We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT LEAVE PR UNTIL YOU EAT HERE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Dante

Casa Dante
Ranked #288 of 980 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DO NOT LEAVE PR UNTIL YOU EAT HERE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I have been eating at this place since 1992! Every time I go to PR, and I think of food, the 1st thing that comes to mind is CASA DANTE'S. Being Puerto Rican and from NY, I've yet to this day found a place as good as this (yes its even better than Don Coqui's in NY, sorry my fellow NY'ers). The two best dishes, hands down: #1 - Churrasco Steak with Mofongo (or rice and beans if you don't like crushed plaintain. Do yourself the justice and get the Mofongo. They don't call it the House of Mofongo for nothing. #2 - Camarones al Ajillo with Mofongo de Yuca. All I have to say is WOW! Add a pitcher of Sangria and you are good to go!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronx N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    26
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the Mofongo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

My family was on vacation and at our hotel they referred us to this place, when we got there from outside it didn't say much but once we ate the food we understand why they told us it was a great place to taste local food!
I ordered the Mofongo of something called yuca stuffed with seafood, it was amazing, my husband ordered stuffed with Skirsteak and it was very good two, my son ordered chicken and needless to say the rest..... If we come back to Puerto Rico we will sure go again!!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbclovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Skirt Steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We flew into San Juan a day prior to our cruise and ate lunch at Casa Dante. The skirt steak is the best I have ever had! I can honestly say that the meal at Casa Dante was the best meal of the week - including all the meals on the cruise. Of course, the mofungo is wonderful as well. The service was warm and friendly.

Don't let the road construction in front of the restaurant scare you away. It is well worth the small amount of traffic the construction creates.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HockeyRules13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sooo good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

This place doesn't look like much but the food is delicious. Try the mofongo, carne frita, tostones or chicken chicharrones. If you don't eat meat try the homemade spinach raviolis they're yummy. They treated us like family, even bringing treats for our baby. The owners should consider giving it a makeover that reflects how good it is.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaritereA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Looks Can Be Deceiving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Casa Dante looks like a small pizza restaurant from the outside (and not much different on the inside) but don’t let the looks of this establishment fool you. Parking on site is very limited and because of road construction, even more so. Valet parking is provided but I did not realize that until after we were already seated inside. Patronage was light for a Saturday night with only one other couple in the restaurant. Perhaps the dinner crowd arrives later or the rain hampered the diners but the food was well worth the raindrops and parking issues.

If you are looking for an in-depth review of the food at this establishment, then you will have to look elsewhere. I do not claim to be a food critic nor will I even attempt to be. With that said, I will give you my unprofessional take on my meal. I asked our waiter what he recommended stating that I never had mofongo and would like to try it. He suggested the strip steak/mofongo dinner. They claim that they have the best mofongo on the island but as my wife said at the time, don’t they all. They may, but I cannot verify that since I did not sample any others during the rest of our trip. I will not say that the mofongo was delicious but it was good. The strip steak on the other hand was delicious. Exactly the way I prefer my steak. I highly recommend this dish with a nice glass of sangria. Price for both dinners was very reasonable and I would definitely have this dish again if I ever get back to San Juan.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wilecayotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Dante also viewed

 
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Carolina, Puerto Rico
 
Puerto Rico, Caribbean
Puerto Rico, Caribbean
 

Been to Casa Dante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing