We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Dinner!”
Review of Casa Dante

Casa Dante
Ranked #283 of 1,006 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My sole purpose was to have authentic PR food while on vacation. Our friend suggested Casa Dante and it surely did NOT disappoint! My husband is PR and was in total awe of the food. We got to the restaurant early to celebrate and we were the only patrons..I attribute this to the time and it being a work week that not much patrons frequented the restaurant so early. But nevertheless we had the restaurant all to ourselves and the attention, food, hospitality were beyond amazing.

My husband had the Churrasco with Amarillos (spanish for yellow plantains) and I had the Bistec Encebollado with Mofongo (Steak and onions with smashed plantains) which is their specialty. We also had a half pitcher of sangria! The sangria was delicious and I KNOW sangria and it was soooooo good!

We left there almost unable to walk out of there because we were stuffed but so very happy!

Recommend this to everyone!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EliGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    26
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had such fun at this authentic Criollo restaurant. The service was exquisite. The food was healthy and delicious, bravo! The price very reasonable. highly recommend the bistec criollo, yummy!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marrisbel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great steak !!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I had dinner at the Casa Dante. The very friendly waiter promised my "money back" if the churasco wasn't the best in the city. I had it several other places and DID NOT want my money back. The steak was perfectly done, and was teneder and flavorful. The restaurant is small with just a few tables. I would gladly go back there again on a return visit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank gogiandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Super mofongo!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We picked up some super fresh and tasty mofongo take out from this restaurant. Great service and very friendly staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VA_travels60893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Amazing Steak and Mofongo”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We really enjoyed the steak here (seems that's what they are known for...) -- it was cooked perfectly and seasoned well. The mofongo was also really flavorful. Service was very friendly and speedy. There were lots of locals here which always makes me feel better when traveling.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank fuzzypinkbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Dante also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Puerto Rico, Caribbean
 
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Carolina, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Casa Dante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing