We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cocktails and seafood were wonderful”
Review of Budatai - CLOSED

Budatai
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Portsmouth, NH
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The cocktails and seafood were wonderful”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We had visited Bar Gitano and loved it so decided to try Budatai, which is owned by the same chef. It's more upscale and the menu is Asian/Puerto Rico fusion, rather than Spanish tapas, but it was also excellent. I had a pan seared halibut with beans and my husband had a scallop and noodle dish. Jennifer, the bartender, is amazing. She made us the house drink, a champagne, rum, and mint drink, which was dry, but refreshing, and flavorful. We also sampled the white sangria which is sweet but with a powerful punch. Budatai is located in Condado, within walking distance from the Marriott Stellaris, where we were staying.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank egslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    204
    119
    59
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Went in during lunch which limited our menu. We really wanted to do supper though we had our 2 kids with us. I had the tuna and my husband had a steak. Both were in the 30ish dollar range though it seemed worth it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Missy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Asian inspired with Puerto Rican flair”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Chef Roberto Treviño has five highly successful spots. His Budatai eatery in Condado area expertly combines Asian with Latin flavours. Bar Gitano is an eclectic Spanish tapas spot, El Barril is an upscale bar, Casa Lola is his ode to traditional Puerto Rican and his fifth restaurant Rosa Mexicano just opened. I ate at Budatai: a two-story restaurant that sits above high end shops such as Salvatore Ferragamo and Cartier. Décor is traditional and contemporary modern Asian inspired. The bar mezzanine, looks out over a lovely view of San Juan’s “La Ventana al Mar” with palm trees and ocean in the distance. I loved the fresh kale Caesar and sautéed kale - finally some great greens on the island. Also the El Churrasco Con Ho Fun, basmati rice with shrimp, miso carrots, fennel kimchee, calamari frito, duck croquetas etc. Really can't go wrong here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great for dinner but overpriced for lunch”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Food is great and nice to look out on to the beach. Same menu though for lunch as dinner. But fewer choices. So overpriced for lunch though food good (lunch for 2 shouldn't be over $100)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DEtraveler83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hip and Great Service”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This place has a woderfull scene overlooking the Ventana al Mar. They have alot of variety on their menu and the martinis are to die for. Service was top notch. Prices were ok since the food is good quality!! always full so be sure to have a reservation. Dress to impress!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RestLoverCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Budatai also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing