suggestions, we had to start the local plantain chips with guacamole very good. My partner had the famous burger, we mentioned it was outstanding, I had the local trifongo with chicken and it was YUM! If you go as to be seated at the interior courtyard, lots of plants natural sunlight, don worries it’s closed to the outside with AC. Strongly recommend this restaurant for lunch or dinner while in San Juan.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guillermo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food! Worth a visit!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Ducked in here during one of thos pop up rain storms. Very good food and drinks and the prices were not bad either.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lovely1722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Patio de Sam also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to El Patio de Sam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing