We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Jibarito

El Jibarito
Ranked #43 of 999 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Central American, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had to hike up the hill to get to this place. We had asked around with the locals and they made the suggestion. It was worth the hike! It's nothing fancy but it was really good local food. Try the tostones!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChrissyT1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    901
    626
    145
    57
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great food and people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We walked the streets of old San Juan and came upon this delightful restaurant. It was bright, clean, the food was great and the people are always friendly. It was reasonably priced and off the main path. I would highly recommend this restaurant and don't be afraid to ask. These people are so friendly and love to speak to you.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the trip to Old San Juan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Delicious local place. Loved the food. Service was standard San Juan (slow, never check on you after you get your food) but the staff was very friendly and again, GREAT local food. The place has a nice charm too. My wife said the bathroom was dumpy. That also seems to be a trend down here. Anyway, well worth the trip to Old San Juan. This place was recommended by a taxi driver we had earlier in the week. Props to Steven...good call.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tasty but not for the finicky eater”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We went here because it had great reviews on line. The place was packed when we got there but we were lucky and a table had just left. We sat down and we assumed they were understaffed for the day because everyone seemed a little frazzled. (this was later confirmed) We ordered a pitcher of Sangria and it was strong and deliscious. They are not kidding about the size of the pitcher either! I swear that thing was a gallon! I ordered chicken and my friend ordered beef and we both had yellow rice and we split a yuca mofungo. The food was good but if you are a generic eater and don't like anything that is not plain or extremely processed this is not the place for you. The food seems to be very fresh and prepared to order.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great spot in Old San Juan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Worth a few extra steps to find this place. My bed and breakfast hostess recommended it as one of her favorites for real Puerto Rican food. I had the Shrimp in Garlic sauce with Mixed Mofongo. So excellent!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christiana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Jibarito also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to El Jibarito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing