We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great authentic Puerto Rican food”
Review of El Jibarito

El Jibarito
Ranked #41 of 1,025 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
United States
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great authentic Puerto Rican food”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our hotel suggested this restaurant and we were not disappointed. We had the shrimp mofongo and the sample platter (ribs, tamale, rice and beans). It was great. A place where the locals go which is always a good sign. Not as pricey as some of the restaurants in Old San Juan.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rjobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    949
    641
    153
    58
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had lunch there upon our arrival to San Juan. The staff was really nice and accommodating. The food was really good. The empanadas and ceviche were tasty. One of the few places we experienced in Old San Juan (we were only there for two days) where we actually interacted with Puerto Ricans instead of ex-pats. That made it especially nice.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MR0263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
474 reviews
383 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great food!!!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Our party of four ate lunch here on a Friday afternoon around 2pm. We only waited about five minutes for a table.

We all ordered the combination platter and everyone really enjoyed it. The plantain and pork tamale was different and very good. The pork was excellent.

Unfortunately our waitress forgot to bring us the sauces they recommend. Another waiter saw that we did not have it at the end of the meal and brought it to us. Make sure you have it when your food arrives. The garlic sauce was amazing on the pork and the rice.

It took a while to get the bill and then our change back. Which is kind of annoying when you are the servers just talking in the back as a group and you are waiting. Improvement coils be made there.

We would return. Great authentic food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwillstp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Probably one of my best dining experiences in San Juan”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This restaurant makes you feel at home. The service was okay, but definitely no rush to bring your food. The waiters are very friendly and it's a laid back atmosphere. The food is really top notch. The mofongo is unbelievable as well as the spanish rice. Garlic chicken and beef stew were also excellent. The beers are cheap and the drinks are reasonable. A perfect place to have lunch when it's not crowded. I really feel that this is the best restaurant I went to in San Juan.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good service, food just ok”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We just had dinner in El Jibarito. The churrasco was good but my pork with tamales was just ok. The atmosphere was nothing special either.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda_ES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Jibarito also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to El Jibarito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing